We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Soho Hotel(Sun City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane(Pilanesberg National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveler rating
368
243
83
31
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
243
83
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground tunnelsun cityunderground hidegame driveswatering holewater holeboma braaithe reservetennis courtsgreat resortdinner buffetherd of elephantsself cateringgame parkbush lodgespent daystime share
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 745 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a small reunion with friends at Kwa Maritane and if it wasn't for the friends it would have been a disaster.
The day of our arrival the hotel was hosting a conference but no provision was made to even provide the arriving guests with something to eat that has traveled quite far. The staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful and after being told that we should come back at 14h00 to book in, our rooms were not ready even at 14h30.
On our way to our rooms we passed numerous rooms that had dirty dishes outside their doors, probably from rooms service. The next day at 14h00 all the dishes were still there with some added flies and ants that gathered for a feast.
Our room was outdates and in need of a make over especially the bathroom.
Although there is a warning about not leaving valuables in the room we were shocked to find that our luggage had been thoroughly searched and that we have been relieved of all cash that was in some of the hidden compartments. A great deal of effort was made to see searched our luggage.
The dining room has a wonderful location and you can see animals coming to the waterhole to drink some water.
The staff in the dining room was very helpful and very entertaining.
We had the most amazing game drive with Rolf and that was really the highlight- except for catching up with friends- of the whole stay.
Compared to other lodges in the same area this will not see me again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KittyLamprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My mom, sister, and I spent three days and two nights at the Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge. We had adjoining rooms. The location and grounds were fantastic with fabulous views of the park, our rooms were absolutely gorgeous, service was wonderful, and the food was great! We did a morning and evening safari which was amazing! We got full body massages and pedicures, and sat out on the patio and watched the animals. We cannot say anything bad about our stay/experiences at the lodge. We loved everything about it and would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at KM for 2 nights. Fantastic location in Pilanesberg game park with animals so close by. Great game drive too.

But hotel was not very good.
Rooms were very dated. Old carpets and dirty grouting in bathroom, broken sleeper couch. Staff were very confused and removed our belongings from our room, not knowing we had a studio booking! Totally unacceptable!
Meals were same every day for lunch and dinner when we were there. Minimal vegetarian choice.

At the price we paid I will not return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starnberg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin H, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Kwa Maritane.
I was quite astonished to read your comment that the rooms are dated, as all our rooms have recently been refurbished! When the Lodge was refurbished, it was decided to keep the “look and feel” of the four star Bush Lodge that we are, and perhaps you were looking for more of a “City Hotel” style?” All the sleeper couches were replaced less than a year ago, and we have had no complaints that any are broken, but it is possible that the workings of the couch were confusing?
Also, your comment regarding the staff being confused and removing your belongings from your room “because they did not know you had a studio booking”, makes no sense to me.
Although we serve a buffet breakfast and dinner, apart from the daily roasts, the other individual items on the buffet change every day. In addition to normal daily buffet, we have the Wednesday and Saturday boma evenings, as well as the Friday “Fisherman’s Catch” evening and Saturday “Butchers Grill”. There is usually no buffet lunch (unless we have a conference in house) but there is an a la carte Terrace Manu available as well.
Unfortunately, as I did not receive a response to my previous message, I do not have any details of your stay, and therefore cannot fully investigate and respond to the allegations which you have made.
It is a great pity you did not bring these issues to my attention while you were still at the resort, so that we could have personally discussed these and any other issues which you may have had during your stay here.
I like to offer my sincere apologies for any drop in standards which you experienced and trust that should you reconsider your decision to return, on your next visit to Kwa Maritane the resort will be of a standard more in keeping with your expectations.
Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experiences, as it is only through constructive criticism from our guests that we can monitor and improve our performance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

What a great spot for a weekend getaway. Lots to do , friendly staff , will recommend for hard working Joburg parents who need a break in the bush that kids can enjoy!
I always am astounded by some of the negative reviews that I have read (comparing to school hostel) , they should go to Lowveld and spend 10K per person per night so they can have individual attention and feel special !
We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a very nice stay in Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge. Very good location close to Sun City and Pilansberg. Rooms are really nice each with a small terrace. Baby sitting service available. You have a fantastic view from the restaurant terasse to Pilansberg National Park.

We will come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews