We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Pilanesberg, but overpriced”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pilanesberg National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spent two nights in a chalet over the Easter weekend. The chalet itself was pleasant enough, although quite dark and gloomy inside which is a shame when it's so nice and sunny outside. The facilities inside are good, if a little tired, with a small kitchen, braai and seating area outside, tv with dstv, and a large bathroom. The bedroom is also quite large, although the second sleeping area in the loft is really more suitable for children than adults.

The food at the restaurant was surprisingly good, and we ate there both nights. The breakfast buffet was also really good after going on an early morning game drive, especially if you could get an outside table in the sun. The hiking trails are also a nice touch, although not that easy to follow in places.

Despite this, we felt the chalets are overpriced, especially in comparison to what you pay in other National Parks in South Africa. Also, the resort is just outside the entrance gate to the park, so you need to pay the fees and go through the gate to go on a game drive - luckily one payment covered us for the 3 days we were there.

Overall, a convenient base for exploring Pilanesberg, and the cheapest place in the area, but the accommodation is still overpriced and looking a little tired. Next time we're in S Africa, we'll probably drive a little further and head to Kruger.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BalhamWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 299 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed in the tented bungalows, and although the accommodation was basic and the outside bathroom (a common solutionin SA parks, where en-suite bathroom is attached to the back of the tent) turned out to be communal bathroom 200 m away - overall we were happy with the stay. Food was good and the staff very flexible and accommodating.
Kids menu was a bit scant and bolognaise sauce was made on the base of previous day's chakalaka (not appreciated by our 5 year old...), but staff made alternative arangement and our son had some food of the main buffet free of charge.
What I often find in South Africa is that staff often do not take initiative to fix simple problems - this place was differnt in this way, hence the 4* despite some issues - staff in Manyane were very eager to please us and make sure we are happy.
Note to the chef...
PLEASE!!! DO NOT USE CHAKALAKA FOR KID'S BOLOGNAISE...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AM-Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed in a 4 sleeper chalet. It was clean and the kitchen was fully equiped for self catering. Just 2 minutes drive from the Park gate. the dinner and breakfast was really nice. The chalet is comfortable enough as luxury is not the reason to visit this place. Monkeys, Impalas and Warthogs are walking around. Overall a good value for money experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgetez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed for two nights in one of the Chalets of the Golden Leopard Resort attached to the Pilanesberg Nationalpark. The chalet consists of a sleeping room, kitchen, living area with TV and separate bath room. However the interior was old and shabby, although all facilities were apparently working. The inside of the room was dark and depressing.

The supermarket in the resort had only very limited products, no fresh fruit or food could be found.
The food and the service in the restaurant were good. Impalas, warthogs, baboons and many birds can be observed in the resort.

Room Tip: I recommend the resort only for camping or caravanning. But watch out for baboons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Campsites are not allocated. You get what you can get. The campingsites are overgrown with "dubbeltjies" (Burweed), so wearing shoes all the time is compulsory. Tents and ground sheets full of thorns. From Thursday at arrival, until Friday late afternoon there was no water in the camp, and no alternative arrangments was made. Every night, until Sunday night, the music of the local town could be heard, right through the night. The ablusion fascilitaties needs repairs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FdG7721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at a 4-bed Manyane Chalet on 4/5 April 2014, and found the chalet to be very run-down and shabby. The toilet didn't flush and we had to call for maintenance twice before they came, and even then it didn't work. The Camp itself is in a sorry state - the Aviary is a joke - completely neglected. Accommodation at Manyane is not cheap, and we found it very poor value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittyjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The campsite is overcrowded with not enough ablution facilities for the number of people they are cramming in there and the majority of the ablutions had leaking toilets and no water pressure in the showers, toilets were overflowing and blocked and often smelly. The water was always hot when we got to shower though and the staff were friendly and helpful. At no point did we see a single manager or supervisor during our stay. We camped for 10 days and in those 10 days none of the maintenance issues which we pointed out had been attended to. Monkeys and baboons are also a huge problem. Very disappointing as this was our holiday for the year! We won't be going back. We have also written to Golden Leopard resorts and have yet to receive a response. And a lot of the campers were foreign tourists - it was embarassing to have them receive such poor facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
7.8 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
691 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
837 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyane Resort
Manyane Resort
#12 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
94 reviews
10.4 mi away
Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatla Resort
Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatl...
#9 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane

Address: Rustenburg Square cnr Von Wielligh and Wolmar, Rustenburg, Pilanesberg National Park 0299, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: $82 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Going out for an extraordinary adventure often means stepping out of your comfort zone, but not at Manyane Resort in Pilanesberg, South Africa. A haven within the borders of Pilanesberg National Park, the resort embraces you and your party in a world of essential comforts that serves to highlight the raw beauty of your great escape. For starters, the resort offers a wide variety of lodging, from cottage-like Chalets and Safari Tents each furnished with a refrigerator, plus real beds to Caravan Sites and Campsites with electricity. These are then matched with facilities and services that you won’t usually associate with safari accommodations, such as a swimming pool, restaurant, and superette. With all these on hand, it’s easy to go to one of South Africa’s wildlife safaris and just enjoy its numerous outdoor diversions. After all, when the sun goes down and it’s time to retreat to a relaxing and convenient space, Manyane Resort is here to answer your most crucial needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing