We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soho Hotel(Sun City)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane(Pilanesberg National Park)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (900)
    Filter reviews
    900 results
    Traveler rating
    439
    340
    76
    31
    14
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    439
    340
    76
    31
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssun citygame drivestime sharewatering holebush lodgebreakfast and dinnerlambgame reservewater holeelectric fencewild animalstennis courtsbuffet stylesouth africaself driveself cateringgame park
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    526 - 531 of 900 reviews
    Reviewed April 29, 2014

    Avoid this lodge you have truly better choice in the Pilanesberg Reserve.

    I am a true fan of the Pilanesberg Reserve and I already went in different lodges in it.

    I was interested to go to Bakubung to try their Boma inside the Reserve. This is an attractive part of their offer and on their website they mentioned “On Wednesday and Saturday nights an option is to book our bush braai at our Boma in the park, an incredible warm and rustic atmosphere in the heart of the park”.
    I called the day before to check our booking for the Braai and an extra game drive were correctly registered. Everything has been confirmed to me through the reception desk.
    The following day at our arrival the reception desk informed us the Braai has been cancelled because they didn’t reached the minimum number of 30 guests.
    This is totally unacceptable to use false arguments to attract potential customers and a dishonest practice regarding their competitors in the Pilanesberg Reserve.

    Rooms were not fancy and very dark and the food was on the low side.

    The worst has been the game drive experience. Instead of the usual game drive vehicle (10 people max) you sit in kind of truck able to accommodate around 20 people. This vehicle was very noisy and smelly. In addition the ranger was kind of an audio guide repeating some wikipedia facts about the different animals we met. She was driving too fast and some South African passengers had to keep yelling at her to stop and go back because they noticed some games.

    And what a strange idea to have a waterhole in the middle of the U-shaped lodge without any small light ???

    Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    6  Thank Worldcitizen1234
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 27, 2014

    After waiting years to realize our dream of going to the Bakubung Bush Lodge we were horrified to find out that the money and time was so not worth it. You pay a huge sum of money for nothing! The telephone in the room, also meant for emergencies, doesn't work. Oh, it was reported a while ago but no one can explain why it was never fixed. The answer you get is " oh sorry". Still not fixed! While looking for the telephone jack, we were stunned by the dirt under the bed. Gordon Ramsey would love this with his blue light! It When housekeeping finally came to clean under the bed they didn't even bother to apologize. It was actually an effort for them to vacuum again. You should have heard the dirt and objects being sucked up. When getting wifi, be sure to ask for all days staying, they conveniently put in your departure date as being one day, although your wifi card says three. Again the answer is "oh sorry". I just get so annoyed that we have to pay five star rates for two star service.

    Room Tip: Ask first what room works and which room is clean.
    • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    7  Thank Asjas1001
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Joel P, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

    Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay at Bakubung Lodge.

    I have noted with concern, your comments and will certainly follow up immediately and ensure that the standard is improved. It is consernig for me on the housekeeping standard and responce and will take emediate action.

    Constructive comments assist us in maintaining our high standards.

    We look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung in the not too distant future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 19, 2014

    After reading some of the previous reviews, I am surprised by the less than satisfied guests. As a consumer you have to do your homework and book accommodation knowing what it is and what it has to offer. We stayed at Sun City in 2007 and concluded that if we ever had the opportunity to return we would stay within Pilanesberg Nat. Park. We had visited the national park in '07 and knew that this was not a safari experience like Kruger with its small 'far more expensive' game lodges. After researching the options available within the park, Bakubung seemed to be the best choice. Again, we knew it was a large resort when booking and not a small safari lodge. Booking through Hotels.com was convenient and the best price we found for the resort after checking many websites. The standard room impressed us both as the furnishings, draperies and fabrics were of quality. The bathroom could be opened up to the bedroom by louvered doors if you wish as you will see in the photos. There is a separate shower and tub and the room was 'spotlessly' clean. The building we were in is 2 stories with rooms on the ground floor offering a terrace and the rooms above a balcony. The game drive that was included in our rate was well worthwhile and the guides are very good thereby thoroughly enjoying the game drives. No expectations to see the Big 5 however we did see everything but a leopard. We found the breakfast and dinner buffet that was included, to be very good, fresh ingredients, simple food but very tasty given the volume produced and location of the resort. We were pleased as the restaurant exceeded our expectations - no complaints. Bottom line we were happy we chose Bakubung, very much enjoyed our 3 night visit and would definitely return.

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank flymeaway2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Joel P, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

    Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay at Bakubung Lodge.

    I have noted with concern, your comments and will certainly follow up immediately and ensure that the standard is improved.

    Constructive comments assist us in maintaining our high standards.

    We look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung in the not too distant future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 15, 2014

    Booked for one night, arrived at 2pm after long drive and told couldn't have room until 4pm. Front desk not overly welcoming.

    Had buffet lunch which was less than inspiring, and buffet very similar for dinner, with staff members who were just not interested at all. As it's half board I guess the tips are less than usual!

    Game drive included in price was the best part - 3 hours with knowledgeable guide who was in contact with other drivers in park to make sure we got the big 5... Got some great close ups!

    Location for self drive couldn't be better as well.

    Room not great and also not clean. Seemed more of a family hotel than for serious game driving / relaxing break.

    Could be so much better if the staff showed more interest and seemed a little happier to be there!!

    • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Cliff T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Joel P, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

    Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay at Bakubung Lodge.

    I have noted with concern, your comments and will certainly follow up immediately and ensure that the standard is improved.
    Constructive comments assist us in maintaining our high standards.

    We look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung in the not too distant future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 7, 2014

    Wow! It's amazing! If you're a nature lover, en love being near nature, this is your place to stay! Oh, and it's near Pilansberg National Park - a place to be when an animal and nature lover! Their restaurant is to die for, and I totally LOVE their milkshake, but don't forget to try their strawberry deceries!! ♡

    • Stayed: April 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank WeirdoQiie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Joel P, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

    Thank you for taking time to give us feedback Positive feedback on your recent stay at Bakubung Lodge.And will ensure your comments are passed on to the staff as it always uplifts their spirits knowing they are doing a great job welldone.

    Joel Papenfus
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews