We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bakgatla Non-electrified campsite”

Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rustenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bakgatla Non-electrified campsite”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have camped at Bakgatla twice now and had great stays both times. The campsite is clean and well kept. the ablusion facilities are clean, well-lit and their are sufficient facilities for everyone, even when the camp is full. It is in an ideal position right at the gate of Pilanesburg. Entry fees into the park are very reasonable at R65 per person for the entire duration of your stay. It is also only 2 hours away from Jo'burg so its close enough to go just for a weekend in the bush. I will definitely camp here again. Its the perfect place to go away to with friends without paying a fortune.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    15
    13
    13
See reviews for
30
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Having read reviews prior to us visiting Bakatla which had been booked my family member for us we were apprehensive about what we might find. Certainly the resort is in need of up dating, and the facilities are not the most modern. However the place was very tidy and clean, with good helpful friendly service. The chalets gave us everything we required and the resort is ideally positioned to exploring the Pilanesberg.We spent 2 days driving around in Toyota Corolla and if you know what you are doing the roads arnt to bad, the pot holes and dirty tracks add to the excitement of seeing all the game the park has to offer.
We would go back to Bakatla, so it couldnt have been all bad. If you do go, just don,t go expecting upto date luxury,then you won,t be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Despite being quite a lot cheaper than the surrounding resorts, I still don't think it was exactly cheap for locals considering that the toilet leaked, the basin was cracked, there were water pressure problems and when I arrived it took quite a while for reception to find my pre-paid booking. Bakgatla is clearly capitalising on their tourist trap status. For a local I also found R350.00 per person for a game drive to be a bit on the steep side. You are almost forced to do the game drive because the roads in the park are so full of large potholes, you are seriously risking your car. On the positive side, we saw some magnificent game in the park (in our car) and the staff were friendly and the chalet was clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rustenburg hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

When trying to book to camp in the Pilanesberg all camp sites were fully booked, except for a non electrified site at Bakgatla. I was very dissapointed on arrival to find that the fence which we were camping next to did not even board onto the park, so instead of game at our fence we had cows, and we were able to hear dogs barking at night, not my idea of camping in a game reserve. The water in our ablutions stopped working on the day we arrived, toilets didnt flush and there was no hot water, this was the case for the entire weekend. Although I was dissapointed with the above, we still had a lovely stay, there is a well stocked store, and beautiful swimming pool, and all staff were very friendly, and lets not forget how cheap the accomodation is and how beautiful the game reserve is.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Caravan site with electricity. Camp sites not as nice as Manyane. Ablution block is clean and has recently been renovated with marble tops and stainless steel basins. Newly tiled and very well lit with fluorescent lights. Shower drains seem to be a problem all over. Dinner at the restaurant was reasonably priced, but the lamb shank needed another hour's cooking, very tough.
The swimming pool is crystal clear and very well maintained. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Game viewing is excellent on self drives, but the tarred roads are in a poor condition with a lot of potholes. Gravel roads are in a fairly good condition with some bad spots.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanici M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

When other options around Pilanesberg are running to four or five times the cost of a Chalet at Golden Leopard this looks like an excellent value facility, especially if purchased as a Dinner Bed and Breakfast Package. The chalets are basic and a little dated, but you are staying here for the location rather than granite covered counter tops or designer toilets. They serve that purpose absolutely fine. Dinner (as part of a package) was excellent value - good quality food, reasonably attentive service, even if uninspiring surroundings. Breakfast was buffet style, and nothing spectacular, but nothing wrong with it either.

In short, if you are here to see the game reserve, and want a super convenient location, you cannot really go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Found the chalet altogether inadequate. Small and very cold thanks to an aircon that has been installed under a high roof - affording overheating in the loft but freezing downstairs. No 'lounge' to speak of as more of a hallway to a poor bathroom, kitchen and bedroom. TV stuck under the steep steps/not stairs. Absolutely awful - we cut our stay short as a result. Much the wiser we will not again trust the 'silver' rating. Stay clear of Bakgatla we would advise.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
47.0 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
54.4 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
28.1 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#6 of 12 in Rustenburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
52 reviews
15.8 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
248 reviews
37.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla

Property: Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
Address: Rustenburg Square Cnr Von Wielligh and Wolmar, Rustenburg 0299, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Number of rooms: 205
Also Known As:
Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla Hotel Rustenburg
Golden Leopard Hotel Bakgatla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing