We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family outing July 2013”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rustenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Reviewed July 21, 2013

First impression Old and tired, stayed in a 5 sleeper chalet with my family in July 2013 found the following not in working order stove and fridge. Staff very friendly however found the services limited and those on offered on brochure to be be at Sun City 45 min drive,I would not agree with the 3 star rating .....expected more

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Anstruther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 62 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at this resort for a week in July 2013. We stayed in a five sleeper chalet which I found very old and very tired. This was not really a big problem for us as we were in the area to visit the Pilanesberg Game Reserve and spend most of each day away from the resort.

The furnishings were barely adequate and crammed into a small seating area open plan kitchen. A flat screen TV was provided with very limited channels. The kitchen was reasonably equipped however the fridge had only one temperature that froze everything in it no matter what setting you put it on. The bathrooms were barely adequate with old fittings that did not work properly. The one shower mixer tap did not keep temperature. either scalding or freezing. Both showers had shower curtains that were so dirty you had to ask yourself what they had actually been used for. The unit was serviced daily by very pleasant personnel who seemed intent on giving us more and more towels every day.

The surrounding gardens were basically non-existant. Just sand and bush, Surely for the price you pay here a little grass could be maintained. There is a nice big swimming pool though.

There is a restaurant/bar on the premises however the food gave little to inspire.

The overall impression of the resort is one that needs a real makeover and some motivated management to make it happen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aropertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at chalets on our 2 days visit to Pilanesberg national park. It is situated just outside the game reserve. Check-in was bit messy. Resort staff denied our reservation and after lot of communication with travel agent we got our rooms.
Our chalet was neat clean. It has a double bed & 3 single beds, TV, refrigerator, oven, small kitchen & necessary utensils for cooking. Downside is it has only one toilet for 5 people, water supply is erratic. We called hotel staff thrice for the same.
There is small store to cater daily needs. The resort has swimming pool & restaurant. Overall food quality was OK but expensive.
Pilanesburg park is worth visiting as we could spot big 5 except lion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This past weekend my Wife and I booked in for a camping weekend at the Bakgatla camp site in the Pilansberg for our anniversary. We had previously camped twice at the Manyane resort and decided to give this site a try. To put it mildly it was the most dissapointing revelation ever. The camp sites are pathetically small with hardly a space for your car, the Braai facilities per site are not consistent with some being fixed units right on the parimeter of the adjacent site which would make for an interesting fire hazard, the sites are mis matched and very close to the ablution facilities. An absolute dissapointment and at R700.00 for 3 nights in a tent you would be better off staying at home. Needless to say we turned around and left immediately. It was unfortunately a busy weekend and the Manyane resort was full otherwise we would have stayed there. Things I like about the Manyane resort is that the camp sites are a lot bigger so you never feel you are on top of each other even though it is a much bigger camp with a lot more sites available. The sites are also far enough off the road and side paths whereas at Bakgatla the only decent size site was actually on the bend of the road!,

I definitely recommend Manyane for a weekend away and stay away from Bakgatla, I suggest that Golden Leopard actually invest in upgrading the camp site and perhaps reduce the amount of sites to make it more exclusive? oh and while you are at it, a few more trees for the camp sites would not go amiss!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emailSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Chalet. And it was very comfortable. It has a double bed and 3 single beds, comfortable to sleep 5 adults. Its quite, not very fancy and very good option for those who want to enjoy life at the bush.
What makes this place very attractive, is that they have kept it very simple, with all the facilities handy. Its not a place where you go to pamper your self, its for those who want to enjoy life in the bush and capture a lot of nature and wild. The staff at the resort are very helpful. My family is vegetarian, and the hotel staff ensured we got pure veg meals and they tasted great!. We also did an evening game drive, where we managed to catch quite a few animals, the Lions and Leopards were elusive, but you don't get lucky in just one drive :)
Will recco it to any one who wishes to go to Pillanesburg for a Game drive or even visit Sun City, which is close by. Its a good and a very smart option for those who want to explore Sun City and a good game drive together.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitesh_That
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a two night weekend in a chalet. We were greeted warmly by staff on arrival. Our chalet was very clean and neat. The chalet is set for for full self catering. There is a small superette for odds and ends in the camp. But would recommend using the big Superspar next to Sun City to buy your food supplies. We opted for the half board option and frequented the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Our breakfast was Buffet style which offered a nice variety of breakfast options. Dinner was a three course meal from a hearty starter, very filling main and sweet dessert. The food was actually very good which we could classify as average and just like a home cooked meal. The wait staff very friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this camp for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divediva22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The chalet was comfortable though not as luxurious as we expected from the rather high charges. However, the young man who runs the Pilansberg Centre restaurant and shop must be highly commended. I fell, breaking my arm badly on 12th March 2013 and found the urgent, caring actions of the young man and his staff was exceptional, calling the Paramedic from Sun City and then the ambulance from Rustenburg. The concern and help from the kitchen staff at Bakgatla was so appreciated, with meals being specially prepared and even delivered to the chalet. Many thanks to all concerned.

Room Tip: If you are after a 'bush' experience, Lodge 19 is a bit too tucked away in the trees, but fo...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyp242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
47.0 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
28.1 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#7 of 12 in Rustenburg
92 reviews
16.4 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.2 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#8 of 12 in Rustenburg
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kwamahla Conference Centre & Game Lodge
54.4 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla

Address: Rustenburg Square Cnr Von Wielligh and Wolmar, Rustenburg 0299, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Number of rooms: 205
Also Known As:
Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla Hotel Rustenburg
Golden Leopard Hotel Bakgatla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing