We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Rustenburg
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I cannot believe that this is a 4 star establishment. The room I stayed in was so run down and old I could not believe it. Felt very unsafe in my room as the locks have been tampered with. Bathroom very old and disappointing. Towels very old and 'thin'. I thought it was only my room but my friend had the same experience. When I complained I was told they have better rooms I should in future book the suites that was renovated recently. I am a South African and stay in hotels in SA frequently. Definately overpriced and unacceptable. The breakfast and conferencing facilities was very good. Friendly staff.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank TravelH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari O, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on Safari, Safari is a multi faceted property with many different room configurations dependant on the room type selected and the block requested. We have standard rooms, suites, adjoining rooms etc. Some of our rooms are in the process of being upgraded and some have already been upgraded. The older rooms will be upgraded but as it is an on going upgrade it is best to request a newer room or newer block at time of reservation.

We value your input and take it as constructive criticism and a valuable tool for us to measure our market feedback and customer satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to win back your business.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 91 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

Soccer tournament venue. Booked in for the weekend. 5 star rates with a disastAr room . 5 people were crammed into an ancient 1 Bedroom and verandah"effort" - Terrible - Stank of stale cigarettes. Shower -above the slipery bath and flimsy shower curtain, flooded the whole bathroom and even ran into the next room, no way of controlling the flow of water onto the floor- had to bath which got a little time consuming when 4 others were in the queue. The water logged door confirmed that we were not the only people to experience this. Toilet had to be turned off at the wall as it leaked and squeeked when open. My 3 children slept in what appeared to be a verandah in earlier times. 2 on a sleeper couch that barely provided any support. For the fees charged you'd expect a decent bed. Food was however acceptable -better than Orion Drakensburg, but they seemed to have a shortage of plates we had to wait on 3 occasions, just for plates. Management only showed their faces at the close of meal times. Security is an issue - on the Saturday night a hole was cut in the fence (a supposed electric fence). Fortunately the guard noticed the attempted "entry" @ 3am - we were woken by their "discussions". To top it all we were contacted after our departure and advised that "housekeeping" had found the hairdryer to be broken - insinuating that we had broken it. We did not even know that one existed and furthermore my wife would never have used it - she has her own. Pitty that"housekeeping" did not notice this the day before as well as the fact that the main light in the "kids verandah" did not work and when they also forgot to replace the soaked and rather old towels (from the previous nights flood). We had to follow up on this. Would we go there again? NO.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndMacR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari O, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Unfortunately Safari always gets flooded by bookings when a soccer event is held in Rustenburg. This usually leads to a situation where the prime rooms are sold first. We do however apologise for any inconvenience caused by the hotel and ask that you keep an open mind and allow us an opportunity to win back your business.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We had booked as family for the weekend into Safari Lodge. Had expected the quality of facility and rooms as advertised on website as a 4 star establishment. On arrival had been allocated the old dilapidated and run down external rooms which would not even warrant a 1 star rating. The Hotel charged us for the renovated rooms. Only after serious complaint and changing our booking to another hotel did they provide a discount on the price charged. Be careful and ensure you confirm you are allocated a renovated room in the part of the hotel which had been renovated. Also not the best of hotel for a family weekend as the hotel is swamped with conference guests.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

THIS WAS ONE OF THE BEST IN A LONG TIME. The atmosphere, the setting, the staff with the most adorable manager and the food all culminated into an outstanding visit to this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1959pinky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Despite calling itself a "safari lodge", it is not in a game park - it's just a hotel on the outskirts of town. My room was clean but dingy and poorly lit. Some of the furniture was battered and had seen better days. I agree with previous reviewer about poor security - my room had sliding glass patio doors with a simple catch and no lock. Work was hampered by hotel's poor wi-fi connection.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ruffinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Cool place, go there. Lovely, excellent service, well designed, good food, friendly staff

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigAnts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Poor location on the edge of a mining town. No local recreation facilities.
Rooms had a door lock that could easily be opened with a screwdriver, no safes in rooms which in Africa is a must.And worst of all no safety deposit box in reception.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gerryredmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
3.8 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#7 of 13 in Rustenburg
34 reviews
4.1 mi away
Magia Guest House
Magia Guest House
#5 of 13 in Rustenburg
7 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rustenburg
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#9 of 13 in Rustenburg
95 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
24.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: Donkerhoek Road, Rustenburg 0300, South Africa (Formerly Orion Safari Lodge)
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Rustenburg
Price Range: $40 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foothills of the Rustenberg Kloof and Magaliesberg Mountains, the Safari Lodge is easily accessible from all the major metropolitan areas of Gauteng. The tranquil and relaxed country setting, together with its central location, makes it an ideal conference venue, or holiday destination, from which to explore the many attractions and natural splendours of the area.The Coach Restaurant offers gourmet dining and is perfectly complimented by the Usutu Restaurant and Cocktail Bar that serves mouth-watering buffets. This country hotel has numerous activities and facilities onsite. The swimming pool and pool bar are the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day at a conference, or after enjoying a scenic walk in the Rustenberg Kloof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Safari Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing