We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DODGE THE HODGE”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rustenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hodge Podge Backpackers Lodge
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DODGE THE HODGE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

I booked to stay here for 5 nights during the world cup, the prices were above average for budget accommodation but booking quite late I had little choice.

I will start with the positive points; there are a couple of signs from Rustenburg, they let you in and out 24hours a day and it is a good place to meet people with an equal dislike for the way the property is run!

Throughout my stay I had only one hot shower, was moved beds three times (on one occasion my things were moved without me even being told), no heaters & no insulation in the cabins, there is no indoor communal area (it is very cold in winter - frost on the ground), no hot water or soap in the bar toilets, a limited supply of blankets, etc.

Staff did not seem to want to help at all - they just put signs up like 'Remember, this is a backpackers' or 'No refunds'

It's a nice part of South Africa and Pilanesberg is a great National Park, but consider some better accommodation!

This is the worst backpackers (and most expensive) I have ever stayed in (but I did meet some other great people)!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
5
1
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

I think people need to get real here. The world cup was an incredibly busy time and towns like Rustenburg will never see demand like it again. We stayed during the WC period, however after all games had been completed at the nearby(ish) stadium.

We stayed in a three bed private room which was really nice, very comfy bed, good quality clean showers. We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the place, the friendly oweners and the good service. If you are coming from or to Pilanesburg National Park then this is a good choice. It is also a nice place to stay if you are looking to explore the nearby mountains.

Although good value at 200R per person to Pretoria, steer clear of the recommended driver. He may have been friendly but his driving was erratic, he was racist, sexist and homophobic. However, being from the UK, maybe we are more aware of this.

Do not let reviews put you off this place if you are coming outside the world cup, it really is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

Stayed for the world cup and it was all about ripping as many people off as possible! Went to the game on an over priced shuttle and came back to find more beds squeezed in our dorm. I wouldn't feed a dog the breakfast and it's in the middle of no where. My experience may have been bad because so many stayed for the WC but there's no way I'd go back and can not see what it offers anyone other than a crap bed a cold shower, and a hole in your pocket!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rustenburg hotels

London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

we travelled as a group and on arrival our beds were not ready, in fact the mattresses sat in a pile on the grass while we were told to relax by the pool which was green with algae and goodness knows what else. The place is over run with animals and the place where we were supposed to stay was dirty, this included the kitchen area and showers. I would never stay here even as a backpacker!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
8.6 mi away
Thirsty Falls Organic Farm
Thirsty Falls Organic Farm
#4 of 31 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
7.0 mi away
Africa Sky Guest House
Africa Sky Guest House
#7 of 52 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
12.2 mi away
Berit Country Home & Chapel
Berit Country Home & Chapel
#6 of 31 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kumbagana Game Lodge
Kumbagana Game Lodge
#11 of 31 in Rustenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
5.2 mi away
Adem Gasteplaas
Adem Gasteplaas
#1 of 3 in Kroondal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
6.8 mi away
Franka Guesthouse
Franka Guesthouse
#2 of 52 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodge Podge Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodge Podge Backpackers Lodge

Property: Hodge Podge Backpackers Lodge
Address: Plot 66 | Kommiesdrift, Rustenburg 0350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Rustenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hodge Podge is against the Magaliesburg Mountain. All the rooms are well furnished and clean. The bar is great and the communal kitchen is ideal for any cook. The swimming pool is the right place for summer and the hospitality is of excellence. They will move a mountain for any backpacker. If you love nature, this is the place to be. Groups are welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing