We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My friend Karen and I have just spent 4 days at ivory tree game lodge and cannot recommend it enough. All the staff were superb, extremely friendly and efficient. The lodges were clean with comfortable beds and nice linen and we enjoyed the novelty of the outside shower. The highlight, of course, were the drives. Our fantastic ranger, Mohammed, was an absolute joy. Besides being passionate, knowledgable, eloquent and articulate, he somehow managed to ensure we were able to see 4 of the big 5 which was amazing!
Finally, contrary to the recent postings, we found the food first class plus there was lots of it.

We shall recommend you to all our friends.

Alison Duguid, UK

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alid48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan58, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Alison and Karen,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback and comments. We appreciate them greatly. I am pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your recent stay at Ivory Tree Game Lodge in the Pilanesberg Game Reserve. We would like to thank you for your support and hope to see you again some day in the future.
Kind Regards
Johan van Eeden
General Manager Hospitality and Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    185
    66
    13
    10
See reviews for
179
264
31
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very nice lodge at Pilanesburg Game reserve. Not cheap, but they include two game drives in the park and the guides are nice. Service is good and friendly.
I have stayed in a cabin with a double bed. Got a nice view on the park from the big windows in the bedroom and bathroom, an outside terrace and a very neat outside shower. A great way to start a day!
Food is buffet. It was ok, but not as delicious as could have been. But i am picky on food.
Also have a nice spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meTatyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan58, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Tatyana,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay at Ivory Tree Game Lodge. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the Spa and the game drives. I'm sorry to hear that the food was not up to your liking but would like to inform you that we have recently appointed a new executive chef and trust that our food offering will only improve. Thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again some day.
Best Regards
Johan van Eeden
General Manager - Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Well it didn't happen, but it could. These rooms were top notch! The bath tub with heavenly bath salts was fabulous. The outdoor shower! I want one at home. Beds VERY comfy. The onsite safari rides, 2 daily were THE BEST! I got the most incredible pictures and saw 3 of big five. Guess I must go back and get the other two. Stay in the treehouse if you can. ITS AMAZING! The one downside is the food isn't all that great but not bad. Service is wonderful and very accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan58, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Kim,
Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at Ivory Tree Game Lodge. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed it so much. We have recently appointed a new executive chef and trust that our food offering will only improve. Thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again some day.
Best Regards
Johan van Eeden
General Manager - Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Only a few hours drive from Johannesburg but you enter another world. The lodge itself comprise some 30 individual lodges which are very clean with comfy beds and reasonably well equipped. Some of the outside verandas offer no views as they back onto a hill but several have far reaching views (our friends stayed in no 20 and had a fab view unlike our suite no 23). Staff were all very friendly and obliging food in the restaurant was buffet style but quality was good (French chef?). Shadow took us out on a quad bike tour of the local area which was both fun and interesting as we drove through some local village areas (don't expect mud huts we are talking corrugated iron) and he also arranged an archery competition for the teenagers.
I think our main disappointment was with the game drives. We accept that we did not see any of the big cats, that was just our bad luck as they are there but what disappointed us was the number of private cars that are let into the reserve. We had an interesting situation when one rather grumpy extremely large elephant came bearing down on a jumble of some ten cars. All ok but several drivers of private cars were not particularly sensitive to the animals. Also we had an image of stopping somewhere quiet to enjoy our sunset drink but were in a gated area (understand that part!!) which we shared with dozens of others and the gin that I had requested had already been opened and half polished off - not a major problem but when you are miles away from a replacement was slightly disappointing.
All in all for a quick weekend with a difference it was lovely but for a real safari experience you probably have to go farther afield.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the ivory tree. It is a very nice resort with excellent lodges which are right on the pilanesberg park's border. Excellent king size bed, a great bathroom and an outdoor shower.

The food is buffet style and actually quite good, but not to be compared to the a la carte dinners we had in other game lodges. The staff is very friendly and always happy to help.

The Pilanesberg nature is breathtaking. The collapsed volcano landscape gives this park a view with hillsides, stretched plains and bush that is unrivalled. The downside is that the game drives are not allowed to go offroad and it is a public park. This means that you have to be lucky to see the animals from closeby and you will likely share the view with a lot of other cars.

But: our ranger, Janco, made our first safari experience an unforgettable one. His extensive knowledge on the wildlife, nature, birds and anything else you can imagine was a bliss and made our stay in the ivory tree one we will remember.

Tip: go on the quad bike trip. This will take you through the villages where you would normally not come. This way you can get a flavour of the locals and their way of living. Beware that the terrain is rough so handling the quad is not easy at first.

Room Tip: If you don't like an uphill walk, choose a lodge close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank con_wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We desperately wanted to have a special night away out of Johannesburg but were slightly disappointed to find a lack of attention to detail at Ivory Tree Lodge. After ordering our game drive drinks they were not in the cooler box. At dinner my husband asked for an Amstel beer in a bottle, nothing. Then he asked for a glass Sauvigon Blanc, nothing. The bar fridges in both or our units had no beverages, maybe some fresh milk for early morning coffee or tea. High tea selection of teas not good, and also high tea food not good, doughnuts for the children were stale.
A pity that these little things have to be complained about, but it is those little things that make a break awesome to average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisFerr, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is much appreciated and can only assist us in continually striving to improve our guest experience at Ivory Tree Game Lodge.

I would like to apologise most sincerely for the experience you recently had at Ivory Tree and would like to assure you that this is most certainly not the norm.

The points you have raised are altogether relevant and constructive and I must agree that we should have handled things somewhat differently.

I am pleased to advise that after investigating the points you have raised, we are satisfied that the necessary measures have subsequently been put in place to avoid a repeat of this.

Regarding the issues you have mentioned, I would like to offer the following explanation from our side.

• Game drive drinks. This was a complete misunderstanding from our side and instead of the staff adding the second order for the children’s drinks to your first order, they replaced the original order entirely. I have implemented measures to ensure this does not occur again.

• We normally stock bottled beer. Unfortunately, as a result of the recent transport strikes in South Africa, our deliveries were influenced and we were left short stocked on some of our line items. In your case, Amstel beer in a bottle. We definitely had stock of Sauvignon Blanc wines, but unfortunately only had stock of 750mm bottles during your visit. The fault here was ours entirely as the barman should have made a plan and opened any one of the 750mm bottles of Sauvignon Blanc to accommodate your request. We have addressed these issues with the waiters and bar service staff and apologise for this.

• We have also started labelling the ice cream with immediate effect in the same way we are already labelling the other food items on our buffet.

• Unfortunately, the afternoon tea snacks were not up to scratch during your stay. I have addressed this with our recently appointed Executive Chef who will personally oversee the quality of all of these items in future.

• Unfortunately our mini-bar fridges in the rooms are only stocked on request. Guests are more than welcome to request in advance that these be stocked for their consumption and we are more than happy to oblige. I am sorry that this was apparently not brought to your attention more clearly when your booking was confirmed. This point is clearly stressed on the guest pro-forma invoice which is sent to guests prior to their arrival. We also post notices in the rooms indicating the procedure for our guests regarding requests for the stocking of the mini-bar fridges.

I appreciate how the points you have brought to our attention have caused you irritation and possibly spoilt your stay with us. I would like to assure you that we sincerely regret those issues which we should have handled differently and I would like to assure you that we would like to make it up to you should you ever choose to holiday with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our experience at Ivory Tree Game Lodge was wonderful. The cabins are very comfortable, well-appointed and nicely designed. Each is air-conditioned, with a spacious bath and outdoor shower. The main lodge buildings are nicely designed and well-maintained. The staff are friendly and always happy to help. The food is good and nicely presented. But if you're visiting for the hotel experience, you're missing the point of coming to Pilanesberg. The game viewing is outstanding and the twice daily game drives were each unique and awe-inspiring. We had William as our ranger/driver for the 2 days we visited and were impressed with his knowledge of the park and animals. The diversity contained within the park means that you'll likely see a lot of different types of game within a short period.

Room Tip: Cabins on the perimeter fence line will be a longer walk to the main lodge buildings, but will affor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BA_Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
12.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
775 reviews
10.2 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
633 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
489 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#7 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
168 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivory Tree Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivory Tree Game Lodge

Property: Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Address: | Pilanesberg Game Reserve, Pilanesberg National Park 318, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ivory Tree Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the northern region of the Pilanesberg National Park lies an ancient amphitheatre and its in this basin, surrounded by volcanic spires and rolling savannah grassland, that Ivory Tree Game Lodge has been beautifully crafted. The central guest areas include lounges, bar, a dining room and feature rock pool. Small intimate guest areas have been created to retain warmth and seclusion for the individual guests. Sweeping patios provide the ideal venue for delicious English breakfasts and light luncheons with the boma reserved for fire-side dinners. 60 Luxury chalets have been carefully positioned along foot-hills ensuring optimal views of either the mountainous surrounds or the central open area. Each chalet featuring an outside shower, air-conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea and coffee making facility, has been tastefully decorated in earthly tones. This theme is carried through to the spacious bathroom, and it is here that you may choose to relax in your bath beneath a panoramic window or step out for an invigorating shower. Ivory Tree boasts a new wellness experience presenting a wide variety of treatment options designed to relax mind, body and soul. The unique design and position of the treatment rooms ensure uninterrupted views of the reserve. Ivory Tree presents generous bed capacity and has been carefully designed to ensure optimal guest privacy whilst being able to create unique incentive experiences. Whilst our attention is focused around close and unrestricted encounters with Africa’s big game, incentive experiences also include bush dinners, our own version of the amazing race, and numerous additional activities. The lodge also boasts an equipped conference facility. Striving to maintain high levels of personal attention and guest comfort, game drive vehicles are custom built ensuring optimal panoramic visibility. Amongst the most experienced in the Pilanesberg, our rangers and hosts are committed to binging you close encounters with a wide variety of big game, including the big 5, cheetah and wild dog, during morning and evening game drives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Ivory Tree Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivory Tree Game Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing