We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Batavia, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed May 18, 2008

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay at the Ivory Tree Game Lodge April 7-10, 2008. The individual cottages are quite comfortable, we especially enjoyed the outdoor shower (they're situated in such a way as to still provide privacy). The staff was extremely helpful, and the food was great. We enjoyed our outdoor dinner at the Boma as well as the daily breakfast buffets. The game drives were the highlight of our trip. Our Ranger, Steve, was extremely knowledgeable and made our drives through the preserve absolutely thrilling!

  • Liked — loved the outdoor shower
  • Disliked — should have brought my own blow dryer, also no iron
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    186
    66
    13
    11
See reviews for
183
268
31
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
egypt
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We have just returned from a holiday in South Africa. We stayed at the Ivory Tree Game Lodge for 5 nights and what an unimaginable experience. The staff, location, hotel everything was simply wonderful. Our guide, Niko, was brilliant. Thank you so much for helping us to enjoy our first ever bush safari.

The Mullans
Egypt

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luluEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

We wanted to end our two week vacation in South Africa on a high, so splashed out on a two night stay at Ivory Tree Lodge, which is located at the north end of the Pilanesburg National Park. It is malaria free, and the park is small enough to cover comfortably in two days, having the big five and numerous other animals. We were treated to two game drives a day (5AM and 4:30PM) each lasting around 4 hours. We saw three of the big five (elephant, lions and rhino) along with many others (including a cheetah, which is very rare) and learned a great deal about the park and the animals. The hotel was 5 star, but to be honest we were so busy in the park we didn't get a chance to enjoy the pool or the spa. It was full with a corporate booking when we were there, but this didn't really impact us that much. Food was plentiful if a little on the ordinary side, but the staff were great. Special mention for Luke, our game ranger, who went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — No question - game drives
  • Disliked — Poor internet access
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank awsculli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

I was lucky enough to stay at this great lodge. It is situated in the park and is deluxe in the middle of nowhere. The rooms are great and tyhe shower is outside and is a real experience, which is refreshing and liberating.
The staff are friemdly and very helpful. The bush drive is definatley worth doing as there are loads of game to see, the driver is very knowledgeable.
We were luckily enough to have a Braai organised, which is a like an outdoor bbq, this has to be one of the nicest things i have been to as it was situated within the bush, excellent food and even better wine!
All I can say in summary is that this is a great place and I will be back.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no Internet or TV's - but who needs that
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grafix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Was there for my cousins wedding and stayed 3 nights, the staff were lovely and helpful. The challets were roomy and clean, lovely baths and outdoor shower. Had a safari the day we arrived after lunch and found all of the guides very knowledgeable and helpful.
The wedding was in the park and was absolutely amazing, we were taken by landrover up to the site were we were greeted by staff with ice cold drinks as it was pretty hot. Also were children doing traditional dances and songs who were very good. Lunch was in the boma which went on a bit longer than planned as the food was lovely, then after saome music and dancing everbody returned to the boma where the fire was blazing in the middle for dinner, which instead of having at the tables the staff set again was just eaten off our laps all round the fire.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank paddymacwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2007

I went to Ivory tree over the Easter weekend. Really nice place, the food was excellent. Also, the staff very friendly and helpfull. Beautiful rooms..
Only thing is didnt like that is was absolutely over crowded over this period. I do understand that I can expect this from an Easter weekend, but I will advice anybody to go in the week, or not in school holidays. I think there were almost twice as much children under the age of 12 as adults, so you want a quite weekend with your husband or close friends, avoid these periods.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MediaManagerSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. On our day of arrival the afternoon game drive had to be cancelled as there was a bush fire in the park. We were disappointed but were offered a trip to Sun City instead. We decided to relax at Ivory Tree instead as it is so peacful. During the next 3 days we were lucky enough to see the Big 5 as well as many other animals, birds, insects and snakes. Our ranger, John was friendly,and knowledgable. He arranged a surprise cake for my partners birthday, which we spent tracking lion!
The cottage was comfortable and clean with pleasant decor. The bathroom was lovely with a huge "stone" bath with a view of the bush and an outside shower. There are quite a few cottages but they are far enough apart and built in such a way that they feel very private. Each has its own patio area which again feels very private.
The vehicles hold 10 people and are high enough to allow a good veiw over the park.
I would love to stay at Ivory Tree again some day.

  • Liked — The bath and the outside shower
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wineshiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
12.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
787 reviews
10.2 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
646 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
503 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
306 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivory Tree Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivory Tree Game Lodge

Property: Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Address: | Pilanesberg Game Reserve, Pilanesberg National Park 318, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ivory Tree Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the northern region of the Pilanesberg National Park lies an ancient amphitheatre and its in this basin, surrounded by volcanic spires and rolling savannah grassland, that Ivory Tree Game Lodge has been beautifully crafted. The central guest areas include lounges, bar, a dining room and feature rock pool. Small intimate guest areas have been created to retain warmth and seclusion for the individual guests. Sweeping patios provide the ideal venue for delicious English breakfasts and light luncheons with the boma reserved for fire-side dinners. 60 Luxury chalets have been carefully positioned along foot-hills ensuring optimal views of either the mountainous surrounds or the central open area. Each chalet featuring an outside shower, air-conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea and coffee making facility, has been tastefully decorated in earthly tones. This theme is carried through to the spacious bathroom, and it is here that you may choose to relax in your bath beneath a panoramic window or step out for an invigorating shower. Ivory Tree boasts a new wellness experience presenting a wide variety of treatment options designed to relax mind, body and soul. The unique design and position of the treatment rooms ensure uninterrupted views of the reserve. Ivory Tree presents generous bed capacity and has been carefully designed to ensure optimal guest privacy whilst being able to create unique incentive experiences. Whilst our attention is focused around close and unrestricted encounters with Africa’s big game, incentive experiences also include bush dinners, our own version of the amazing race, and numerous additional activities. The lodge also boasts an equipped conference facility. Striving to maintain high levels of personal attention and guest comfort, game drive vehicles are custom built ensuring optimal panoramic visibility. Amongst the most experienced in the Pilanesberg, our rangers and hosts are committed to binging you close encounters with a wide variety of big game, including the big 5, cheetah and wild dog, during morning and evening game drives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ivory Tree Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivory Tree Game Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing