We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A more sustainable option than Sun City to visit Pilanersburg N.P.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed in Kedar a few nights and it was a great base to visit Pilanersburg National Park (20min drive) and avoiding Sun City resort with its expesive hotels and less sustainable tourism concept.
The rooms are littly cozy huts with many amenities and a spotless bathroom. The most remarkable feature was the outdoor facilities: garden, pool, bars and spa.

Food at the pub was good but not exceptional. Breakfast was plentiful and service kind, especially the girls at reception that can also help you organize tours in the area.

The spa has reasonable fares and I treated myself to a massage in the back, which is highly recommendable.

Don't miss the walkway over several ponds and the bush. It is a nice, quite walk perfect for birdwatching and the pigmy hippos come as a plus. It was an enjoyable exercise after the static safaris.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chucho_nordes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 211 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Although I was unable to actually review the lodge itself I was greatly disappointed by the service of the front desk personnel as well as the misleading details of the package the presented on their website. More specifically, my story is as follows:
I came across their website and was intrigued by a package titled "Romantic stay over spa experience". After clicking on the link I was given details regarding the package which indicated overnight accommodation in the 'Royal suite'. Alongside these details and an image of the royal suite room was a link that said "Book Now".
I clicked the link and was in the process of paying and confirming my stay when I had a feeling that the price, and package, may be too good to be true. Since it was a special occasion and because Im overly cautious I emailed the company to confirm the entire package.
The next day or so I was given an invoice for two for the package that was approximately R2000 more than the price listed on the link 'Book now' and was not given confirmation of the details of the package nor the accommodation.
To cut to the chase I sent multiple emails and made phone calls as well (due to the lack of email response) with the conclusion by front desk personnel that the royal suite is not the accommodation of the package (although it is advertised) and that there were now no longer any rooms available for the weekend I had attempted to book just under 14 days prior.
In summary, I believe such false advertising is despicable and that if I had not been cautious I would have ended up with the wrong accommodation and no package whatsoever with no choice but to accept due to the distance between home and the lodge.
Its despicable to think that others may not be as 'lucky' as I am and end up in such a situation. Furthermore, no further contact was made to arrange for an alternate date or accommodation (as I requested) and no apologies were made.
I can only imagine the actual stay at the lodge if there are this many misleading, false and fraudulent issues made on the website and by staff

Room Tip: "Only book what is confirmed"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MJIano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This place is about 30 minutes from the closest gate of Pilanesburg and about 35 minutes from Sun City. There isn't anything around here, so you will have to be prepared to have a car to drive far to get food. There is breakfast at the hotel however.
This being said, we had an interesting cabin, about 100 metres from the dining hall. We had three single beds in our room and a large bathroom. Everything was clean and proper. There were even deer walking around outside our room.
The breakfast room is a bit curious when you step into it for the first time, there are hundreds of Boer War artefacts lining the wall. We felt like we were Generals feasting before going out to battle the Brits. But other than that the buffet was plentiful and good. We would recommend this hotel only if you are ok with the travelling distance to any of the area attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The staff was welcoming and friendly. The food was nice and changed daily- we only had breakfast there. We were given a room big enough to accommodate the family. There isnt much entertainment around the lodge, except the pool and the museum and game drive ( which we didnt do because of limited animals they have) but nearby places such as sun city and the pilane national park did it for us.The rooms were kept clean; and the kids loved the outside shower ; its ideal to clean up after a swim.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ribs_bantwini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

You feel welcome if you arrive and sad when you leave. Excellent service, and relaxed atmosphere. Thank you mr Forsyth for preserving Boekenhoutsfontein with all the history of Oom Paul Kruger, it is FANTASTIC ...

Room Tip: All the rooms is good?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dorette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was incredibly impressed with Kedar, the staff, facilities, rooms and food were great, as well as being incredibly affordable. Being surrounded by war memorabilia was quite interesting too! The peaceful surroundings and great facilities made our stay really good and even though the weather was bleak during our stay the friendliness of staff and service we received was second to none. Kedar is an authentic getaway and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendallscorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We booked one night on our way back to johannesburg from Pilansberg and Botswana. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The history that is collected and used to decorate the hotel is very imprressive if you like that king of thing. It is really value for money, I would recomend the hotel for more than one night stay to enjoy every thing. If you have enough time to visit the Spa please do so you will not regret it. There is not much to do at the hotel it self but it is about +-25 kilometres away from Suncity if you need some entertainment. You can save on paying high accomodation fee at Suncity and used the money for sightseeing. Their game drive only include antelopes, i don't thing it will be worth it it if you like wild life i would recommend that you go to Pilansberg national Park to see more animals

Room Tip: I liked the room number 200 which was close to the pool and the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thandisizwe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
8.4 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
6.1 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
211 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
26.4 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#8 of 12 in Rustenburg
93 reviews
14.8 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa

Address: Boekenhoutfontein, R565/ Sun City Road, Rustenburg 0301, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Price Range: $81 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5km away from the Royal Bafokeng Stadium, one of the stadiums that hosted the 2010 Soccer World Cup, Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa offers 60 elegantly finished rooms, 3 Executive Rooms, 1 Royal Suite and 1 Presidential Suite. 7 conference rooms, an open air Boma with a stage and a Chapel for an elegant bushveld wedding. Some 20 years ago, Recreation Africa purchased a portion of Boekenhoutfontein, the historic farm of President Paul Kruger. Over the years, adjoining land has been acquired, culminating in the consolidation of an area of some 700 acres, which has been game fenced and populated with a wide variety of game, including eland, blesbok, impala, bushbuck, nyala, kudu, zebra, blue wildebeest and giraffe. Invaluable environmental work has been done to remove alien vegetation and restore the wetlands which attract prolific birdlife. With a Spa in an idyllic setting, jutting out over a natural wetland lake teaming with fish and birdlife, it is sure to enhance the spiritual and physical relaxation you expect from a Spa in the country. The Heroes bar allows guests to partake of sundowners whilst watching the sunset over the natural bush. Other facilities include a large swimming pool, game drives, Paul Kruger Country House Museum Tour, Team building area, and open air conference areas. All this, just one and a half hour’s drive from Johannesburg and Pretoria, and only 15 minutes from Sun City and the Pilanesberg Game Reserve - home of the “Big Five”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kedar Country Hotel, Hotel Rustenburg
Kedar Country Hotel, Conference Center And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing