We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - been twice and will definetly go again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock...Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent - been twice and will definetly go again!”
Reviewed April 1, 2007

My mum n dad n me plus two other families went to stay at Bakubung and we thought it was great.

First of all, the check-in went very smoothly and the staff were very welcoming and hospitable. The rooms are beautifully designed and really capture the African theme. Also the fact that from your room you can look out to the wild is amazing and only a small 4ft fence seperates the hotel grounds and "the bush".

The staff are brilliant and cater to your every needs plus they always make conversation with a smile on their face. Getting them to sing you an African song is very worth while!

The food is really good and there is always a good selection at the buffet. The pool area is relaxing and clean and watching the monkeys come and go is very amusing.

Now on to the best part of the holiday...the safari's! We went on both the morning safari and the evening safari which were both amazing especially with the bush brai at the end of the evening safari. The guides are full of information and really do work hard to find you the best sightings.

We also visited Sun City which is 10 mins away from Bakubung in the car. It is great to go there for a day trip as the fake beach with gigantic waves is great fun and the walks you can go are interesting. However, we stayed in a hotel there for a couple of nights and unfortunetly we wished that we had stayed at Bakubung as it was not up to Bakubung's standards and we were struggling to find somewhere to go at night.

That was our only complaint of the holiday and it had nothing to do with Bakubung Bush Lodge!

  • Liked — the friendliness of the staff and the safari experiences
  • Disliked — the scorpion we found outside the door!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xnatzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    305
    69
    28
    13
See reviews for
346
184
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2007

We stayed at Bakubung Game Lodge in May of 2006. The rooms were decorated in an African decor and quite lovely. It felt very comfortable and made us feel like we were at home. The staff was quite friendly, the food choices were excellent. The lodge is close to Sun City which has lots to offer but can be quite hectic so it was nice to return to Bakubung Lodge.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank SOPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

We are a family of six who visited Bakubung last year and who are so laid back we are writing this review now. We visited South Africa for the first time and treated ourselves to a week at the Palace at Sun City first.
After a week of sumptuousness Bakubung seemed a little basic at first glance, but we quickly discovered the considerable charms of the lodge. The children enjoyed the thieving monkeys who roam the grounds and sneak into the rooms, the safaris were well run, and the pool area quite small but adequate and with natural rocks to leap off. The restaurant was excellent and the staff genuinely warm and friendly.

  • Liked — the staff and the location
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thestortfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

Spent 3 nights there. Good location and lodge more than adequate for needs. The complex has hotel type rooms for overseas tourists and separately there were a number of time-share chalets. Very safe complex and malaria free. As september still very much a low season and therefore only two game rides available each day either at 6am or 4pm. Very reasonable costs. Various game rangers, most of whom were really interested and very knowledgable. Unfortunately the female game ranger was probably the least interested and therefore a good idea to check the game ranger before booking. The food selection was excellent and staff were overall very friendly.

Worst issue is the transportation to and from J'burg airport to the lodge. The Megabus shuttle service is dreadful. They were late on departure and only delivers you to Suncity complex. Problems at the Suncity Complex gate as Suncity charges for entry. Nearly made to pay for simply transferring in Suncity to the scheduled Bakubung Shuttle. As Megabus late, missed shuttle and ending up waiting for 2 hours. Megabus also late on pick up, back to airport. Suggest sourcing a better form of transfer from J'burg airport for anyone that wants to try the lodge.

Slight problem of a power cut at lodge but does have a emergency generator. Unfortunately very slow internet access.

  • Liked — Games drives
  • Disliked — Transportation to and from lodge
  • Tips/Secrets — check transportation as 2.5 hours from J-burg airport
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Froggggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

We spent four nights in Bakubung in August 2006 and I could not fault the place one single bit. The staff were wonderful, the accoomdation was lovely, clean and authentic (i.e. sleeping under a thatch roof). The games drives were fantastic and the rangers were very knowledgeable and helpful. The place is so relaxing. We loved every minute of it. One of the best places I've ever stayed. The buffet meals are divine. You can eat as much as you want and breakfast and dinner are included in the price of your accomodation. All you pary for there is drink, lunch and the game drives. Stay here, you won't be disappointed and will come away relaxed and happy.

  • Liked — The staff and the food.
  • Disliked — Nothing really, it was all great.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own car if possible so you can explore the park on your own.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank radar0976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We loved our stay at this 5 star resort. Its luxury rooms were decorated in African style with beautiful finishes throughout.
The staff were extremely friendly, wanting to chat and offer their services.
The General Manager was always available and obviously kept a careful eye on the running of the resort.
The game drive was excellent in the capable hands of our game ranger, Gerrit. We were fortunate to see 4 out of the 5 BIG FIVE !
Dinner was served at The Boma in the bush after our 3 hour drive.

A well run luxury hotel that I will recommend highly.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank daltonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2006

We stayed here July 5th and 6th 2006. Our group had 2 rooms, 309 and 308 next to the main restaurant building. Room was very nice: animal print carpets, comfortabel king beds, folding screen doors in front of the tub, and a mere 10 feet of lawn between our porch and the electric fence for the game. The lodge surrounds a small finger of park that is well lit at night. Occasionally we saw various Bok there, but no big animals. Food in the hotel was great, with 3 well stocked buffet meals. Monkeys will visit at breakfast, or when anyone is at the patio tables. Small kids play area with a trampoline, and other play equipment. Access to the park is close, with a short 1 mile drive through open park. We took a game drive in the morning with a ranger, but saw just as much in our car later in the day ( more really since the animals don't seem to get up early on cold winter days). If you go in June-September, take warm clothes and a hat. Remeber to never get out of the car, except at the designated blinds/viewing areas. We loved it, and would happily return!

  • Liked — location near the park, room locations
  • Tips/Secrets — take afternoon game trips in winter!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptainCoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
659 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
2.6 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
712 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
310 reviews
5.5 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakubung Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakubung Bush Lodge

Property: Bakubung Bush Lodge
Address: Kubu Street | Bakubung Gate, Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bakubung Bush Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere two-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg and ten minutes from Sun City, lies a place of breathtaking beauty and serenity. A place called Bakubung Bush Lodge. Concealed in the rich expanses of the malaria-free Pilanesberg National Park, Bakubung, or "People of the Hippo", offers guests everything they need to get in touch with the bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bakubung Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakubung Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing