We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good private game reserve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good private game reserve”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my husband and another couple in October and we had a fantastic time. The accommodation was very nice and and had everything you would require, even dish cloths are provided. We stayed in an 8 sleeper but I would not recommend having 8 people staying, we didn't need to use the upstairs room but it was very small and up an odd stair case, it would be fine for two children but not adults if you we're staying for longer than 2 nights. The hide was a brilliant experience and made the lodge fantastic, likewise our room faced the fence so we had great views of zebra going to the waterhole. We had some good sightings, lion, rhino, elephant, zebra, giraffe and even a brown hyena. The only downside to Kwa Maritane location vs the other camps was the game roads, if you want to stay inside the park there is only one track to the other roads, it was quite long and ran close to the main road for quite some time so eats into your drive time, however what we did was left the park and drove outside to the park and re-entered at other gates, two of which are only 10 men's away.

Overall a very good experience and if you prefer nice accommodation over game spotting and want to avoid malaria zones this is the place for you, however if its the animals you are after my personal recommendation would always be the Kruger Park.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashwa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghathers, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments regarding your recent experience at Kwa - we are always pleased when someone enjoys their stay here.

You are quite correct in that the upstairs bedroom is really designed to accommodate children, as it is rather a “loft room”.

The Hide is a wonderful and unique feature. Did you know that you can watch a live feed from the Hide on www.wildcam.com, and click on Kwa Maritane.

Although the road into the centre of the Park is quite long and runs next to the main road for a while, there are often good sightings of lion, elephant and rhino, as well as the ever present zebra and wildebeest! The alternative roads which you suggest are a good suggestion, as it does get you into (and out of) the middle of the Park more quickly.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your experience here and look forward to welcoming you back to experience some more Kwa Magic in the near future.

Kind regards

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    211
    70
    29
    15
See reviews for
277
142
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Kwa Maritane for 2 nights as a last minute booking because everything else in the area was full. The property was surprisingly good, and although it was also fully booked it never appeared to be overcrowded.

Our room was really well presented, modern and comfortable, it was a bit of a hike to the restaurant but I guess that's what you get for booking the day before the long weekend. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room, but we had a very comfortable bed and the room was very clean.

The resort has lots of facilities and would be really well suited to a family or group of families, with several pools, mini- golf, tennis courts etc lots for the kids to do between the morning and evening game drives. Good value too, as they offer very well priced, all inclusive packages.

We ate most of our meals in the restaurant and the food was good quality with lots of choice. All meals were buffet style (although there is a separate menu at lunch) and I'm not a massive fan of the buffet, but it was fine for a couple of days. The best thing about the restaurant is that you can sit quietly, have a few drinks and watch all the animals wander to the water hole - very relaxing. We also went to the Saturday night Bush Brai which I would recommend as a fun experience particularly after the evening game drive, when they drop you straight to the Boma in the middle of the bush.

We took a couple of the hotel run game drives which were good value and well run, but to us nothing beats the self-drive option when it's available. For self drive we went out of the park and entered at other gates to be able to see more of the park. This proved to be a great choice as we only saw elephants and lions in other parts of the park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghathers, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Kwa Maritane and thank you for the wonderful comments.

I am glad that you enjoyed your bush dinner experience, as it is usually the highlight of our guest’s experience, and it also sounds like you had some good game viewing - both from the restaurant and from the comfort of your car!

I am really pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kwa Maritane in the near future.

Kind regards

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked Kwa Maritane on booking.com two days before we were due to arrive. However when we got to the hotel, the receptionist denied any knowledge of our booking. In the end she found a room while rather implying that we should be grateful for this. The explanation was that IT systems often take a while to syncronise. We'd have been very unhappy if no room had been available......
Anyway, the hotel itself is fine. The location right by a water hole is great. Sitting in the hotel hide wathching a large male rhino enjoy a mud bath was truly memorable. The staff were clearly trying hard. We enjoyed an evening game drive with a hotel guide and a couple of trips on our own. The game viewing at Pilanesberg is nearly always good, especially for rhinos and elephants. The food in the restaurant was reasonable as buffets go if not spectacular, though having breakfast outside while overlooking the water hole was enjoyable.
The hotel is not cheap but much better value that Sun City.
One minor quibble: the free internet was the slowest I've experienced in 15 years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghathers, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Kwa Maritane.

We are always concerned when even the slightest things go awry and have investigated the circumstances surrounding the glitch with your reservation. I will respond more fully via separate email.

We are aware that the internet signal is often very slow, as being in the bush we only have a 2 Mb bandwidth, (no ISDN and no fibre optics!) and the signal can be erratic. Our IT Department is busy investigating alternatives and we trust that this problem will be rectified in the near future.

I trust that despite the mishap with your reservation you still enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kwa in the near future.

Kind regards

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in a cabana at Kwa Maritane in July 12. The cabana was clean, well equipped and just right for 2 people. Eating outside was great as the patio overlooked the game reserve and if you were lucky, you could see rhino, elephants or buck wandering down to the watering hole. There is an underground tunnel to a hide overlooking the watering hole, which is a great idea.
Another highlight was the bush braai, which was a short drive away. Good selection and an opportunity to eat some more 'unusual' meats. Eating in fire and lantern light was really good.
The game reserve itself is quite small, but big enough to drive down a different route every day for 2-3 days. It's not the size of the Kruger but it can certainly hold its own. We saw elephant, rhino, hippo, lion, and loads of buck. And the birds! African birds are stunning, and are a pleasant diversion when the animals are lying low. We saw over 80 species.
Kwa maritane offers great value for money. It's not a small exclusive exorbitantly expensive private game lodge, but it offers many of the attractions that private lodges have, but at a fraction of the cost.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Gilberts_SAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghathers, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay at Kwa.

We are indeed blessed with having one of the most beautiful settings in Africa and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kwa Maritane in the near future, to experience some more Kwa Magic!

Kind regards

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I spent a couple days at Kwa Maritane last month and thoroughly enjoyed it. The resort isn't the poshiest I've stayed at, and the rooms and facilities could use a bit of a face lift but the proximity to the park and the animals is fantastic. The property literally borders on the Pilanesburg park, and animals are right at your doorstep.

We were greeted upon checking into our room by a baboon wandering around, and several times zebras came up to the watering hole right next to the restaurant. The highlight was the "hide" - a viewing hut you reach via a tunnel where you can sit and watch an unbelievable array of wildlife (so close I even heard a zebra pass gas!)

Game drives were fantastic, as well. People working at the resort were all very nice, and food at the restaurant was good. They offered a dinner in the bush on Saturday night, and maybe it was because I was fighting a nasty cold and not feeling well, but I was not impressed with that.

Otherwise, very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghathers, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Kwa Maritane and thank you for the wonderful comments regarding the people and the food.

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your bush dinner experience, as it is usually the highlight of our guest’s experience. I hope that you have recovered from your cold?

I trust that apart from the above, you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kwa Maritane in the near future.

Kind regards

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I drove down to Kwa Maritane from East London for our honeymoon, as we both love safari and spending time in the bush. I also love a bit of luxury- and Kwa Maritane is a perfect mix of both!
The cabana we stayed in was lovely and really well equipped, the restaurant was great and reasonably priced (paid about R400 for two great buffet dinners and a very good bottle of wine!), the pool areas were stunning (although we didn't swim, water far too cold!!) and the facilities were well equipped and clean.
The spa also looked amazing and again, very reasonably priced although we didn't use it as we decided to go on a game drive and bush braai instead...I cannot recommend this highly enough! The drive was wonderful, the guide very knowledgable and passionate about his work, and the braai in the bush boma was perfect!
We only had one complaint regarding a noise issue (our cabana was close to the conference centre which was hosting a very noisy party!) however the complaint was dealt with by Gavin in a professional, polite manner; very grateful to him for his efforts to put the situation right!
All of the staff were friendly, helpful and polite, and really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome, especially Tina at Reception who put up with my grumpy late night phone call begging for the music to be turned down!!!!!
Will definately be going back, and have recommended Kwa Maritane to all our friends!

Room Tip: If you have timesheare, avoid booking into the cabanas nearest to the conference centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghathers, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your recent experience at Kwa and for all your delightful comments. We are always pleased when someone enjoys their stay at Kwa, as it is a very special place.

Your gracious comments regarding the staff are most welcome and I will personally pass on your comments to Tina – she is a star!

I would again like to offer my sincere apologies for the noise made by the in-house conference group during their awards dinner and after party, and thank you for being so understanding.

We are really glad that you and your husband enjoyed your experience here. We wish you a long, happy and fruitful life together and look forward to welcoming you back to Kwa in the near future.

Kind regards

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked this as a quick overnight after a morning in Valley of the Waves. The hotel is a classic lodge in a great location. The reception, Bar and "cooking" staff were great. The restaurant waiters let the side down badly. They were disorganised (they cleared a table for us while the occupier was at the buffet which led to a pleasant dinner with a surprised but very pleasent German). The waiting staff were grumpy, banging down cutlery and "forget" to bring requested things.

That said I would stay again for the location, facilities and hopefully the waiters were having a bad day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghathers, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at Kwa Maritane.

We are always concerned when a guest does not enjoy their experience here and I can assure you that we take all comments and concerns raised by our guests extremely seriously.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the drop in standards which you experienced in the restaurant. This is certainly not the level of service to which we strive.

It is unclear as to why the waiters would be "having a bad day", but I will certainly investigate the incident which you have described, and take the appropriate action to prevent a recurrence.

I trust that apart from the above, you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kwa Maritane in the near future.

Kind regards

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
787 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
3.1 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
304 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
705 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Property: Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Address: Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath “the Rock”, from whence Kwa Maritane gets its name, this luxurious four star hotel offers excellent service, mouth-watering cuisine and spacious en-suite accommodation that exude elegance in true African style.Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge is located in malaria free Pilanesberg National Park, an easy 2 hour’s drive from Johannesburg and a mere 10 minutes from Sun City. This is the perfect setting for a relaxing family weekend away or for a corporate conference.Kwa Maritane Spa Rejuvenate your mind, body and soul in our magnificent Spa. Indulge yourself with treatments such as Thabayadiotso, our signature treatment, or be pampered with a pedicure while watching the game feeding on the plains in front of the Spa. Whether it is a full body massages, in which the masseur uses Mountain Aloe oil, or a soothing, deep cleansing facial using warm volcanic milk, the professional therapists will simply spoil you.There are four treatment rooms, including one suite suitable for couples looking to share the experience. There is also a manicure and pedicure lounge, a rasul chamber, relaxation area and hydro pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwa Maritane Bush Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing