We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kwa Maritane in the Winter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Kwa Maritane in the Winter”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Absolutely lovely !! The 1 bedroom unit was very stylish and well equipped, the kitchen had everything possible to make my life as mom as comfortable as possible - even including a dishwasher !! The Central air-conditioning made our stay a pleasant one during the cold Winter Nights, and we were able to organise an additional mattress for our 2 year old to sleep next to our lovely King Size bed -it felt like a second honeymoon.

The patio overlooking the game reserve a few meters away gave us the opportunity to view the game without having to go on a game drive(which could be a nightmare with a toddler)

Made use of the spa and at first I considered it a bit pricey, however after having a facial, mani and pedi where they pampered me for over 4 hours -I considered it value for money.
There was lots to do for my toddler, bush put-put, trampoline and a well maintained playground.

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

We had breakfast at the restaurant.Good food however it was expensive, we decided to order room service from then on and we had absolutely fantastic food in the comfort of our unit at a very reasonable price ( I decided to make as few meals myself and rather enjoy the luxury).

Just keep in mind that there is no shop on the premises that can provide the basics (bread,eggs,milk,salt,coffee, tea,sugar) you need to drive out of the reserve (not far but still) to find these- the curios shop only provide the basic snacks like chocolates, chips and ice-cream, so I would recommend that you stock up before going to ensure you have everything you need.

Absolutely ideal for a family get away, next time we will rent a larger unit and take the Grandparents with.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spicameno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghathers, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review! We are always pleased when a guest enjoys their stay with us, and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the relevant staff members.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kwa in the near future. Kind regards, Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    214
    71
    29
    15
See reviews for
283
146
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We enjoyed 7 wonderful nights at Kwa Maritane. The food was excellent (the lamb curry is even better then the Oyster Box in Durban!), the service was excellent and the floodlit waterhole and hide is a photographer's dream! We had lion, rhinos, elephants and more coming to drink just 20 meters away from us nearly every day. Gavin, the GM, is a super host and his staff are motivated, professional and most helpful. Housekeeping staff were proactive and would inform maintenace of any problems without us having to ask - that is rare in hotels and lodges!

Room Tip: The cabana units are very close together for people wanting privacy so rather go for the chalets if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghathers, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Kwa Maritane. I will certainly pass them on to the staff concerned. We llok forward to welcoming you back in the near future to experience some more Kwa Magic! Kind regards, Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in June '12. Although it's not the prettiest game lodge & the rooms are average (we had no hot water for 24 hours)... we went for the game drives and animals - and we weren't disappointed. The morning we arrived we sat on the restaurant balcony, watching an entire troop of baboons at the water hole just a few metres away. An added treat was the underground hide, where a 10 minute wait rewarded us with 27 elephants drinking at the watering hole - just fantastic!!! The game drives were excellent too (we had 3; 2 morning, one evening) with knowledgeable rangers. We were able to see a huge range of animals; several sightings of rhino (one with a 1 month old baby), 2 sightings of Lion (with 2 cubs), Elephants, giraffes, hippos, numerous zebra, wildebeest, several Antelope species, wild dogs and a rare sighting of a nocturnal Caracal wild cat. Great for photographers and anyone that love the outdoors & animals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghathers, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Kwa and for posting your amazing photo’s.

We are always extremely concerned when a guest does not enjoy their experience here, as it is such a magical place.

I must offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience which was caused by the lack of hot water during your stay. The boiler which burst during your stay has been replaced.

Hopefully, on your next visit to Kwa Maritane, the resort will be of a standard more in keeping with your expectations.

Kind regards

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Afica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

we stayed at this lodge last weekend for my husbands birthday - the rooms were really outdated and a bit dingy (ours stank of old smoke) but the staff more than make up for it. they are super friendly and always willing to lend a helping hand. My daughter (3 years old) had a ball and keeps on asking when we are going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shando4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I was initially concerned about my booking at Kwa Maritane, having read the "mediocre" review from May 7. I have to tell you that my experience was excellent.

Kwa Maritane sits just within the Pilanesberg park. It is a small location, hemmed in on all sides by the park. The accommodations, food and service were first rate. I had just arrived from London on a red eye and the staff found me a room so I could get some shuteye before heading out on a game drive later in the day. The front desk crew was helpful and very friendly. The food was good, especially considering how isolated the hotel is and how intimate. The game drives were run professionally and our drivers and guides did a good job.

I travel quite frequently in the States, Europe, and Southeast Asia. While I have been a guest in true 'five star" hotels this is one of the times I can honestly say I had five star service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raleighinnovator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I've been going to KM for the last 8 or so years and always enjoy my time there. Gorgeous setting! However having just returned from a weekend there I found myself quite disappointed.
Management step up! Your waiters, reception staff and cleaners are a pleasure; always friendly and helpful. However when we made a lunch inquiry with the restaurant manager himself he couldn't have been less helpful or interested. Luckily there are other lodges in the area so a quick drive through the park and we had a fabulous 5 star lunch elsewhere. Won't be bothering with the KM restaurant again until they jack themselves up.
Another disappointment was the fact this is billed as a tranquil bush experience but we had the rowdiest, noisiest guests in the unit next to us. Come on management, whats wrong with asking a few guests politely to keep it down - they're bothering everyone else and the animals as they are right on the park fence and disturbing everyone's peace and quiet.
A positive however is the beautiful new spa. Great treatments at reasonable prices and professional therapists.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We visited from sydney Australia and one passenger was in wheel chair. Staff could not do enough to provide constant assistance to facilitate us being able to do everything. Bush hide to watch game on site was spectacular. Game drives sensational - we saw all big 5 in 9 days. Very comfortable timeshare type accommodation overlooking the bush. Breakfasts with panoramic view of game. We go frequently to african bush- this was our favourite. Extremely child friendly excellent for young families. Plenty place for kids to play and always surrounded by the feel of wildlife. Staff rallied round to make our stay comfortable. Breakfasts delicious - certainly 5 star. We are bush lovers and kwa maritane offered us everything. Time to relax at beautiful poolside, bar, tennis and playground for kids. Best units are those along the fence of the pilansburg. Dream to go back there. Five star timeshare accommodation/location/food/service/ game drives. Thank you to the wonderful employees there for making our stay something to remember forever. We will be back! From sydney Australia

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bushk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
796 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
3.1 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
310 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
712 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Property: Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Address: Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath “the Rock”, from whence Kwa Maritane gets its name, this luxurious four star hotel offers excellent service, mouth-watering cuisine and spacious en-suite accommodation that exude elegance in true African style.Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge is located in malaria free Pilanesberg National Park, an easy 2 hour’s drive from Johannesburg and a mere 10 minutes from Sun City. This is the perfect setting for a relaxing family weekend away or for a corporate conference.Kwa Maritane Spa Rejuvenate your mind, body and soul in our magnificent Spa. Indulge yourself with treatments such as Thabayadiotso, our signature treatment, or be pampered with a pedicure while watching the game feeding on the plains in front of the Spa. Whether it is a full body massages, in which the masseur uses Mountain Aloe oil, or a soothing, deep cleansing facial using warm volcanic milk, the professional therapists will simply spoil you.There are four treatment rooms, including one suite suitable for couples looking to share the experience. There is also a manicure and pedicure lounge, a rasul chamber, relaxation area and hydro pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwa Maritane Bush Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing