We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best "Game Lodge "”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the best "Game Lodge "”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend a few days away from the City. We had been to Kedar hotel situated near Sun City previously and had always enjoyed the tranquility and excellent accommodation. However, on this last occasion we were really taken back by the improvements to the hotel and the shear luxury one was exposed to. The accommodation we had taken was the royal suite and in our experience one could not have asked for more luxurious accommodation, The suite included a bedroom on suite ,a fully stocked bar , a dinning room ,lounge and a swimming pool,Both lounge and bedroom had the latest TV with dish.We were warmly greeted by the manager and provided with platters of snacks and fruit and a bottle of champagne in our suite, The surrounds were spectacular and contained many items of interest and had two themes one of Paul Kruger and the other of Cecil John Rhodes. Highly interesting relics of that era were displayed in the bar and dinning room. The staff were exceptionally friendly and provided excellent service,Food served in both the bar and the dinning room was of exceptional quality. Game could be sited from most vantage points and a four wheel drive provided guests with highly interesting game drives, Paul Kruger's farm residence which was on the site had been converted into a museum which contained many items of interest. Whether one was visiting the hotel for relaxation, conferencing or whatever the facilities were all excellent, although we did not make use of a fully equipped Spa on site we understood from other guests that this facility was great.The hotel contained all the usual facilities such as a large swimming pool conveniently situated A highly recommended and not to be missed venue.

Room Tip: From what I experienced all rooms were if a good high quality,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words of praise for Kedar Country Lodge Conference Center and Spa following your recent stay here- it is always pleasing to hear that a guest has so thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us!

Your favourable comments about the friendly staff are most appreciated and I am really pleased that the dinner and breakfast was to your liking.

We look forward to your continued patronage and if you require any further information or assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Glenys Du Pont - GM Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    76
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
51
84
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here in October 2013 on a business trip with a German group en route Botswana.
Edward gave us a great tour of the historic Kruger homestead on the property. The location & thatched cottages were great. Tonight theche fs prepared a 5 star meal for the buffet with. Freshly roasted beef joint served with great stir fried veggies and nice salads. Later the Venison was replenished with delicious Blesbok filets with a red wine or eppercorn sauce. Both were really good.Complements to the food team for sorting us out after a chinese group of 80 had zapped in for dinner.
Staff training could be beefed up a little to lift the entire establishment up half a notch. E. g no wine glasses at the dinning room bar last night- Lampslacking on the terrace for our dinner tonight- cold rolls on the buffet- small items whichIfeel could yield big results. Also WIFI has in my opinion become part ofputting bums in beds- it is no longer a luxury to be charged, but because we all travel with pads & smart phones- it is an important tool in the marketing mix! Overall i give the lodge a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topnotchted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. Your willingness to share your thoughts and your constructive comments are greatly appreciated.

Kedar is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities and we continually strive to achieve this.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfers paradise gold coast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Wanting to stay close to Sun City without paying top money we opted for Kedar Country Lodge which was just a short drive away from the hype. On arrival we were not disappointed. Hiring a car from Johannesburg allowed us the freedom to explore. Entering the "gates" of the Lodge was welcoming and we saw our first wildlife of this tour, a Kudu grazing freely nearby. From the fresh towel wipes and juice on arrival we felt special. Walking freely about the grounds was a pleasure with many birds and animals viewed along the way.
Entering our room we found a large comfortable bed each, a more than adequate bathroom and very obliging staff to meet our needs when required. i.e. laundry service - superb.
Food was great - more than ample at both breakfast and dinner.
This a a great option to staying within the ground of Sun City - the costs here very affordable and staff excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leomac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WR
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My previous experience with "rustic" was another word for "don't expect anything special; could be old; not well-looked after; no special treatment".

Not this place! Rustic but well looked after. Lost of historical artifacts, nice conference facilities and relaxed. Service was good; food was good. If you want something out in the "bush", this is a good start.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whydoyouneedascreenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was the best hotel during our 3 week S.A. stay. Room was huge, bathroom even bigger.

The free breakie was great and the dinners were right up there with the best.

The grounds are a real pleasure to walk around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Needed accommodation close to Sun City for a concert held there, and came across this gem! Comfortable 140km drive from Lanseria airport. From the friendly welcome at the main gate. The Bell boy welcoming us at the parking lot and then offering us a moist towel and a drink. The reception staff was friendly and enthusiastic. We were then showed around the grounds and taken to our thatched cabin (#32). Well appointed. All the usual 4 star luxuries. And a enclosed outdoor shower! All meals can be eaten in the Metswedi bar or Armoury Restaurant. Again, yummy meals, impeccable staff and Ilana, the executive chef is a gem. There is also a boma where the occasional bbq is served. The grounds are immaculately maintained. There is a huge pool, jungle gym and spa. Visits to the Paul Kruger Museum (Kedar bought parts of the old Boekenhout Farm) are scheduled three times a day and game drives are at 8am and 4pm, at fraction of what other lodges charge. All in all a truly unique experience worth a visit. We have stayed at Sun City and other lodges in Pilanesberg, but this will remain our venue of choice!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Louis E

We, at Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa, are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us; we strive to give each and every guest the best experience possible.

We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and the compliments for the restaurant, food, service and gardens will be relayed to the staff concerned. Compliments uplift and encourage the team; thank you.

We hope to welcome you back to Kedar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel during the 2010 FIFA World Cup, and it was by far the best hotel that we visited during our 2 week trip, which included stops in Port Elizabeth, Johannesburg, Sun City and Nelspruit.

The hotel is located in the wild, the grounds are very well maintained, the rooms are unique little huts that have been well decorated and provide an African feel, the buffet breakfast and dinner were excellent with plenty of choices, and the staff were friendly and attentive (yeees, as they say South Africa haha).

The only downside is that this place cost an arm and a leg (circa £200 per night), but we did obviously go during one of the biggest sporting event in South Africa's history. To put it into perspective however, none of the other hotels we visited cost more than £100 a night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHHHHHHHHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
8.4 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
14.7 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
797 reviews
26.4 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#7 of 12 in Rustenburg
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
14.8 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
659 reviews
13.4 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#8 of 12 in Rustenburg
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa

Property: Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Address: Boekenhoutfontein, R565/ Sun City Road, Rustenburg 0301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5km away from the Royal Bafokeng Stadium, one of the stadiums that hosted the 2010 Soccer World Cup, Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa offers 60 elegantly finished rooms, 3 Executive Rooms, 1 Royal Suite and 1 Presidential Suite. 7 conference rooms, an open air Boma with a stage and a Chapel for an elegant bushveld wedding. Some 20 years ago, Recreation Africa purchased a portion of Boekenhoutfontein, the historic farm of President Paul Kruger. Over the years, adjoining land has been acquired, culminating in the consolidation of an area of some 700 acres, which has been game fenced and populated with a wide variety of game, including eland, blesbok, impala, bushbuck, nyala, kudu, zebra, blue wildebeest and giraffe. Invaluable environmental work has been done to remove alien vegetation and restore the wetlands which attract prolific birdlife. With a Spa in an idyllic setting, jutting out over a natural wetland lake teaming with fish and birdlife, it is sure to enhance the spiritual and physical relaxation you expect from a Spa in the country. The Heroes bar allows guests to partake of sundowners whilst watching the sunset over the natural bush. Other facilities include a large swimming pool, game drives, Paul Kruger Country House Museum Tour, Team building area, and open air conference areas. All this, just one and a half hour’s drive from Johannesburg and Pretoria, and only 15 minutes from Sun City and the Pilanesberg Game Reserve - home of the “Big Five”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kedar Country Hotel, Hotel Rustenburg
Kedar Country Hotel, Conference Center And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing