We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An epic experience”

Magaliesberg Canopy Tour
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Rustenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An epic experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is how my 11 year old son described his experience. well managed, beautiful views, and he really loved the guide's sense of humour!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    236
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“What an experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We did this canopy tour during our holiday to South Africa and Zimbabwe and what an experience it was.
There was 6 of us and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The guides were excellent and kept us entertained for the whole tour.
The tour itself was great fun and the thrill of gliding over the gorge was magic.
Our group consisted of a wide age range so if perhaps you think you are maybe to old to have a go then don't worry it is a fantastic experience no matter your age.
Included in the price was some food an wasn't too bad but please make sure you buy your DVD. Not only is the DVD an excellent momento you also receive a disc with around 200 pics.
If you are in the area then don't miss this tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jimdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

What a rush. The staff are most professional and helpful. From the time of your arrival and fitting out in your harness, loading you into the truck and driving you to your start point, the guides make sure you are pampered and entertained. The slides range from about 60 metres to 145 metres (ther are 11 of them) and sliding over the gorge is both breathtaking and exhilarating. The guides follow you down and instruct you all the way. After a short walk up the side of the gorge you are driven back to base camp for a light lunch. My wife and I went in summer and although it was hot, the gorge was beautifully green.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Flying High”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having already done similar things to this in the UK I was really looking forward to swinging my way over the river gorge and I was not disappointed. The scenery was stunning and it was fantastic to swing my way from one side of the gorge to the the other.

The guides/instructors were fantastic. Very well informed on the local area and wild life they made the tour even more entertaining with their friendly banter and good humor as well concentrating on the safety aspect of the tour. There were 6 of us in our tour group and they made sure we were all comfortable with the slides and how to propel ourselves to the other side of the gorge.

Its very much worth the money and if your not too much of an adrenaline junkie a great way to introduce your self to it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Departed_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a rush”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Well worth the visit. Swinging from platform to platform over the river gorge was an adrenalin rush or note, and a great way to spend a cold Saturday. The guides, Mike and Pabi were fun, attentive, and gave an 'extra' to the day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathleen_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magaliesberg Canopy Tour also viewed

Rustenburg, North-West Province
Rustenburg, North-West Province
 
Rustenburg, North-West Province
 

Been to Magaliesberg Canopy Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing