We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a great time here, but will go with the flow its not a 4* hotel.
But would not take a lot to improve ( A bar fridge, update the tv's would be a start. management take note .)
we stayed in a superior room that was clean and tidy & air conditioned.
food was ok not great ( tip if you want an egg with your breakfast, order before you start dishing the rest of the food as chef only cooks to order )
found staff very helpful and friendly.Game drive is worth the time also the hippo walk is a must well constructed and safe ( start at iron gate near helipad as not signposted )
grounds are well kept & tidy. only wifi area is next to the bar area
would we stay here again, YES

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psm1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    76
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
51
84
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a wonderfull stay at kedar during our holidays in South Africa with our family.Pres Kruger house is really intresting also. And it is not far from Sun City,but there is more than enough to do Kedar lodge also without stepping out of the lodge! The pool and cocktails are amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WINNIE1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Kedar Country Hotel is ideally situated, approx 20 km from Sun City and Pilanesburg. Resort itself has pleasant well furnished African style cottages with modern amenities, amidst the lush gardens and beautiful landscape.In house game park, and spa makes for great moments of relaxation on a lazy day. Restaurant caters for descent buffet dinner, and has good variety on breakfast menu. Great place to launch ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanelani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A lovley place to stay for the family. We traveled with 3 families, 2 families had kids. The hotle staff were friendly and always will to help. We had 2 extra beds set uo for the kids, staying in the delux rooms is the best. Larger rooms with aircons and an outside shower which our son loved!
The food buffets were amazing and dorkas the chef was willing to go the extra mile to cater for us and the kids. There was a wide variety of food on offer and every meal we had was fantastic.
On easter sunday there was a treasure hunt for the kids with an easter bunny and a jumping castle was set up on the lawn.
The only down side was the rooms were quite dark, could do with more light. There is also very little cupboard space. The linen was clean and fresh and the bed was massive!!
It was close to sun city and the animal park.
Great trip will be back!

Room Tip: choose delux! a/c unit, outside shower, larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalisha910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Not too far from the madding crowd, close to Sun City and Pilanesburg set in its own game park, boasting Giraffe, Pygmy Hippos and a large variety of antelope, is Kedar Country Hotel. Be prepared for warm welcomes and happy helpful staff who made our stay seem too short! Accommodation - thatched airconditioned rooms nestled under indigenous trees with very comfortable beds covered in crisp white linen, well appointed bathrooms and an additional outdoor shower for that bush feeling. Buffet style breakfasts and suppers cater for all tastes and the candle lit supper in the Boma under the stars next to a roaring log fire a truly African experience. Lovely spot to go for a weekend to relax and be spoilt. Great for couples and families alike. A visit to the Spa is a must!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had an enjoyable stay at the Kedar .....our plans included a day at Sun City and a day at a Ukatula Lion Park so for us the Kedar was ideally situated .

Upon arrival we were allocated our rooms. The accommodation can best be described as a thatched African style cottages that are nestled throughout the resort under a canopy of tree foliage. The rooms were lovely and cool with air con and a ceiling fan. Tiled throughout, with a bath / shower room and an outside shower, tea and coffee facilities. ...and the most comfiest bed I have ever slept in.

Throughout the resort are winding brick paths that lead to the bar and main restaurant and also the pool.

You can book a buffet meal on arrival which is very reasonable and and a good varied choice of breakfast is also supplied.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Kedar, the only gripe is that the staff were a little confused when we came to pay our bill but we were a party of 12...nuff said.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I'm not sure why this hotel is rated 4 star. in my opinion a 2 star rating would be more appropriate.

On the negative side: Stayed in a non-thatch room - found room to be dirty and dusty. Linen was not changed after the previous guest had checked out - previous guests hairs found all over the bed. Plagued by mosquitoes, bees and other bugs (understandable though as one was in the bush). Room furnishings and fittings dated and definitely needed a revamp. The buffet variety in the Armoury Restuarant was adequate, however the foods provided for breakfast, lunch and dinner were not exciting. Staff appeared to lack training and enthusiasm on how to treat/service hotel guests, especially the staff in the restuarant.

On the positive side: Hotel is set in beautiful gardens. Extensive collection of South African war/historical memorabilia, information, statues etc. Located very close to Sun City. Ideal for the vacation traveller who is interested in rustic accomodation, very close to nature/animals. Manager willing to allocate me another room after I complained about the conditions in my first room.

All in all I would definitely not return to this hotel, which is a pity as the hotel has lots of potential.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
8.4 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
6.1 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
26.4 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#6 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa

Property: Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Address: Boekenhoutfontein, R565/ Sun City Road, Rustenburg 0301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5km away from the Royal Bafokeng Stadium, one of the stadiums that hosted the 2010 Soccer World Cup, Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Centre and Spa offers 60 elegantly finished rooms, 3 Executive Rooms, 1 Royal Suite and 1 Presidential Suite. 7 conference rooms, an open air Boma with a stage and a Chapel for an elegant bushveld wedding. Some 20 years ago, Recreation Africa purchased a portion of Boekenhoutfontein, the historic farm of President Paul Kruger. Over the years, adjoining land has been acquired, culminating in the consolidation of an area of some 700 acres, which has been game fenced and populated with a wide variety of game, including eland, blesbok, impala, bushbuck, nyala, kudu, zebra, blue wildebeest and giraffe. Invaluable environmental work has been done to remove alien vegetation and restore the wetlands which attract prolific birdlife.With a Spa in an idyllic setting, jutting out over a natural wetland lake teaming with fish and birdlife, it is sure to enhance the spiritual and physical relaxation you expect from a Spa in the country. The Metswedi bar in the evenings allows guests to partake of sundowners whilst watching the sunset over the natural bush. Other facilities include a large swimming pool, game drives, Pigmy Hippo Walk, Paul Kruger Country House Museum Tour, Anglo Boere War Museum, helicopter Pad, Team building area, and open air conference areas. All this, just one and a half hour’s drive from Johannesburg and Pretoria, and only 15 minutes from Sun City and the Pilanesberg Game Reserve - home of the “Big Five”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kedar Country Hotel, Conference Center And Spa
Kedar Country Hotel, Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing