We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wifi let-down, otherwise good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Africa Sky Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Africa Sky Guest House
Ranked #6 of 53 Rustenburg B&B and Inns
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wifi let-down, otherwise good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Africa Sky is known in Rustenburg to have a welcoming and friendly atmosphere, and in this it didn't disappoint -- a good example of South African hospitality. The place is beautiful, the rooms are well equipped and clean, and the location is central.

We were disappointed by the lack of wifi. The website says that wifi access is available bun when I asked the staff about it on two separate occassions I received a blank stare followed by an excuse. I suspect that their wifi hasn't been working for some time but that the website doesn't reflect this.

Overall we'd stay there again in a heartbeat if we didn't need wifi, but on this trip we desperately needed it and we were just let down.

Room Tip: Phone beforehand to check if the wifi is working. If it is, stay there, you're not going to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here before and after our safari, just arriving from the airport and not needing to spend time in Johannesburg. It had been arranged for us through Wild Wings Safari's and it was perfect for us. A driver picked us up at the airport and took us to the guesthouse. The whole place is lovely and homey. Deidre and all the staff were really helpful, gracious and welcoming. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The reception area, the guest sitting area, and the dining rooms were all very comfortable, nicely furnished, lots of flowers... just a really nice place to relax. We had breakfast and dinner there both times we stayed, and the food was exceptionally good. Yes, Internet was not great but we found this same problem in many places in South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chattycathy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent 2 nights here in transit from the US to Zambia. We were looking for a quiet place to acclimate a little to the 6 hour time zone change and recover from our 16 hour flight before heading on to Zambia on safari. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. Food was excellent. They even prepared sandwiches for our lunch so we wouldn't have to go anywhere. The grounds are lovely with lots of places to sit and soak up some sunshine. The perfect prescription for our jet lag.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talatona, luanda, Angola
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel! My husband ended up in the hospital while in Joburgh, they took EXCELLENT care of my son and me. They were amazing! They shuttled us around, made sure got to the hospital (on the other side of town), and even made sure we ate. They even took my son to McDonalds for dinner one night. The rooms were great. They were comfortable and my son had his own room. We even took pictures of the towels wrapped to look like elephants. This is a hotel that goes above and beyond. We travel to Joburg a couple of times a year, and we will not stay anyplace else!

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the pool. The garden in fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

What an absolute joy to stay here. Deidre, the owner, was most accommodating. The rooms were spacious and very clean, I did like the detail of the flowers and towel arrangement on the bed. Plenty of towels, soap and very comfortable mattress and pillows. Shower was good size and great water pressure. My airport transfers all went to plan and the drivers courteous. The breakfast/dining area was a lovely setting and breakfast was fresh and plentiful. I had dinner on 2 occasions, which was restaurant quality and beautiful centre pieces on the tables. Peaceful gardens to relax in, the staff were friendly and made sure that everything was to my liking. Also has wi fi access.

Room Tip: Room 14 is upstairs so if you need assistance with stairs ask for another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietersburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

The internet shows a very good view of the Guest House, but it is totally not the case.
We did not even get a remote to get into the parking area and had to wait every time we wanted to enter the parking. The room did not have enough towels, no soap and there were no bed for the children, as per arrangement. The food was also not nice to eat: Toast was rubber, bacon was hard and there were not serviettes. The dining table was also dirty. And on top of it all, Rustenburg is a very hot place, the air-con in our room did not work. The only good thing was that it was at least clean. Was very unhappy with the stay there and will definitely not recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEER30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
2.6 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
1.9 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#8 of 12 in Rustenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
24.7 mi away
Cabanas
Cabanas
#5 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Sky Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Sky Guest House

Property: Africa Sky Guest House
Address: 7 Fontein Street, Rustenburg 0299, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rustenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Africa Sky Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing