We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend out of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice weekend out of the city”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Positives:-
Close to Gauteng (2.5 - 3hrs drive) and easy access to lodge.
Malaria free area.
Big 5 game reserve.
Great staff who are friendly and attentive.
Spacious bedrooms with "outside showers".
Good Spa facilities & did a "couples treatment" in room with a nice bush view.
Pool with varied seating areas (to relax or have your meals).
Marimba band during lunch ..... very nice!
Conference rooms with TV's
Good last minute rates/specials available.
Negatives:-
Very large lodge (+60 rooms) with "resort" type decor.
We felt 50/50 about the food which was always served buffet style for all meals.

Room Tip: Large lodge, so some rooms can be some distance from the main area. Golf carts are however available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 682Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    185
    66
    13
    10
See reviews for
179
265
31
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

In August we spent two nights at this super hotel and enjoyed everything about it. I endorse everything that the recent reviews have noted, and would like to add that the staff were really good and saw to our every need. We especially enjoyed speaking to Janet. She is a great asset to your organisation.

Room Tip: We had room number 40 which had an uninterrupted view of the bush and we enjoyed the privacy and and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and i ended our trip to South Africa here and what a way to finish! We had initially planned on Kruger but due to my being pregnant had to find a Malaria-free Safari. This met our expectations and so much more.

The pricing was extremely reasonable for a safari experience and all that was included. We had Ferdi as our ranger and he was fantastic at finding game (right down to the hunt for the "cats" which was almost as much fun as the find). The food while buffet was plentiful and tasty. I really liked the snack options throughout the day as well. The pool was refreshing though cold in winter.

The rooms were cozy and romantic- loved the outdoor shower so you can hear the birds as you clean up! The views from the terraces are perfect for stargazing.

All of the staff were friendly & incredible. The spa was amazing & highly recommended.

It is a short drive (2 1/2hrs or so) from Johanesburg which is easier then Kruger by far. It was great to relax without TVs and internet to bog you down. Only suggestion is to include a bottle of water in the room which most hotels in S. Africa do as the norm. On a plus side for the hubby- water was the same price as beer & scotch!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijr117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in August and it was a fantastic experience!
The accommodation is beautiful with outside showers, big inside bath and nice seating area outside. The main lodge is also beautiful with different places to sit and relax.
As we were there during the winter the log fire was a nice feature in the main lodge to sit and have a drink near after dinner. Although it was colder going out on the game drives the staff made sure you were prepared and warm enough by bringing warm drinks and fleecy ponchos and blankets. All staff were polite and very helpful and our game ranger Mohammed was very knowledgeable about everything we saw on our drives. We have been on other safaris in Kenya but this provided a different but fantastic experience. We also had the couples spa experience which was amazing! very romantic and relaxing with views out onto the game reserve.
We went quad biking with our guide Thabang who took us through the local villages on an exciting drive! It was great fun!
Lots of other activities to do and morning and evening drives so you could never be bored.
All meals were also fantastic with a good variety of food. Our game ranger arranged for our game drive group to have a meal together on the last night which was a nice touch and great getting to chat more to him and other on the trip.
A wonderful and beautiful trip! We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirstandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had 8 adults from several continents who gathered for 4 nights at Ivory Tree Game Lodge in July 2012 and had an outstanding experience. Bottom line- we thought it was superb in every domain: (a) the guide; (b) the staff in general; (c) the game drives; (d) the lodge and accomodations, and (e) the food.

We went on 8 game drives during our stay with our guide, Evan. Your guide is your major contact with the lodge, and ours was superb. Evan was extremely knowledgeable about animals (and animal behavior) and was a delight. He was fun, interactive, very responsive to our requests, and just a wonderful human being; consider asking for him when booking your stay. More broadly, it is clear that a major emphasis of the lodge is having a friendly, helpful, informed staff overall; they created a very relaxing, pleasant enviroment. The game drives were great- twice a day for 3- 3.5 hours each. I wondered if we would see many animals and would they be at a great distance. We saw over 30 species of animals, many just a few feet from our vehicle- amazing. Others are more distant so take a camera with a good zoom. Also whereas other game parks are flat and terrain isn't so interesting, Pilanesberg has very nice hills, valleys, and pretty terrain, so great landscapes to enjoy. Plus it is malaria free, so no nasty pills to take. How long to stay there? We thought 4 nights was just right. It did not feel redundant- new animals, locations, and they behave differently on various occasions.

We thought the lodge itself was a great place. Each guest or couple has a separate cottage, with a very large bedroom, lovely bathroom, outdoor shower (yep, fine even in winter as middays get into 70s), and back terrace. All with a lovely African theme. The common areas of the lodge including dining areas, bar, lounge, etc. are all very attactive and relaxed, as is the outside area with pool and lounge chairs. Our group travels extensively internationally and we agreed the food was very good. Each meal in the winter was served as a buffet with 3 hot meals and lots of selections which were very well prepared. This included rather typical dishes along with excellent African specialties. Also light food before morning safari, afternoon tea, and hot chocolate or sherry after the evening safari (plus stops during each safari with beverages). Current chefs are excellent.

I will recommend Ivory Tree to friends and family and would gladly return if the opportunity permits. All exellent and nothing negative from our perspective.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the outer border of the property. That way your back terrace overlooks the game pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Overall; Very, very good.

Setting and Ambience: Excellent. Located in a little valley right next to the Reserve, with no view of the surrounding towns, immediate access to the reserve, lovely cabins laid out appropriately. Heating is good (we were there on the coldest day ever recorded in that part of Africa, including frozen rain!). The Main area is well laid out and there are extra activities available like drum-beating, local music, etc.
Animal Access: Excellent. The reserve has many animals and we were able to see a lot of them. We have a booklet with a map and with pages where we check off the animals we saw. Seven Lions the first morning! Elephants, giraffes, zebras, wildebeest, and much more.
Staff: Outstanding. The Rangers are very helpful and accessible. Our guide was Mohamed, a friendly, very competent and enjoyable person who took excellent care of us. The rest of the staff is also helpful and friendly and accessible. Our favorite waitress was the relibale and well-named Happy. ,This is a strong point.
Food: Reasonably good. Some highs (pork neck, breakfasts) and some lows (generally they do not do beef well).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AncientSpy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Ivory Tree for 2 nights after a meeting in Sun City; it was a wonderful little getaway and we would have loved more time to experience the game drives. Pilanesberg is beautiful; we loved the winter colors and seeing the beautiful animals and birds. The lakes are unique with plenty of vistas and lots of ‘bird photographers’ along the walkways waiting for the perfect shot.

The accommodations are very comfortable; the front porch very quite and relaxing in the mid-day. Showering under the dark sky with abundant stars was very special. The food was abundant, good quality. The staff was fairly attentive at mealtimes, and seemed to be quite available at other times. The second evening Boma dinner was very nice. Prior reviews have mentioned a waterhole at the lodge, we did not see this so not sure if it is actually there or not!

You won’t want to miss the early morning and late afternoon game drives; we couldn’t get enough. Following morning coffee, and making sure we were bundled up for the winter AM, we would head out before sunrise and see what the park had to offer. Some of the game was a bit elusive, but we enjoyed nonetheless. The game rangers are knowledgeable, but seem to divulge varying amount of information (our driver was quite ‘quiet’). I think we learned the most visiting with Janco following our second evening’s game drive. If you want to see some fabulous pics do check out the lodge facebook page, which is regularly updated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allygirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
12.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
776 reviews
10.2 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
633 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
489 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
168 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivory Tree Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivory Tree Game Lodge

Property: Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Address: | Pilanesberg Game Reserve, Pilanesberg National Park 318, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ivory Tree Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the northern region of the Pilanesberg National Park lies an ancient amphitheatre and its in this basin, surrounded by volcanic spires and rolling savannah grassland, that Ivory Tree Game Lodge has been beautifully crafted. The central guest areas include lounges, bar, a dining room and feature rock pool. Small intimate guest areas have been created to retain warmth and seclusion for the individual guests. Sweeping patios provide the ideal venue for delicious English breakfasts and light luncheons with the boma reserved for fire-side dinners. 60 Luxury chalets have been carefully positioned along foot-hills ensuring optimal views of either the mountainous surrounds or the central open area. Each chalet featuring an outside shower, air-conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea and coffee making facility, has been tastefully decorated in earthly tones. This theme is carried through to the spacious bathroom, and it is here that you may choose to relax in your bath beneath a panoramic window or step out for an invigorating shower. Ivory Tree boasts a new wellness experience presenting a wide variety of treatment options designed to relax mind, body and soul. The unique design and position of the treatment rooms ensure uninterrupted views of the reserve. Ivory Tree presents generous bed capacity and has been carefully designed to ensure optimal guest privacy whilst being able to create unique incentive experiences. Whilst our attention is focused around close and unrestricted encounters with Africa’s big game, incentive experiences also include bush dinners, our own version of the amazing race, and numerous additional activities. The lodge also boasts an equipped conference facility. Striving to maintain high levels of personal attention and guest comfort, game drive vehicles are custom built ensuring optimal panoramic visibility. Amongst the most experienced in the Pilanesberg, our rangers and hosts are committed to binging you close encounters with a wide variety of big game, including the big 5, cheetah and wild dog, during morning and evening game drives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ivory Tree Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivory Tree Game Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing