We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury family country hotel 90 mins from Johannesburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Luxury family country hotel 90 mins from Johannesburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Luxury family country hotel 90 mins from Johannesburg just outside the town of Rustenburg. Set in subtropical garden with large pool and excellent amenities. Good food and friendly pub. A home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bramm_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerhunters, General Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear bramm_travel

Thank you for your kind words, we are thrilled to hear we made your stay memorable. We look forward welcoming you back soon upon your next visit to Rustenburg.

Hope you have a memorable Father's Day.

Warmest Regards

Ben Jonas - General Manager
Hunters Rest Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    58
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
77
36
3
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at this resort in January 2013 and went as a whole big family. The resort is like stepping back into the 80's literally or a bit like Dirty Dancing without Patrick Swayze (and the dancing).
The Resort as a whole is well looked after. The main reception and communal areas and pools need updating but the lawns are beautiful. The facilities are fine, pools, bowling greens, putt putt and farmyard for kids, a nice 'creche'.
We spent most days sitting at the pool where the service was dismal. The resort was almost empty and no waiters to be seen anywhere. The food is terrible - breakfasts are buffets that are average. Lunch at the pool is good: toasted sandwiches and salads and pub food. Dinner is the worst - a set 5 course meal with choices. Food been pre-made 2 hours before and made in batches so nothing made fresh.
What what amazing was the childrens dining room with amazing different choices every day.
Rooms are spacious and average - we got the luxury rooms and I would say they are 3 star but very big.
So in summary is an amazing place for kids - good, old fashioned - loads to do for kids, babysitters and kids dining room. Games like scrabble after dinner etc. Not sure if I will go back.

Room Tip: got to get a luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAtraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Enjoyed every minute that we were there.
30 years ago we spent our honeymoon at this resort.
We were not dissapointed then and certainly not dissapointed during our visit now Oct/Nov 2012.
Nothing was too much for the staff and made us happy at all times. The meals wre superb. We enjoyed the lovely gardens and country settings

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a nightmare from the start at check in - we had asked for the renovated rooms when making the booking and were put in rooms that were out of the 1970's,

We were then put in rooms that were close to a cemetery and did not lock, had a leaky aircon with a bucket left in the middle of the room to collect the water. After insisting we move, we were finally put in more adequate accommodation. That being said all the rooms are totally inconsistent. Some have newer TV's, more modern bathrooms. It does not add up and the amount they charge is complete extortion.

Overall the service is SLOW - or non existent.

The website does not portray an accurate picture.

For example, after being told that the kids dining room will have caretakers - there were none to be seen, so we took the kids to the main dining room which they say is not allowed.

The kids crèche has no plug covers and needs a serious look at safety compliance.

To add to another terrible experience, a stranger was given a key to one of the family members rooms and walks in to 'his' room cause the system did not show that this room was already occupied.

Some of the rooms were only made up after 2pm!

Pool towels have to be collected from reception and then returned to reception. Same with umbrella's
.
Goodness... this is a trip to antiquity beyond and is certainly not a value or comfort for money type of place.
It is the potential to be great and in need of a major injection of everything.

Stay away or be prepared for a trip down memory lane.

I would strongly suggest a re-look at this 4 star accreditation which Hunters Rest does not deserve. It is NOT 4 star. LOOK ELSEWHERE TO GO FOR A HOLIDAY OR WEEKEND AWAY

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms. Do not settle for anything less!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NatJHB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerhunters, Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear NatJHB24,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback on your stay with us. I am most disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations to the fullest.
Without your comments, we would never know whether you leave our establishment completely satisfied, but more importantly, leave disappointed and dissatisfied.

I can assure you your comments have been most carefully investigated and action will be taken accordingly. Our sincere apologies for the service delivery issues.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and restore confidence in both the hotel's operation as well as the true Hunters Rest experience.

Hope you have a wonderful Father's Day.

Warm Regards

Ben Jonas - General Manager
Hunters Rest Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
210 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Let me say at the outset that I was a day visitor to the the Hunters Rest Hotel for the Sunday Buffet Lunch. I therefore have nothing to copntribute about the accommodation. I live close by. First off, Hunters has a lovely setting in well groomed grounds that offer a host of activities. The main building is well kept and appealing. We had a most attentive waiter form the moment we set foot in the lounge, whoi stayed with us into the dining area once it opened at 12:30 and ensured that our every need was met quickly and efficiently. Well done to him! In fact, all the staff we dealt with were friendlyand efficient. The lunch was great, and at R140 a head, super value! There was a large table od starters tat included shrimp and salmon and cols meats and salads and mackerel and just about any other starter one could imagine. the mains eincluded 3 roast meats, which were all succulent and tasty. Dessert was taken care of by another large table groaning under a sumptuous feast of delights. Well worth another visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwilymHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Booking was a bit difficult. Facilities are great for kids. Staff are friendly and helpful but a bit disorganised at times. However, every effort was made to keep us happy. Very realxing and a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparrow101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

The dining staff is excellent. However, the rooms are dated & below par. Views of the mountainous range is gorgeous.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartanTella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
7.3 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
18.4 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.0 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#8 of 12 in Rustenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
23.2 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
10.3 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#6 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest

Property: Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest
Address: R24 Rustenburg / Krugersdorp Rd, Rustenburg 0300, South Africa (Formerly Hunters Rest Mountain Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the picturesque countryside resort nestled in the Magalies Mountains Protea Hotel by Marriott Rustenburg Hunters Rest is nestled in between the Magaliesberg Mountains 8.5km from Rustenburg CBD this mountain range stretches from the North of Pretoria through to the South of the Pilansberg National Park located less than an hour away. Adjacent to the Kgaswane Nature Reserve Protea Hotel by Marriott Rustenburg Hunters Rest offers a nature drive up to our famous viewing deck in the reserve with spectacular views of the mountain range and the Olifantsnek dam that were once home to roaming elephant herds. This is the perfect family getaway with the kids, a mere 1 hour and half's drive from Pretoria, less than 2 hours' drive from Johannesburg and less than an hour's drive from Sun City. With loads of activities for children such as tractor rides, pony rides, a jumping castle, putt putt, tennis courts, hiking trails, mountain biking and board games to keep the children busy while the parents can relax at our health and beauty spa. Play a round of golf on our 9-hole golf course surrounded with spectacular mountain views, or a romantic getaway for two with a packed picnic basket and blanket to be enjoyed by our outdoor heated swimming pool. The mountains are also a birder's delight, with over 300 bird species recorded and famous for their dramatic quartzite cliffs. The Magaliesberg Mountains offer an abundance of valleys, ravines, cliffs and waterfalls for the pleasure and indulgence of nature lovers. Nearby attractions include the Royal Bafokeng stadium, Magaliesberg Canopy Tour, Paul Kruger Country House, Cradle of Humankind, Hartebeespoort Dam, Elephant Sanctuary, Maropeng & Sterkfontein Caves. Rustenberg is home to events such as the Piek Fijn food & wine festival, Brauhaus am Damm October Festival, Tarentaal Theatre featuring local talent, and now forms part of the UNESCO biosphere, thereby ensuring the preservation of this ancient natural treasure for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Rest Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing