We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place for Game Drive and nice buffet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakubung Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Place for Game Drive and nice buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Nice accommodation and nice Buffet. Great location which we could see some wildlife from my bungalow. Amazing 3 hours game drive which we could see a lot of animals who are in there way of life. Great ranger to explain and point us where we can meet and see the wildlife.

Free internet and free shuttle bus to Sun City.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristy_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    284
    67
    21
    12
See reviews for
321
169
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok,Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We are having a nice time here in the Bakubung Bush Lodge! we really loved the buffet dinner-very good for vegetarians. the rooms are very nice and spacious. Overall its great here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel3sixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

As a get-away compensating for the inability to get a Kruger Park booking, Bakubung was a worthy, high-class alternative, exceeding our wildest dreams!
Accommodation, service, food and attractions were all superlative; I would return year after year, if it were possible... Highly reccommended for solos, families or even business venue.
Adjacent to Sun City Complex, (for those bored with wildlife!), the game viewing and availability was superb, with the "Big Five" accessible to the keen-eyed. A MUST!
It is also only 2-3 hours west of Johannesburg on a scenic route which is a free bonus...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eilonglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We arrived at Bakubung and were sadly disappointed that the heat wasn't working, because the power was out! The hotel had generators for the phones to work, but in our rooms it was dark and cold! Luckily the game drive was about a few hours away which we enjoyed. Didn't see elephants, but saw many creatures that were impressive! We saw that there was a nice looking buffet for lunch and expected the same for dinner. After the game drive we were ready to eat but saddened that it was a la carte. The meal portions were large which was great. But if the dont have enough hotel guests, then they dont put out a buffet which is disappointing for those who are staying there. For breakfast the next morning, they were EXTREMELY stingy as they came to me and asked me: "did you have the continental bfast or the hot bfast?" I said," what do you mean, there is absolutely no distinction as its a buffett breakfast." They asked me if I had an egg, I said yes and then depsite me having breakfast included in the $500 a night hotel, they charged us for a Hot bfast! I mean really? They do not tell you there are two different buffets in one. Its all one line of food. I was disappointed that they even asked me such a thing as we were paying guests of the hotel which came with a breakfast. Overall its not worth the money you pay for to stay at the Bakubung. Its very borning to be there when you aren't on a game drive as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cilocybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Very good hotel, we loved the place, the room was very good for us ( 2 adults and 2 children), the safari was wonderful, don´t loose the boma.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiaalbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

My wife and I, and a friend, had a fabulous week at Bakubung. The timeshare chalet was secluded, excellently designed and comfortable, with beautiful finishes in the bathroom. Outside was a lovely private plunge pool - too cold for this time of year - but ideal for summer. Next time though, I would request a chalet on the 'front' row which overlooks a small water hole to which some of the animals come to drink. Oh, and definitely order the scones - the best I have ever tasted!!

Room Tip: ask for a chalet in the front row
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GarthSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

I've stayed at Bakubung 4 or 5 times over the last 12 years, most recently in April 2011. We were a family of four - 2 adults and 2 children (aged 8 and 6) and we had a family room which consisted of 2 double beds. The rooms had been updated since our last visit - not much difference in the bedroom itself although lighting was improved. The rooms have small refrigerators as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The room was lacking shelf/drawer space for a family of 4. The bathrooms, although small, were significantly improved, especially the showers. Overall, the rooms are comfortable rather than luxurious and are not particularly big for 4 people. An improvement from last time was free internet access in rooms.

The quality of the buffets has always been good with what I would call homestyle food. Breakfasts have the usual range of cold and hot offerings with eggs/omelettes cooked to order. Evening meals always offer at least 2 roasts with starch and vegetables, a number of different casseroles and a pasta bar with a variety of pasta types and sauces - very popular with the children! There are a variety of salads, cold meats etc available for starters as well as soup. There were at least half a dozen desserts laid out, as well as a freezer with (very hard) icecreams and pancakes cooked to order, and an uninspiring cheeseboard. Some evenings are themed and there is an increased range of foods on offer in addition to the usual fare - the Mongolian BBQ can be particularly recommended on Thursdays! Plates were cleared quickly in the restaurant by the many staff - some of whom have been at Bakubung for years and years! Wines are reasonably well priced. An A La Carte menu is also available although we've always stuck with the buffet as we've always paid a room rate which includes Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal.

Bakubung is a good choice for families. The hotel has a pool and there is a children's outdoor play area with a jungle gym, a trampoline and a large chessboard. There was a bouncy castle up for the duration of our stay too. We didn't use facilities such as the tennis courts.

We always drive ourselves around Pilanesberg and prefer Bakubung to its sister hotel, Kwa Maritane, due to its location. Once through the main park gate, there are a number of different routes that can be taken within the park whereas Kwa Maritane has only one long track for several kilometres. Bakubung also has its own waterhole and over 3 days we saw wildebeest and zebra in the area although a family of warthogs and some waterbuck came virtually right up to the perimeter fence when we left the restaurant after breakfast. Children may also enjoy seeing the snakes in the wildlife centre across from Reception.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandsy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
2.1 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cabanas
Cabanas
#5 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakubung Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakubung Bush Lodge

Property: Bakubung Bush Lodge
Address: Bakubung Gate, Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bakubung Bush Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere two-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg and ten minutes from Sun City, lies a place of breathtaking beauty and serenity. A place called Bakubung Bush Lodge. Concealed in the rich expanses of the malaria-free Pilanesberg National Park, Bakubung, or "People of the Hippo", offers guests everything they need to get in touch with the bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bakubung Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakubung Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing