We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No pride...”

Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rustenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No pride...”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the 5 bedroom chalet @ R2250/night over the long weekend. Once rustic chalets now in shockingly non-maintained state. On arrival, no toilet paper in unit, only 2 glasses, 3 forks, 4 plates, etc, etc. Generally clean, but blinds in such a bad state, would be better just to remove them. Bathroom ceiling full of mould. No running water in kitchen, fixed the same day. At R2250/ night one would at least expect 5 of every utensil needed, but even after complaining we only received 2 more glasses! The included breakfast at the restaurant was good, although the restaurant looks like it had last been painted/fixed in the 80's.
I suspect all the funds raised with Golden Leopards resorts go for salaries as some of the personnel told us they get paid much, much better than Sun City resort personnel. No money left for maintenance I suppose. A once proud resort slowly deteriorating, probably to a point where repair would one of these days no longer be possible.
Where are the manager/ supervisors?
The once proud Bakgatla people from the area have obviously and shamefully lost their pride...

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaslo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    15
    13
    13
See reviews for
30
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I was able to book a camping weekend at Bakgatla Camp on the internet. The service was fast and very efficient.

The bathroom facilities at the camp is in a sad state. Often no hot water or even worse, no water at all. The camp sites have got little to no grass. So be prepared for a dusty or muddy weeken. The shop is very poorly equip, make sure you do have suffient amount of your own stock.

The camp has got a lovely clean pool and the staff is very fiendly and helpfull.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ZuZanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Only stayed for one night. Obviously a great place to stay when driving around the Pilanesberg park.
Signage to chalet areas signposted, but small and not obvious.
Downstairs bed was not made up, and no sheets/pillowcases available to do it ourselves.
Screens on windows or doors would've been good.
Three beds upstairs in the mezzanine loft - unbelievably hot during the night. Air con was pumping out warm air and we couldn't change the settings, and there was no ceiling fan. It was only October, so I hate to think what it would be like in January!
Very creaky floors and stairs, woke up everyone in the chalet everytime someone went to use the bathroom.
Bathroom functional and clean, but quite old and worn.
Kitchen functional and had all the basic utentsils/pieces needed.
Braai area outside well placed. Lots of stray domestic cats around.
Buffet breakfast the next morning was excellent - plenty of choice and very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z0mbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malelane, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at Bakgatla Camp site for one night in August 2013. Had our own roof top tent - so did not use the onsite chalets.

Not a lot of people there which was nice. Ablution blocks were clean and had hot water.
Campsite is cheap and basic, but suited our needs very well.

One negative thing was the noise from the staff quarters and workshop near by - it takes away from the tranquil camping experience in the bush.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Thank Goodness we stayed for only one night! The shower had no shower head, the bath was scratched and stained black and the showermat in tatters! The curtains were badly hung and fell off the rail. There was no cold water in the kitchen and the kettle did not work. At least I could boil water in a pot on the stove. The bathroom ceiling was black with mould and the recent plastering in the bedroom was badly in need of a coat of paint. The blinds in the the chalet were all bent and twisted and the one in the bathroom could not even close properly. I am convinced that the worst chalet is given to clients who take the special mid week offer. At the special price of R1285, this is NOT value for money not to mention the regular price of R2050/chalet!!!

Room Tip: Do NOT take room 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rustenburg hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

First impression Old and tired, stayed in a 5 sleeper chalet with my family in July 2013 found the following not in working order stove and fridge. Staff very friendly however found the services limited and those on offered on brochure to be be at Sun City 45 min drive,I would not agree with the 3 star rating .....expected more

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Anstruther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at this resort for a week in July 2013. We stayed in a five sleeper chalet which I found very old and very tired. This was not really a big problem for us as we were in the area to visit the Pilanesberg Game Reserve and spend most of each day away from the resort.

The furnishings were barely adequate and crammed into a small seating area open plan kitchen. A flat screen TV was provided with very limited channels. The kitchen was reasonably equipped however the fridge had only one temperature that froze everything in it no matter what setting you put it on. The bathrooms were barely adequate with old fittings that did not work properly. The one shower mixer tap did not keep temperature. either scalding or freezing. Both showers had shower curtains that were so dirty you had to ask yourself what they had actually been used for. The unit was serviced daily by very pleasant personnel who seemed intent on giving us more and more towels every day.

The surrounding gardens were basically non-existant. Just sand and bush, Surely for the price you pay here a little grass could be maintained. There is a nice big swimming pool though.

There is a restaurant/bar on the premises however the food gave little to inspire.

The overall impression of the resort is one that needs a real makeover and some motivated management to make it happen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aropertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rustenburg hotels
47.0 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
0.0 mi away
Kwamahla Conference Centre & Game Lodge
54.4 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#6 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
41.2 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#8 of 12 in Rustenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
48.5 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla

Property: Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
Address: Rustenburg Square Cnr Von Wielligh and Wolmar, Rustenburg 0299, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Number of rooms: 205
Also Known As:
Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla Hotel Rustenburg
Golden Leopard Hotel Bakgatla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing