We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow - fantastic game lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakubung Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Murnau, Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wow - fantastic game lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My first time at a game lodge, and it exceeded all my expectations.
Rooms: very spacious, fantastic combination of authentic (high thatched ceilings, wood) and modern (super modern bathrooms) - appreciated having the atmosphere of the bush combined with really comfortable luxury.
Lobby/Restaurant: Loved the outdoor seating areas, where you could relax in really comfortable lounge furniture and enjoy gorgeous views of the landscape and animals. Buffet breakfast had wide selection and nice, fresh foods. Bush braai dinner fantastic -! Also mid-day snacks like grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches very nice.
Spa: A dream! Treated myself to an African Signature massage, one of the best of my life.
Game Drive: Great experience. Experienced guide who is clearly passionate about what he does.
Don't have any otherAfrican bush adventure experiences to compare this to - but found it just fantastic!

Room Tip: top floor rooms feature very high ceilings and view of open thatched roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebie_MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    283
    67
    21
    12
See reviews for
320
169
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked into unit 229 on Friday and we went to dinner on Saturday evening in the Restaurant.We were away for an hour and when we returned we found that they broke into our unit through bedroom door.We lost cameras,cell phones,i pads etc .Goods valued at R250000 was stolen,
The police came out and security was unable to find the goods.We feel unsafe in such a nice resort

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in August. The lodge is pleasant, with a nice bar and restaraunt. Breakfasts are substantial. Dinner menus by buffet are very similar every night, think roast meats. By the 5 th day it looks the same. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, and beds are large. The lodge has a swimming pool, tennis courts, table tennis, a small spa, a bouncy castle for the kids. There is a water hole outside which attracts some animals mostly water buck and a few wilder beast. The game drives are good and Jerad was an excellent ranger with an extensive knowledge of the park and the animals. We did see the big 5. One animal you will probably not see is the cheetah. A comfortable lodge. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor facing the water hole is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAJR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
175 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location in the south of Pilanesberg and close to Sun City. Free game drives every day is great -especially because the drivers know of recent sightings. Buffet is great. Only recommendations I would have is more acitivities for older children (putt-putt and trampoline), rooms are bit small and the fact that you can not leave your balcony door open (and I wasn't warned) because the naughty monkeys sneak in and steal the sugar/coffee

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LBdiscoveries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and the rooms were plush with beautiful view, we ate breakfast outside and looked at the most lovely landscape with occasional visits from the wild life. The buffet is amazing, service superb. The safari itself is predominant with elephants, some zebras, some antelopes, buffalo, but unfortunately we did not see any lions or tigers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madparik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived on Saturday 31st Aug for a 1 night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were checked in as soon as we arrived and shown to our room which was bright, airy, comfortable and immaculately clean with an amazing view over the watering hole and the mountains. We booked via Bushbreaks.co.za and they had informed the lodge that it was our wedding anniversary and the staff had placed chocolate fondue and a bottle of champagne in the room for us! We had booked on the evening game drive and were taken around Pilanesberg by the fantastic ranger Cathy - she had so much knowledge about all the animals and nothing was too much trouble for her. On our arrival back at the lodge the staff had then placed rose petals and chocolates on our bed! Such wonderful touches to make things feel even more special. We chose to eat in the restaurant that evening and the food was amazing - buffet style but all fresh and hot with a huge choice of starters, salads, mains and desserts. Breakfast was the same buffet style again with plenty of choice of fresh foods and cereals. A fantastic weekend away. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family suffered big losses resulting from a forceful break into our unit, on the first evening of our stay at Bakubung in a matter of 60min while we went to dinner at the resort restaurant 500m away. Despite locking away what we could fit in the safe, and placing bags in cupboards which could not lock - we still suffered large losses as per the list given to the police. The theft was very focussed with specific items targeted in the main bedroom after gaining entry through breaking the patio door. Upon discovery of the incident I immediately reported it to resort security and asked that management and police gets notified soonest. We had no choice at that stage but to sleep in the unit with a broken door and while resort security undertook to place extra guards there, my family and I did not feel safe at all. We were moved on request to a different unit the next day but checked out earlier than our booking period as we still did not feel safe. The resort apologised but have not assumed any responsibility or liability for our losses. Despite our experience a similar incident apparently occurred again in the same week to another resident. Bakubung allows free access into the resort to the general public, something, amongst other things, we were not made aware off. Please be warned.

Room Tip: Be sure to check patio doors of your unit as they can be broken easily to gain entry.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank thinusvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel P, Director of Operations at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We acknowledge this unfortunate incident at Bakubung Lodge and it is a sad reality that even fenced areas is no deterrent for any criminals.

We have been in contact the our guests on a regular basis and to keep them up-dated of our investigations and progress in the matter – What Mr Van School failed to mention is that our own security, through constant vigilance and investigations have apprehended the criminals and they have been handed over to the local police for investigation and charging – these criminals were not from the area and came in from our neighbouring territory.

We have in the process recovered some of the items taken from our guests, and we are hopeful that through the court proceedings, we will recover the balance of the stolen goods.
We would like to apologise to the Van Schoor family and assure all our hotel guests and timeshare Owners that we are, and always be vigilant, in our efforts to keep them safe. As is common practice in all hotels worldwide we believe it is prudent, and encourage all guests, to keep items of value locked away in either the safes provided in the rooms or larger items at the safes in the administration building.

Group Operations Manager
Gert Brumme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
2.1 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cabanas
Cabanas
#5 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakubung Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakubung Bush Lodge

Property: Bakubung Bush Lodge
Address: Bakubung Gate, Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bakubung Bush Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere two-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg and ten minutes from Sun City, lies a place of breathtaking beauty and serenity. A place called Bakubung Bush Lodge. Concealed in the rich expanses of the malaria-free Pilanesberg National Park, Bakubung, or "People of the Hippo", offers guests everything they need to get in touch with the bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bakubung Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakubung Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing