We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“..if you want to disconnect from reality....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“..if you want to disconnect from reality....”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

..this place is for you!the setting is amazing as well as scenic views...everything is being taken care of by the friendly staff.
our safari guide evan is passionate and respectful of nature and animals and we learned so much from him,thank you so much and we hope to be back there soon!
marie-camille and alex

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    11
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
107
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family and I were there in November 2013 and we had the most amazing experience. Our safari was amazing, the food was wonderful and the drinks were always full thanks to Simon and Ernest.

We did all of our game drives with Evan who was unbelievably knowledgable and so patient with our strange questions.

The cabins were beautiful and the attention to detail throughout the entire lodge was unlike anything I've ever experienced before. I would absolutely go back to Tshukudu, in fact I wouldn't even consider going anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went for two night stay to tshukudu as a couple for a special weekend away. We missed the original transport from the lodge but the staff were very accommodating and sent an additional vehicle to collect us. We were welcomed with a drink, cold towel and an introduction to the schedule. Everyone was really friendly, Shawn especially, who was our guide throughout.

As it is a national park you can only go on the main tracks but soon able to go on management paths as the only lodge allowed. We felt we had a fantastic guide who was so well established in the park and took us to the best sitings. We caught an early morning lion siting and a lion kill that others had not.

The food was amazing. We had a dinner on our balcony which was just fantastic and at no extra charge. A bath had been run ready for a quick soak after safari before dinner. The wine was good and there were no restrictions on timing or volume. The variety and choice of food was really refreshing.

Great stay. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Without a doubt one of the most amazing things we have ever done! We were met by Evan who was our Ranger and he impressed us right from the start. Friendly, professional and extremely knowledgable. His love and respect for the animals and nature is admirable and we thoroughly enjoyed our time spend with him. It turned out that we were the only guests and as we were there to celebrate our anniversary Evan surprised us with a meal in our cabin, complete with rose petals, wood burning fire, bath drawn and two chefs cooking us a beautiful meal. We have never felt so spoiled and special. Evan and the rest of the staff there went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed the experience and even woke us up earlier than normal one morning as there were some lions spotted at the entrance to the camp! We were very fortunate and saw a number of animals each one as fascinating as the next. The attention to detail is second to none. Great job and thanks again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing with breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlienB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

There might be cheaper places to stay in Pilanesberg but Tshukudu was worth every penny in my opinion. The whole experience, from the high quality of the accommodation, to the views from the rooms, to the attention to detail from all the staff, to the delicious food prepared fresh every day from the chef, to the excellent knowledge of the drive guides, made my 2-day stay very memorable and will be an experience I'll never forget.

This was my first time in Africa and my first ever safari. Ivan was an amazing and very knowledgable guide and knew all the best spots to see the animals. I was very lucky on this trip and saw all the big animals (except for Buffalo). We even saw stuff that Ivan hadn't seen before, which included watching a full grown male lion climbing a tree to steal an impala that was left by a leopard the day before! I was very priviledged to see all the stuff we did.

Thanks to everyone at Tshukudu for making my trip the best weekend break EVER and it was one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. I have great memories that will last a lifetime. Thank-you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A MUST do if in South Africa....I will begin with our Ranger/Guide Evan...so knowledgeable...made our game drives fun and exciting. I learned so much from him, and great to see he has such passion for the animals, and a super personality...which made us all enjoy each drive!
Our cabins were lovely, comfortable, and a wonderful deck to sit out and watch nature.
Simon and Ernest were always ready to serve us lovely snacks, meals and cocktails, with loads of care .
I cannot wait to return!
Thanks Tshukudu..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great experience, professional rangers and the game drives are out of this world. The staff is friendly and joins the guests at meals time, to exchange stories and information. It makes the whole experience even more unique. Food is fantastic as well, and the whole package is really worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael18111974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
3.6 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
797 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
659 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
519 reviews
9.7 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
310 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
#3 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tshukudu Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshukudu Bush Lodge

Property: Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 6805, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tshukudu Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tshukudu Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tshukudu Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park
Tshukudu Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing