We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, mediocre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely location, mediocre hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at KM for 2 nights. Fantastic location in Pilanesberg game park with animals so close by. Great game drive too.

But hotel was not very good.
Rooms were very dated. Old carpets and dirty grouting in bathroom, broken sleeper couch. Staff were very confused and removed our belongings from our room, not knowing we had a studio booking! Totally unacceptable!
Meals were same every day for lunch and dinner when we were there. Minimal vegetarian choice.

At the price we paid I will not return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starnberg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin H, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Kwa Maritane.
I was quite astonished to read your comment that the rooms are dated, as all our rooms have recently been refurbished! When the Lodge was refurbished, it was decided to keep the “look and feel” of the four star Bush Lodge that we are, and perhaps you were looking for more of a “City Hotel” style?” All the sleeper couches were replaced less than a year ago, and we have had no complaints that any are broken, but it is possible that the workings of the couch were confusing?
Also, your comment regarding the staff being confused and removing your belongings from your room “because they did not know you had a studio booking”, makes no sense to me.
Although we serve a buffet breakfast and dinner, apart from the daily roasts, the other individual items on the buffet change every day. In addition to normal daily buffet, we have the Wednesday and Saturday boma evenings, as well as the Friday “Fisherman’s Catch” evening and Saturday “Butchers Grill”. There is usually no buffet lunch (unless we have a conference in house) but there is an a la carte Terrace Manu available as well.
Unfortunately, as I did not receive a response to my previous message, I do not have any details of your stay, and therefore cannot fully investigate and respond to the allegations which you have made.
It is a great pity you did not bring these issues to my attention while you were still at the resort, so that we could have personally discussed these and any other issues which you may have had during your stay here.
I like to offer my sincere apologies for any drop in standards which you experienced and trust that should you reconsider your decision to return, on your next visit to Kwa Maritane the resort will be of a standard more in keeping with your expectations.
Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experiences, as it is only through constructive criticism from our guests that we can monitor and improve our performance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    208
    69
    29
    15
See reviews for
269
138
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

What a great spot for a weekend getaway. Lots to do , friendly staff , will recommend for hard working Joburg parents who need a break in the bush that kids can enjoy!
I always am astounded by some of the negative reviews that I have read (comparing to school hostel) , they should go to Lowveld and spend 10K per person per night so they can have individual attention and feel special !
We will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a very nice stay in Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge. Very good location close to Sun City and Pilansberg. Rooms are really nice each with a small terrace. Baby sitting service available. You have a fantastic view from the restaurant terasse to Pilansberg National Park.

We will come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I love holidays that exceed expectations. Kwa Maritane is a truly fabulous getaway, particularly for families. My kids (7 & 6 yrs) had the time of their lives and arevdying to go back ...as am I!

The rooms are well appointed and tastefully decorated, the staff are friendly, helpful and add so much value to the experience. The buffet in the restaurant was beautifully displayed and food delicious with plenty of variety. The a la carte dining was also very appealing. You absolutely have to do the outdoor boma braai (barbecue).

Looking forward to December to enjoy the wonderful hospitality Kwa Maritane offers once again!

Room Tip: The family units are very well located and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johutch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Last weekend we were again at Kwa-Maritane. Still superb! The accommodation was great. The personnel very warm, friendly and helpful. The Sunday buffet and breakfast at the restaurant was really enjoyable and tasteful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Kwa Maritane for a weekend. When we got there, we were positively surprised. It looked wonderful. The service at check in was fast and good. We were assisted with our baggage and brought to our room. The room blew us away. It was spacious, beutiful and had a direct connection on the tv with the waterhole. You could see the wildlife drinking there.
Another great thing is that this lodge has an underground tunnel to a hide beside this same waterhole. So if you see anything on the tv, you can go there and watch it from up close.
The breakfast was good. There was a lot to pick from and the staff was friendly. The view was amazing as well. Dinner was great. The food was well prepared and the wine was nice.
They offer game drives and you should definitely do those. They are a wonderful experience.

The only negative thing at this lodge was the checkout. We had our payment confirmed 3 times before we went to the lodge. It still took them an hour to call the manager to confirm it all again. So we had to wait for a while before we could actually make the long drive home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

That was my second time staying in a game lodge and it was amazing the lication,the hiden secret tunnel, the hotel facilities , the food , were excellent even the staff, the rangers were very professional and funny. It really a family place with a lot of fun but you have to choose a nice room with a nice sightseeing with the lake view to have a good chance to see animals drinking ...thanks for everything kwa martine

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gehakam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
3.1 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cabanas
Cabanas
#5 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Property: Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Address: Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath “the Rock”, from whence Kwa Maritane gets its name, this luxurious four star hotel offers excellent service, mouth-watering cuisine and spacious en-suite accommodation that exude elegance in true African style.Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge is located in malaria free Pilanesberg National Park, an easy 2 hour’s drive from Johannesburg and a mere 10 minutes from Sun City. This is the perfect setting for a relaxing family weekend away or for a corporate conference.Kwa Maritane Spa Rejuvenate your mind, body and soul in our magnificent Spa. Indulge yourself with treatments such as Thabayadiotso, our signature treatment, or be pampered with a pedicure while watching the game feeding on the plains in front of the Spa. Whether it is a full body massages, in which the masseur uses Mountain Aloe oil, or a soothing, deep cleansing facial using warm volcanic milk, the professional therapists will simply spoil you.There are four treatment rooms, including one suite suitable for couples looking to share the experience. There is also a manicure and pedicure lounge, a rasul chamber, relaxation area and hydro pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwa Maritane Bush Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing