We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Bakubung Hotel and time share facilities are excellent. The gardens are well kept and bar a few minor oversights our stay was most memorable. The view from the Pool and Bar are unmatched in this world, and the lamb on a spit caused me to over indulge. I must however comment on the adjoining Pilansberg Game Park which is deteriorating rapidly. Road are almost unusabale in places, the park toilets are now becoming a disgrace (The Lenong toilets are disgusting) and the only place to stop and have something to eat, the Pilansberg Centre, is closed, with no notices at any of the gates to warn you that there are no facilities open.Legacy Hotels, Leopard Resorts and Sun Interational need to do something about it too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but if there is a conference on stick to the two side blocks and not the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bggl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Bakubung Lodge thanks you for your positive feedback. We rely on guest feedback to enble us to improve our service and standards. I will definately inform the North West Park Board Manager on your comments conserning the condition of the Roads. Once again thank you. Best Regards Joel Papenfus General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 819 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

This was my second visit to this bush lodge and would say its lost a little of what made it special from the first visit. There seemed to be a less freindly atmosphere with the staff and less attention to detail in house keeping. Like removing all our used towels but not replacing them and then being told they would drop some clean ones up to the chalet at 5pm, only little things but its the little things that turn a good holiday into a great one.
The organised game drives were excellent and our driver "Peter" was really clued up about everything and knew where to be to see the wildlife. Unfortunately it was his last day when we left he was moving in to catering at the lodge.
Short distance from Sun City with its artifical beach attraction which is O.K. if you like the beach but really a bit glittzy, didn't really do it for me on either occasion

Room Tip: Watch out for the monkey's coming into the ground floor chalets in search of food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Archy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Bakubung Lodge thanks you for your positive feedback. We rely on guest feedback to enble us to improve our service and standards. I will definately inform the Housekeeper on your comments and take corrective action. Once again thank you. Best Regards Joel Papenfus General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My new in-laws booked us a weekend stay here as a wedding gift for my husband and I. It was perfect get away for the few days we had left in South Africa. It was about a 1.5hr drive from central Johannesburg, which was great–to feel like we got a mini 'safari' as we didn't have the time to go to Kruger National. The accommodations were very clean, modern, comfortable and on arrival we had a nicely chilled bottle of sparkling red wine (perhaps part of the Valentine weekend package we had?). The bathroom had nice amenities, including bath salts. I found that the water smelled a little of dirt, (still clean!) so the bath salts really helped in making it smell nice. The pool is very nice and relaxing. The food was quite good, I am usually not a fan of hotel buffet style food, but Bakubung had a great selection and very tasty, I was very happy with the food there and the staff was very friendly. The lunch meal cost was not included in our package, it was on the pricier side, but still very good food. The massage at the spa was not the best I have had and the service was mediocre, they could have been a bit friendlier. There are 2 game drives, they have one very early in the morning and at dusk. We saw plenty of animals and the guide was very knowledgable. Loads of adult and baby zebras, elephants, boks, giraffes, rhinos, wildebeest and all kinds of birds. There was an incredible sunset and the landscape was stunning. We unfortunately didn't see any lions, but vocalization was heard and we were keeping our eyes peeled in the dark, which was still quite fun to do.
Overall excellent experience, and conveniently distanced from Joburg. It was a great getaway for us, who didn't have time to travel too far.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Bakubung Lodge thanks you for your positive feedback. We rely on guest feedback to enble us to improve our service and standards. I will definately inform the spa manager on your comments and take corrective action. Once again thank you. Best Regards Joel Papenfus General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Lovely hotel with stunning rooms and bathroom and the view over the watering hole is delightful. The food was really good with lots of choice and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The game drives were a huge success - we saw lions!!! I would love to go back and would definitely recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Bakubung Lodge thanks you for your positive feedback. We rely on guest feedback to enble us to improve our service and standards. Best Regards Joel Papenfus General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

A great Lodge for a getaway to the bush without giving up the luxuries. Accommodation, service and food were excellent, game drives were great, and the braai dinner in the bush was unforgettable. The only criticism was a section of tarred road in the Park was dreadful. We will certainly return

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Bakubung Lodge thanks you for your positive feedback. We rely on guest feedback to enble us to improve our service and standards your comments has been passed on to PARKS BOARD Conserning Condition of the Park roads. Best Regards Joel Papenfus General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

When I tried to book online the website kept saying my card was denied which I knew was wrong. The website isn't designed for those with American billing address-no place to put our State. I phoned into the Lodge and inquired about it and was given a reservation and I asked what all came with the stay. I was told that evening meals were included as well as one game drive per day. I said great and was told that I would be emailed their banking details in order to pay. I waited and nothing so I ohoned again and was told not to worry pay when we arrive. A couple of days later I was called and told I would have to go to the bank and pay their account or my reservation would be given away. I waited again and no baking details were sent. I phones the next day and explained everything and was told it was ok pay when I arrive. Well I arrived and gave my credit card, got to our room and went on our game drive--Again thinking it was included. Well we decided to stay another night and they were very accomendating. I checked out on the 4th day and thinking I was just paying for the extra night. I got home and checked my bank account and I was charged for the origional 2 nights and then was charged again not only for the 3rd night but all the game drives. I questioned when I was checking out why game drives were listed but was given no response. I am furious because between the many phone calls I had and the 3 people I checked in and out with --NOT one of them said the game drives were extra and there was no pricing listed at the desk either. On the form they ask you to fill out it dosen't say there is a charge. BEWARE

Room Tip: get one facing the pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank not2pleased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Bakubung Lodge thanks you for your feedback. We rely on guest feedback to enble us to improve our service and standards your comment s has been passed on for followup we appolgise for the adminstrative error. If you would be so kind to contact us for a refund on your game drives.

Best Regards

Joel Papenfus General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Recently held a conference there early in March. Overall the service and quality of location was very good. Some issue over room maintenance which should have been resolved immediately but took several requests to resolve. Just received feedback from hotel which I guess shows they do read the surveys left in the room.
Location is great if you want to see game etc and would recommend as an alternative to the 'plastic' sun city down the road.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakubung L, General Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Bakubung Lodge thanks you for your positive feedback. We rely on guest feedback to enble us to improve our service and standards your comment s has been passed on to our facilities manager for followup . Best Regards Joel Papenfus General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
682 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
2.6 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
347 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
738 reviews
7.4 mi away
Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatla Resort
Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatl...
#9 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakubung Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakubung Bush Lodge

Address: Kubu Street | Bakubung Gate, Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: $307 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bakubung Bush Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere two-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg and ten minutes from Sun City, lies a place of breathtaking beauty and serenity. A place called Bakubung Bush Lodge. Concealed in the rich expanses of the malaria-free Pilanesberg National Park, Bakubung, or "People of the Hippo", offers guests everything they need to get in touch with the bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bakubung Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakubung Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing