We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Rustenburg Hunters Rest
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Rustenburg
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited the hotel as a quick breakaway. We enjoyed staying here, the food was good an the room was nice and clean. There is a lot of things to do at the hotel, wish we could stay longer to make use of all the facilities. We will be back and suggest it to family and friends.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Christiaan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 225 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at the Hunters Rest for a meeting. It is a beautiful place, I love the wide spaces, the lawns, the dinning area, the pool and gyms. Some of the rooms are quite superb while others were actually quite tine. Mine was a sort of in-between. Overall I really enjoyed my stay although at some point the internet connectivity for about two days was quite a challenge in the meeting hall which was very frustrating.
Its a great place if you want to get away from hustle and bustle and get some me time.

Room Tip: Request for the newer rooms especially from room 19 to the 40s have very spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lili A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently stayed at Hunters Rest as a family with small children.. The facilities are very good with lots of activities for kids. The food is fantastic and staff accomodating.
However the resort and especially the rooms are really showing the very old age.
The rooms are in serious need of maintenance from broken locks, non operational sliding doors, taps leaking, toilets leaking, doors squeeking, TV remotes not working, shower heads poor, mould in showers, shower doors jamming, beds obviously not moved and cleaned underneath for months, nests removed but no clean up of the mud on the walls, noisy aircons in the dining room etc etc.
The prices are very expensive for what you get - there is much better value to had out there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anonymous11260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hunters Rest is our family retreat of choice within close proximity to Pretoria. We`ve been frequent visitors over the last 8 years. If you wish to take a break from overpopulated resorts, give this resort with its lush sub-tropical settings some serious thought. A lot of family friendly activities abound on site, as well as in the area to work off the scrumptious breakfast and dinner buffets ( included in DBB rate). The kids just love the animal farm, pony rides, the (supervised) games room and off course the huge swimming pool and adjoining heated kiddies splash pool. The kids even have their own dining room. Mom is a regular at the Spa and gym and I enjoy the odd game of golf on their well kept course. The staff is friendly and the management makes an effort to interact with guests. The quality of the standard rooms has improved considerably over the last few years, but if one really wants to nit-pick, they remain somewhat dated. Our next visit is in a couple of days time.. where`s that pool lounger with my name on it? Happy travels- JB

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hunters Rest is an old hotel where you get the feeling that you have set your clock backwards to the 70's-80's. The hotel suites have been renovated and the suites are very elegant and spacious. There is a lot of entertainment for the kids to do and even a pony ride or put put can be much fun. The mushy golf course is well looked after and the tennis courts are in excellent condition. The swimming pool is huge and there is a cold and warm pool to choose from. The hotel caters for a large number of guests and because of that the food is mediocre. You can choose either Buffet or menu. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Considering everything I think it is worthwhile to try for a weekend break away.

Room Tip: Book in a executive/family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very easy to book, staff were excellent. Rooms were neat and clean, though dated. Could use refurbish, nothing would keep us away from the occasional weekend getaway if done. Good venue to relax, or quite a bit to do around, including a quick trip to Sun City who refused a one night booking.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Luxury family country hotel 90 mins from Johannesburg just outside the town of Rustenburg. Set in subtropical garden with large pool and excellent amenities. Good food and friendly pub. A home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bramm_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerhunters, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear bramm_travel

Thank you for your kind words, we are thrilled to hear we made your stay memorable. We look forward welcoming you back soon upon your next visit to Rustenburg.

Hope you have a memorable Father's Day.

Warmest Regards

Ben Jonas - General Manager
Hunters Rest Mountain Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
7.3 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
10.3 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#9 of 13 in Rustenburg
95 reviews
21.5 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rustenburg
241 reviews
5 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#7 of 13 in Rustenburg
34 reviews
17.8 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Rustenburg Hunters Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Rustenburg Hunters Rest

Address: R24 Rustenburg / Krugersdorp Rd, Rustenburg 0300, South Africa (Formerly Hunters Rest Mountain Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Rustenburg
Price Range: $97 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Rustenburg Hunters Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the picturesque countryside resort nestled in the Magalies Mountains Protea Hotel by Marriott Rustenburg Hunters Rest is nestled in between the Magaliesberg Mountains. Situated 8.5km from Rustenburg CBD, this mountain range stretches from the North of Pretoria through to the South of the Pilanesberg National Park located less than an hour away. Adjacent to the Kgaswane Nature Reserve you can enjoy a nature drive to our famous viewing deck which offers spectacular views of the mountain range and the Olifantsnek dam that were once home to roaming elephant herds. This is the perfect family getaway with the kids, a mere 1 hour and half’s drive from Pretoria, less than 2 hours’ drive from Johannesburg and less than an hour’s drive from Sun City. Come and enjoy loads of activities for both young and old whilst staying at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Rustenburg Hunters Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Rest Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing