We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAKUBUNG RE-VISITED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our annual visit to this favourite haunt confirms our previous impressions as a premier bush location, well equiped and constantly maintained.

Rooms are well appointed, with management happy to oblige when called upon.

A great location to explore the many wildlife attrations in the Pilanesberg Game Reserve and adjoining Sun City complex.

We will return awain and again.

Room Tip: Pick a chalet that allows unrestricted views down the valley and that also overlooks the small dam o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rhino_Horn_JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

We are dleighted that you enjoyed your stay at Bakubung and
hope that you will visit us oftern in the future.

Thank you for taking to time too give us such positive feedback.

Kind regards

Joel Papenfus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 842 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We visited the lodge for two nights with our two children (6 and 17), and had to share a double room with two beds next to each other. Our room was on ground floor, which was great for we could get to the "big 5 fence" in no time and got to see a lot of animals. The room was very small and quit dated. Uncomfortable mattresses, lumpy cushions and very old polycotton linen, which gave us little rest at night. The appliances were very old, starting with poor reception of prehistorical TV set and very noisy aircon. Housekeeping was average, with poorly vacuumed floors and no change of towels. The worst was the odor in the bathroom, which we reported, but was not eliminated even after cleaning. We took half board package with breakfast and dinner included. The food was good, but not as good as it used to be. The highly anticipated bush braai was quit a big disappointment with no entertainment and not a single offering of game. The place has really gone down in the past 7 years and is in desperate need of refurbishment.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank CMVDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for the feedback. I am disappointed that you did not find everything
satisfactory when you stayed with us at Bakubung. The points you mentioned have
been passed on to my departmental mangers, so that they rectify any shortcomings.

I would like to advise that we are in the process of putting new 32" LCD TV's in all the hotel rooms, along with new duvet covers for all rooms.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay, as this assists
us in maintaining our high standards.

We do hope that you will visit Bakubung Lodge again.

Kind regards

Joel Papenfus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A return visit to Bakubang. Enjoyed the food and service. Can't understand why after the second night one must buy bottled water for the room. Thought this would come each night with the room. Eldest daughter of 4 years really enjoyed her stay.

Room Tip: Take a ground floor room when opting for the hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Bakubung Lodge thank you for your positive feedback. My appologies for the water and is inclusive as you said and informed the housekeeper of your situation. We rely on guest feedback to enble us to improve our service and standards. Once again thank you. Best Regards Joel Papenfus General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Winter time is the best time to visit Bakubung Bush Lodge and the Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa. The reason being that it is not to warm and the bushes is not so dense thus your chances of seeing more animals is much better

Room Tip: During the winter months June - July the best chalets are the 200 series because the afternoon sun s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BraamSwanepoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Bakubung Lodge thanks you for your positive feedback. We rely on guest feedback to enble us to improve our service and standards. Once again thank you. Best Regards Joel Papenfus General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

As a timeshare owner I am pleased to say that I have experienced all Bakubung has to offer for many years. And I love it so much I have cancelled my RCI membership! Our last visit during September 2012 was after the most recent unit refurbishments and I am pleased with the results and feel I can see where my special levy was spent. The changes in the bathrooms are super with attention to the smallest detail including shelving above the basin - very nice! Our stays at Bakubung are always relaxing. We love the flow of welcome between the hotel and time share guests and I can only say that our experince of the staff has always been positive from the welcome at reception to housekeeping and maintenance. After a particularly severe thunderstorm our power cable was affected and maintenance staff were taking quite long to fix it as they had to go and buy something - just as I was wondering how we were going to prepare our dinner, the Maintenance Manager knocked on our door to say he had arranged a complimentary dinner at the hotel restaurant for the four of us - what a wonderful way of dealing with the inconvenience! And by the time we got back everything was in perfect working order too! I am delighted at the high level of attention to detail on the property. My ONLY gripe is there is not a lot of space to get a good walk and there is no gym so one tends to walk around and around the little route between the cottages - I am sure this could be resolved with a little creative thinking! Oh - and I do think the spa at the resort is very pokey and rather over-priced - a couples treat ended up in two separate booths and my son had his massage interupted several times for the masseuse to answer the telephone and the door - not good!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer-Sannieshof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Bakubung Lodge thanks you for your positive feedback. We rely on guest feedback to enble us to improve our service and standards. Once again thank you. Best Regards Joel Papenfus General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel as part of a small conference. I have stayed at a number of small, private lodges within game reserves and wasn't sure that I would enjoy the hotel atmosphere but I thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. The food was excellent including the coffee/tea breaks, the staff were generally helpful and cheerful and the accommodations were lovely (although I don't understand the purpose of the clear glass door to the toilet room?) and well serviced. One distressing thing - I asked the front desk for a wakeup call for the game drive the first morning - no problem. The second morning I used the automated system on the phone - no call and missed the drive. When I complained to the front desk, the staff member told me the system didn't work (no kidding!). I would strongly suggest that the management either completely disable the system or provide appropriate wake-up call instructions at the front desk and on the phones. Had this been my only opportunity to see game I would have been very, very unhappy with the hotel. That said, the few drives I did with Jan were wonderful - great spotter and great teacher.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Bakubung Lodge thanks you for your positive feedback. We rely on guest feedback to enble us to improve our service and standards. My appologies conserning the Game drive you mist due to the Wake up call system and even more the responce form the Staff Memeber on the Desk and I have taken emediate corrective action and system is up and running. Once again my appolgie and thank you. Best Regards Joel Papenfus General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed a week at the Bakubung Lodge with our children.The 3 bedroom en suite units are special ,clean,well maintained ans spacious.The location is next to the fence of Pilansberg game reserve and game like elephants,zebras and various buck types can be seen from the lodge.The units are serviced daily

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Bakubung Lodge thanks you for your positive feedback. We rely on guest feedback to enble us to improve our service and standards. Once again thank you. Best Regards Joel Papenfus General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
695 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
2.6 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
224 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
370 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakubung Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakubung Bush Lodge

Address: Kubu Street | Bakubung Gate, Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: $339 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bakubung Bush Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere two-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg and ten minutes from Sun City, lies a place of breathtaking beauty and serenity. A place called Bakubung Bush Lodge. Concealed in the rich expanses of the malaria-free Pilanesberg National Park, Bakubung, or "People of the Hippo", offers guests everything they need to get in touch with the bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bakubung Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakubung Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing