We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the Bush”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 days in January and were very happy with all things Bakubung.
The guided safaris were informative and entertaining, food top notch with wide selection and rooms above expectation. Great place to get away.

Room Tip: ask for a room tha does not have a tree obstructing the watering hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 819 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is my first visit to Bakubung and will not be my last. Wow what a beautiful lodge, the rooms are perfect overlooking a watering hole with plenty of game and birds. They are large and tastefully decorated with all the facilities you need, there is a turn down service at night where tea coffee etc. is replenished. The buffet breakfast and buffet evening meal was great with a good variety. The staff are excellent, especially Andre van der Brink who went the extra mile and assisted me when i was bitten by a spider and took me to the clinic at Sun City,
The location of this lodge, on the border of the Pilanesberg National Park makes for a peaceful stay but with the excitement of the game drives to see the Big 5.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannesburgPommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Best place ever. Just returned from second trip here. Love the place. Warm wonderful staff who love the animals, great safari's with animals at your door. The staff all love the animals and are happy. Best to get self catering which are hard to reserve- but this place is terrific

Room Tip: If possible stay as close to the wattering hole as you can. Sit at night and listen to the sounds. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhoesq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Bakubung is paradise in the bush and all within an easy drive from Johannesburg. This is a beautiful, picturesque National Park, with a variety of self drive routes through the Park to give you your own Game experience at your own pace, specializing in your own Game choice to sit and view. Game Drives were excellent with very competent Rangers with exceptional, deep knowledge of the Game and the Bush in general - especially Jarred, who is first class. The well appointed bedroom for Disabled Guests made my stay with a disabled sister much easier to manage and the use of the Lodge wheelchair was also so very useful . This was my 3rd visit in a year and will return again. Well done to all.

Room Tip: Should you have any form of disabllity ask to be placed in Room 301. Perfectly fitted out for a comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I visited this location with my friends and young children for lunch. Restaurant overlooks the park and animals often approach the lodge. Food is wonderful and grounds are superb. Highly recommended as a st point during your Pilanesberg safari.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Bakubung is located very close to SunCity entertainment resort in the Pilanesberg-True South African hospitality characterised our Bakubung experience- what a lovely stay we had with our 2 young children! The rooms have 2 3/4 beds - a bit tight squeeze if 2 adults share a bed! But no family rooms are available and we had to share the room with our children which can get a bit overcrowded- but the amount of activities made up for this as we did not get time to spend in our room!! Game drives with very friendly and knowledgeable rangers made it a sure high light when searching for the big 5 of Africa!! We saw so many animals my children were thrilled every time a new specie was spotted! The game viewing arranged by the lodge was a fabulous experience coming up close to a herd of elephants - breathtaking!!! After this thrilling experience a bush barbeque was held where traditional south african cuisine was enjoyed! During the morning we spent Our time at the lodge where our children enjoyed the swimming pools- where from you over look a watering hole
and spot some wild life while swimming! The food is buffet style and pure indulgence! Very friendly staff that rounds off a perfect getaway! For a 2-3 night stay this is a lodge worth a visit! The stay was comfortable and rooms clean!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laugho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel leaves little to desire! The food was amazing, the rooms simply beautiful, and located in the reserve park...well that speaks for itself. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I would stay here again in an instant if I were to return!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeRaeJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
682 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
2.6 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
347 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
738 reviews
7.4 mi away
Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatla Resort
Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatl...
#9 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakubung Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakubung Bush Lodge

Address: Kubu Street | Bakubung Gate, Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: $307 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bakubung Bush Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere two-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg and ten minutes from Sun City, lies a place of breathtaking beauty and serenity. A place called Bakubung Bush Lodge. Concealed in the rich expanses of the malaria-free Pilanesberg National Park, Bakubung, or "People of the Hippo", offers guests everything they need to get in touch with the bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bakubung Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakubung Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing