We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option for accomodation near Sun City”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rustenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sundown Ranch Hotel
Thabazimbi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good option for accomodation near Sun City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Problem with the airconditioning in room, report it, no one came to fix it. Talked to the manager , he give me another room, with working aircon! Ground floor rooms bit noisy, but it was New year ! Breakfast food excellent! Rooms very comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeetThabazimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
13
10
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Spent a few nights as part of a business conference. Overall impression was good - rooms are large, ground floor rooms open out onto the garden and pool deck - but one gets the general feeling that the hotel is 'tired'. Food was good, although their a la carte servings were over-generous(!) - my portion of lamb chops would have fed my entire family. One has to request the remote controls for the television and air-conditioning from reception, not supplied in the room. Their conference rooms need updating - no facilities for plugging in the ubiquitous laptops; fortunately we had taken our own extension cables and multiplugs. Also, there is no WiFi, which I believe is an essential for a hotel positioning itself in the 'conference/business' market. Whilst I wouldn't recommend the hotel as a conference venue, I believe it offers good value for a family getaway.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank MountainNymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
255 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located if you want to spend time at Sun City, Pilanesberg and surrounds and either can't get accommodation at those places or don't want to take the compulsory 3-night stay at Sun City. We still had to take at least 2 nights at Sundown Ranch but as the price is more reasonable it was ok. It really is only a stopover place though, not somewhere you want to spend time. The rooms and bathrooms are old, tired and have no soundproofing whatsoever. The rooms on the ground floor open up on the gardens and give direct access to the pool, which is nice but very noisy particularly early on a Sunday morning when all the small kids are up long before adults on holiday want to be. The rooms have TV, coffee, tea and a kettle but no fridge. The breakfast is very good and the variety excellent. The restaurant for dinner is very reasonably priced as hotel prices go, and the food was delicious. There are also some chalets behind the hotel that can be rented and may be a cheaper/better option for families. It's a good place to stay if you don't want to pay the ripoff Sun International prices at Sun City.

Room Tip: Anything far away from the main reception areas will be best, but if you have a noisy bunch of confe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HarveyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I was there with my husband and our baby,I really enjoyed staying there.the stuff was friendly the break fast is good they're price are reasonable,we loved the place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maksabelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel offers good value, especially when compared to the tourist traps in Sun City, and it's only about 10 minutes away from the Pilanesburg Game Reserve.
Rooms are spacious and well-appointed, with a nice veranda next to the pool, but the hotel in general feels tired and the corridors in particular are very sorry-looking indeed.
The restaurant is a good one and offers an excellent choice and value. Breakfast was fabulous, one of the best I've had in SA, and is very well organised.
We would definitely return to this hotel if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rustenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
0.0 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#6 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#8 of 12 in Rustenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Africa Sky Guest House
Africa Sky Guest House
#7 of 52 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Ranch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Ranch Hotel

Property: Sundown Ranch Hotel
Address: R565 | PO Box 139, Rustenburg 0301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Rustenburg
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundown Ranch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing