We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in the wilderness!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Comfort in the wilderness!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Bakubung Bush Lodge in October, as we wanted to use the nearby Pilanesberg National Park. The lodge is a little tricky to find as our sat-nav was not the easiest to use, but we finally got there having driven direct from Jo'burg airport after a night flight. Reception is staffed by some very friendly folk, who advised us that as we had arrived far too early, the rooms would not be ready for a couple of hours, but we expected that, and decamped to the pool to relax after the journey.

Unfortunately, it was Saturday, and the place was full of families with their kids, so it was a bit noisy, but after a beer everything seemed better! The Bush Lodge is a combination of hotel and time-share/owned properties, so if you are there over a weekend, it can get quite busy as the owners come up for the weekend to relax. It seems to be quieter during the week.

The room, when we got it, was a good size, with all the stuff we needed. The only minor issue we had was that the door lock was particularly difficult to operate, and when we advised the maintenance people, they advised that this was because the rooms had just been refurbished, and all the locks were like that. Not particularly helpful!

The lodge is on the edge of the park, and is arranged in a horse-shoe shape around a watering hole, and it was really nice to see the family of warthogs who wander in during the evenings. There are a fair number of animals that do come into the central area, but there is an electric fence all the way around, so no problems there.

You pay a fee to use the park, but that is very cheap, and then you can drive in. Lots of people used the park with normal cars, but we had booked a 4x4, so were able to use some of the more challenging drives, which meant we got to see quite a bit more, including rhino, elephants, lion, etc.

Food at the lodge is good; breakfasts are well presented and plentiful; dinners are buffet style but with a fair amount of choice, and the wine list is extensive and not expensive. Twice a week they do a Braai in the bush, but you have to book early for that.

All in all, a good trip!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soulsease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    302
    69
    26
    12
See reviews for
338
180
37
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We hosted an overseas guest for 3 nights at the Bakubung Bush Lodge, and had a wonderful time. Our hotel room was very comfortable, and I loved the wooden louvre doors to the bathroom, which could be left open. The buffet was impressive, with abundant, good food. The staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi is free in the hotel rooms, which is a plus in SA. I was somewhat wary about visiting Pilanesberg, as we know and love Kruger, but was impressed by what we saw: my first brown hyena in the wild and nine lions were the highlights. The open game drives were good, but would prefer smaller, quieter vehicles. We did some great game viewing on our own. We didn't go with our kids, but the setup is very child friendly, and a good way to introduce children to the bush. We will certainly be back. Tip for travellers: take warm gear for the evening game drives, as it is chilly on open vehicles once the sun goes down, no matter how hot the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RivaAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stay in Bakubung Bush Lodge in July 2011 with 2 children and my partner's mother. We took a self catering 2 room cottage with a sofa bed in living room. it is truly a comfortable cottage that is warm during winter. Every morning there are cleaning services from friendly staff. You wake to the sound of birds, and you can just open the window and you can see zebra, blou wilderbeast, bok and sometimes even rhino. During the day, you can drive to Pilanesberg Game Reserve and discover the big 5, in the evening, you can take a walk around the lodge or maybe just braai (barbecue) by your cottage. At night you can laze around the pool area or maybe in the lodge cafe / bar or also watch TV in the room.
It is truly an amazing place to stay if you really wants to be close enough to nature.
Definitely will come back for more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixie-alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed three days at the Bakubung Game Lodge, the hotel was recently updated and was very modern. You are surrounded by a 360* electric fence. Within minutes of checking in we saw the residents monkey's. The game department was fantastic. Warden Peter One was amazing, he new his stuff and has been doing it for 20 years and is shows. The front desk knew us by name and was a pleasure and very accommodating. The rooms were very nice, the AC leaked a little bit on to the floor, but I think it was because we left it arctic in the room. Internet was free and fast, was able to make skype calls no problem. There is little to no cell service. There is not much to do by relax and enjoy nature as a Bush lodge should be, there is nothing close to the hotel so make sure you bring all that you need. Only complaint was the pool that was freezing, so we could not get in it. Food was wonderful and vast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksigdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We spent two nights with our 2 daughters in a spacy room with two king size beds. The room had a shower, a tub, a fridge, coffee and tea facilities and a little terrace with furniture..

We especially enjoyed the fabulous breakfast and dinner buffet. We booked two safaris and particularly appreciate the tour with Oliver who is truly a great and informative ranger!
Great game reserve, we saw the big five and many more from very close!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gicabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed in this bush lodge for 2 nights, the lodge provided 2 game drives with free shuttle bus to Sun City which is less than an hours drive from this lodge. internet is also free. room i stayed in was big enough & can accommodate a small family. food was good and vegetarian friendly. the best part of the stay was the game drives we were allotted a big van as our group was about 12 guests. the ranger was very friendly and knowledgeable. he had answers to every silly questions that we asked. the staffs wee friendly and overall i would rate this as a 4+* lodge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barani007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We a group of six senior citizens from India touring South Africa, booked The Bakubung Bush Lodge, at Pilanesburg (near Sun-City) for Two nights from 15th to 17th Sept. 2011. This hotel is one of the Legacy group of hotels, well known for their business acumen in hospitality industry.
The reception took minimum time to check-in so that we could enjoy the four rooms on arrival. The staff is outstanding, very friendly prompt and accommodating. The rooms were spacious, clean & nicely decorated. We appreciate that the Hotel provides Complimentary Tea/coffee facility, with hot water kettle in each room! I credit the management to provide free mineral water in our rooms. The hotel provides a very nice spread for breakfast buffet - full English plus! Restaurant had great food options. Generally the staff is always ready to please and offer extra service with a smile. The housekeeping staff was great & not to forget a piece of chocolate every night.

Pilanesburg National Park has very small population of wild-life as compared to The Masai Mara & Lake Nakuru National Parks in Kenya or The Sarengeti & Ngorongoru in Tanzania in East Africa. The Bakubung Bush Lodge has a very beautiful layout & setting fully geared up for tourism! I strongly recommend to stay at The Bakubung Bush Lodge, at Pilanesburg, an experience which is worth its price.
Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daganagpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
645 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
2.6 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
303 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
705 reviews
5.5 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakubung Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakubung Bush Lodge

Property: Bakubung Bush Lodge
Address: Bakubung Gate, Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bakubung Bush Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere two-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg and ten minutes from Sun City, lies a place of breathtaking beauty and serenity. A place called Bakubung Bush Lodge. Concealed in the rich expanses of the malaria-free Pilanesberg National Park, Bakubung, or "People of the Hippo", offers guests everything they need to get in touch with the bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bakubung Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakubung Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing