We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

Pilanesberg natural reserve is breathtaking and safe to visit with your own car (recommend small SUV or like for an elevated view over the bush). Also malaria-free! Kwa Maritane is excellent, it even has an own hide to view a drinking spot for wild animals. Birds, elefants, etc.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank waari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    208
    68
    27
    14
See reviews for
263
137
17
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

On our visit from London we stayed at Kwa-Maritane for 7 nights with our extended family. Wonderful friendly staff and clean surroundings. Check in was very good with soft drinks offered and you immediately have the feel you are in the bush. The hide provides for lots of wildlife encounters and time to listen to the bush. Beautiful new lounge and outdoor patio. Have never been disappointed by ordering food at Kwa-Maritane. Food here is great value for money and big portions. Love the two swimming pools and both different and easy to order from pool side menu. Enjoyed evening swimming too!

The Pilansberg is great for game viewing and had sightings of elephant, lion, rhino etc etc. An elephant bull also walked next to the fence at Kwa-Maritane one evening and it was such a thrill. I am a huge fan of the Pilansberg and will return again and again.
Kwa-Maritane's wildlife department offer great game drive excursions and guides are well informed.

Was our 5th stay at this resort and can highly recommend it to bush lovers! Great experience and only 90 minutes from Johannesburg and Pretoria.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronelvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

- unhelpful staff at reception
- drab, old rooms
- really bad safari, feels like animals herded through the park, no intimacy
- great breakfast brunch in the new restaurant, great view from the porch
- decent bar for after-safari

In conclusions; you can find better safari lodges at that price

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

There was nothing about this place that I can stay was up to the standard it should have been. My room was only moderately clean, the carpet was coming up and the view was non-existent (which is really saying something for an African hotel). Further, if you travel extensively, you will be very disappointed with the service at Kwa-it does not compare with service you can get at comparably priced hotels anywhere in the world. In my 3 day stay, they managed to get everything a good hotel should get right completely wrong. The park is very nice and well worth the trip, but I could not leave this hotel soon enough!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mustang2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

The lodge was kind of nice but as i read that it had burnt down last year I was expecting that it would be nicer, more spanking clean..it wasnt so. The restuarant was really nicely done up and we enjoyed our meals there...they have lovely lights put up and the view is nice too.
The rooms however are quite dated and not very clean...i had to get spider webs cleared from ours. I understand that there would be insects around in bush lodges but expecting good housekeeping is not too much i am sure if you are paying for it!
The surrounding are really lovely and as it shares the boundary with the pilanseberg national park the mornings were lovely coming out of the room balcony a the back and seeing the early morning birds, squirrels and other small animals. The game drives from kwa maritane was very good, well organised and the staff was really very very good.
I must complement them for finding and returning our camera from the bus we came in right after we reported it missing.
The lady at the reception was very helpful and efficient. She suggested a lion park tour where we could touch lions and cuddle cubs ...it was just amazing experience.
All in all i will recommend it and hope they imporve on their rooms a bit to make it more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbow2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWAGM, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, December 7, 2009
We really appreciate guest feedback & this review is no exception. Glad we seemed to do pretty well all round & that our staff (our biggest asset) got a great thumbs up !!! Rooms were refurbished in 2007 & we will have a look at this aspect and have a word with Housekeeping re the spider webs too.
Guests are right, its a great place to holiday & we look forward to welcoming them and new guests to our special destination in the not too distant future.

Thanks again for the Review

Dave Johnson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keansburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Stayed at the resort for one week this past August. We had a 3 bedroom unit. Downstairs, has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a living room and kitchen. The 3rd bedroom is upstairs & is a "loft-like" room (no door). You have all the comforts of home and the units are cleaned every day. The place was spotless. The backyard was Pilanesberg Park!. From our patio we could see elephants, zebras, wildebeest .....you name it. What a fantastic show!!! There is also a watering hole on site and we were fortunate enough to have a unit that allowed us to see the animals right at the watering hole. For a closer look, you can go down to The Hide, which is an underground room - accessed via a tunnel - and see the animals right at the site. The people at the reception desk, the cleaning crew, everyone we met was very nice. During the week we arranged - on site - for both day & night drive safaris. We also had arranged for a Hot Air Balloon ride. Some of our time was spent in Sun City at the casinos, and we made full use of the shuttle bus that ran back & forth from the resort. The on site restaurant was good, very spacious and the food was plentiful. I would've liked to have had a some sort of grocery store on site - there really was nothing except the supermarket in town. We did go there to load up and were able to get everything we needed to bring back to the unit. The KWA MARITANE shuttle bus, took us there and then came back to pick us up. Sun City was nice, but I thought there would be more shows - I guess I had a "VEGAS AFRICA" in mind. .. and there really wasn't all that much going on as far as "shows" went. We did enjoy gambling at the casino, and we took a tour of the Palace of the Lost City. Wow -- that place makes TRUMP look modest. Talk about "over the top" ornate!! WOW! But, it was interesting to see. The only complaint I can think of at KWA MARITANE was that we were not able to access the internet. They have an "internet cafe" (there are 2 computers), but for some reason, of the 4 of us, no one was able to actually send an e-mail. We could get online, but were unable to get or receive any mail. Not sure why and the onsite tech people never did manage to get that resolved. Other than that -- we had a great week. The animals are RIGHT THERE. I loved it. Previous mention of "old" furniture or anything like that at this resort, can be completely discarded because unfortunately for them - they had a fire about a year ago and everything had to be replaced. They rebuilt a good part of the resort and everything is new. The place is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroncor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Drove to this resort from J'burg which took a couple of hours, stop at the Damn market on route to buy brilliant gifts for really cheap prices, everything from beautiful african carvings, to jewellery, tableclothes, toys and clothes. We later saw much the same around the Durban area for 4 times the price we got the gifts at the Damn.

Stayed in a time share belonging to a friend on this game lodge, what can I say other than the holiday of a lifetime. The apartments which have thatched roofs, have two
bedrooms, two full bathroomsand can sleep 10 r excellently equipped all with dishwashers, fridge/freezer, traditional bbq, gas and electric bbq's. The apartments were cleaned daily by the maids and the bbq's also cleaned by the resort staff on a daily basis. Beach towels were provided and the staff wouldn't allow you to go to the bar for drinks, they insisted on serving you on your sunbed by the poolside.

The food served in the restaurant was first class, something for everyone and a variety of chef's waiting to cook your favourite cuisine right in front of you, or a choice of salads, fish and other hot dishes already cooked served in a buffet style fashion. The cost was around £30 for nine of us eating a 3 course dinner with drinks. My kids thought they were in heaven. Views from the patio were stunning, the parks permiter fence being only yards from the apartment so you awoke to a variety of wildlife heading to the close-by watering hole which not only could be accessed via an underground tunnel to allow you eye level viewing of the animals quenching their thirst but could also be seen on the TV in the apartment.

There was a couple of swimming pools, tennis courts, table tennis, games room and daily talks from the park guides which were both interesting and worthwhile. We chose anovercast day to drive through the park setting off just after 6am and were extremely lucky, came upon a lion kill with minutes of entering the main gates, then went on to see crocodile, springbok, black and white rhino, hippo's, wild dogs, hyena, elephants baboons, zebra's and giraffe's but to name a few. An amazing experience but I appreciate that we were very lucky as many we spoke to hadn't been quite so fortunate.,
A couple of us did the evening tour, again got up real close to both lions and elephants and an early morning walk through the park with a guide, both to be highly recommended.

Sun City is literally just a couple of miles along the road and well worth spending a couple of days at. The price is reduced if staying at this lodge so it only cost us a couple of quid entry pp per day. Take your swimming gear as the pool and wave machine are totally awesome!

For me this was a holiday of a lifetime, wildlife in their natural habitat, set in beautiful surroundings with staff who were curteous and helpful. If you get the opportunity to visit this place jump at it please.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnybeacherTayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
3.1 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cabanas
Cabanas
#5 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Property: Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Address: Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath “the Rock”, from whence Kwa Maritane gets its name, this luxurious four star hotel offers excellent service, mouth-watering cuisine and spacious en-suite accommodation that exude elegance in true African style.Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge is located in malaria free Pilanesberg National Park, an easy 2 hour’s drive from Johannesburg and a mere 10 minutes from Sun City. This is the perfect setting for a relaxing family weekend away or for a corporate conference.Kwa Maritane Spa Rejuvenate your mind, body and soul in our magnificent Spa. Indulge yourself with treatments such as Thabayadiotso, our signature treatment, or be pampered with a pedicure while watching the game feeding on the plains in front of the Spa. Whether it is a full body massages, in which the masseur uses Mountain Aloe oil, or a soothing, deep cleansing facial using warm volcanic milk, the professional therapists will simply spoil you.There are four treatment rooms, including one suite suitable for couples looking to share the experience. There is also a manicure and pedicure lounge, a rasul chamber, relaxation area and hydro pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwa Maritane Bush Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing