We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rustenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I spent a week during March 2013 at the Bakgatla chalets. After reading some of the reviews on this website I was a bit apprehensive at first. so let's be honest, if you are someone who luxury and nothing else on your vacation trip, this venue is not for you. But if you want good value for money, it is perfect. The chalets are most adequately furnished and has DStv, an aircon both downstairs and upstairs and a good size fridge. The complaints about the lighting at the braai on the patio is nonsense as there is more than enough lighting. The braai areas as well as the chalets are cleaned perfectly every day and the staff even offer to wash the dishes after lunch. The water was also not a problem in the chalet during my stay. However, it does seem that there may be a problem with water as resort appeared very dry for the end of summer. Even the grass around the large pool was very dry. This is probably a municipal issue rather than a resort issue. If your main objective is to view animals in the game park I can definitely say that it is good value for money. If you spend the day at the resort, I would suggest that you consider other resorts too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boegoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    15
    13
    13
See reviews for
30
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I am reasonably picky when it comes to accommodation, but decided to to try the Bakgatla chalets since our group was focused on wildlife and trying to limit unnecessary costs.

It turned out just fine, as Bakgatla offers all of the essentials. It has a small shop, a large pool, and the staff was even prepared to provide breakfast packs in case our early morning game drives would cause us to miss breakfast hours.

Our room had DSTV, an aircon and a fridge - the freezer just barely able to freeze drinks overnight.

If you are simply looking for low cost accommodation when your trip revolves around game drives, this is fine.

You may want to bring your own light because the built in braai is poorly lit, and I think things can become quite busy at times due to the large number of people camping in tents, although this was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niella75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The 5 executive safari tents at Bakgatla camp in the Pilanesberg game reserve are private (not situated close to each other, all facing the bush), quite spacious and comfortable. The fridge was bigger than expected, there were also some mugs, wine glasses, water glasses and a wine bottle opener. A few tea bags, coffee and powdered milk was available, as well as a kettle. You can buy long-life milk at the small shop at the resort or bring your own. There was also a braai (barbeque) grid outside which we used one evening (we took our own meat, salad, etc and cutlery along). The bathroom has a nice corner bath with handheld showerhead. A fan, heater and blankets are available.

We went on a bed and breakfast option, which worked well, I would not recommend taking the all-inclusive option. Breakfast was average and the restaurant service not great. We had dinner from the menu one evening, which was OK, there is also a buffet available at R140 per person. Overall the restaurant and its staff had a tired, outdated feeling but was clean.

The swimming pool, although very popular since the weather was very hot, was not extremely clean with a lot sand at the bottom.

I was disappointed in the "view" from the tents, as it was suggested that by facing the camp fence you would somehow be able to see some action right from your patio. However, it is extremely bushy and you can't see more than a few meters, not that there was anything to miss out on.

Overall, the accommodation was average, but I couldn't help looking over at the campsites where other people pitched their own tents, made their own (tastier looking) food at a fraction of the price we paid. There is certainly not much value in staying in the executive safari tents, although it is convenient if you have only 2 nights or so to visit a game reserve from Gauteng and don't have the equipment to do your own thing.

Game reserve: It rained a lot so we were not able to do many game drives, but the reserve was beautifully green and the scenery was amazing. In my opinion Kruger Park is a better option for watching game and getting value for money. It only takes an hour longer to drive there, so we would definitely rather go there. From Johannesburg to Bakgatla took almost 3 hours on a Friday afternoon due to traffic and the fact that you sometimes travel on small roads through towns (definitely not the N4).

The Golden Leopard resorts website is like something from the early 1990s: no on-line availability, low resolution pictures, not a lot of information. They should take a serious look at the other parks websites in South Africa (Kznwildlife and Sanparks).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I am staying at this resort from Sunday 30 sept 2012. we have been without water since then. the hole resort is without water . However very helpfull and friendly the staff keep the problem of water supply from their guests which leads to discomfort.

Aparently the Council dont supply water to the resort any longer and the boreholes are running dry.
Be aware off this when planning a trip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Lommies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rustenburg hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have camped at Bakgatla twice now and had great stays both times. The campsite is clean and well kept. the ablusion facilities are clean, well-lit and their are sufficient facilities for everyone, even when the camp is full. It is in an ideal position right at the gate of Pilanesburg. Entry fees into the park are very reasonable at R65 per person for the entire duration of your stay. It is also only 2 hours away from Jo'burg so its close enough to go just for a weekend in the bush. I will definitely camp here again. Its the perfect place to go away to with friends without paying a fortune.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Having read reviews prior to us visiting Bakatla which had been booked my family member for us we were apprehensive about what we might find. Certainly the resort is in need of up dating, and the facilities are not the most modern. However the place was very tidy and clean, with good helpful friendly service. The chalets gave us everything we required and the resort is ideally positioned to exploring the Pilanesberg.We spent 2 days driving around in Toyota Corolla and if you know what you are doing the roads arnt to bad, the pot holes and dirty tracks add to the excitement of seeing all the game the park has to offer.
We would go back to Bakatla, so it couldnt have been all bad. If you do go, just don,t go expecting upto date luxury,then you won,t be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Despite being quite a lot cheaper than the surrounding resorts, I still don't think it was exactly cheap for locals considering that the toilet leaked, the basin was cracked, there were water pressure problems and when I arrived it took quite a while for reception to find my pre-paid booking. Bakgatla is clearly capitalising on their tourist trap status. For a local I also found R350.00 per person for a game drive to be a bit on the steep side. You are almost forced to do the game drive because the roads in the park are so full of large potholes, you are seriously risking your car. On the positive side, we saw some magnificent game in the park (in our car) and the staff were friendly and the chalet was clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rustenburg hotels
47.0 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
54.4 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
28.1 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#6 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.2 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#8 of 12 in Rustenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
48.5 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
37.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla

Property: Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
Address: Rustenburg Square Cnr Von Wielligh and Wolmar, Rustenburg 0299, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Number of rooms: 205
Also Known As:
Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla Hotel Rustenburg
Golden Leopard Hotel Bakgatla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing