We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Over priced and mediocre”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at Kwa Maritane the past weekend. We attended a show at Sun City with friends, which ended at about 22:30. We wanted to stay over to avoid the drive back to Johannesburg at night. As all the accommodation at Sun City was fully booked, Kwa Maritane was our second choice. We paid just over ZAR 3000 (about $380) for the room (dinner, bed and breakfast), which is in our view pricey and we expected a lot at this price. The room was dated and not as luxurious as one would expect at this rate. Dinner was a buffet which can be described as mediocre - at least the service was good. Our biggest disappointment was that we were told that all kitchen and bar services (including room service) closed at 23:00 and re-opened only at 07:00. When we returned from our show, we were unable to order any refreshments (the bar fridge in the room was empty). We had to return home the following morning before 07:00 and we were unable to get any breakfast or coffee (even room service) while the kitchen was closed.

The only positive experience at Kwa Maritane was the excellent location in the Pilanesberg National Park close to Sun City (10 minutes drive by shuttle - charged additionally at ZAR60 per person), which gives a memorable "bush experience" within 2 hours of Johannesburg. The service by the staff was in general friendly and above average.

I will only recommend a stay here if you do not care about costs and do not have another choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    210
    70
    29
    15
See reviews for
270
140
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Dated decor, mediocre food, unclean bath room, no service (not even a glass of water!) after 23h00 - unless your expectations are not high to start off with

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wennesseinmuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Our first ever safari trip, 3 adults and 1 ten years old child, settled in 2 beautiful rooms with back porch. Good quality meals and wonderful service. We took one pm game drive and one am game drive the following morning, both field guides (Philip and Ralph) were fantastic and very informative, which we spotted lion, hippos, rhinos, leopard and many other species....! The tunnel that lead to a hide is so very special, which we have a great chance to view 16 elephants with babies and all. One can also frequently see herd of zebra and kudu right from the restaurant becalony. Will visit again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We were a group of four that recently spent a week at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge in the Pilanesberg National Park in a 5-sleeper cabana which comprised an adequately stocked kitchenette, a very comfortable bedroom with a king size bed and a spacious balcony with sun sleepers, a fully supplied bathroom with a shower (in the bath) and a lounge area with a double- and single seater couch that convert into 3 beds. This has been our fourth stay at Kwa Maritane which we love for the peace and tranquility on offer. In addition to the active and abundant wildlife (too many to mention) Kwa is a birder's paradise. Those holidaying with children will benefit from the Lodge's comprehensive daily planned activities. In addition there are swimming pools, trampolines, tennis courts, a climing wall and a bush golf course that will keep the young and young-at-heart occupied for hours. The underground "hide" allows guests a unique up-close-and-personal experience with wildlife and birds that seek to quench their thirsts at the watering hole. The 3-hour games (early morning or late afternoon) are popular, informative, entertaining and value for money (R340pp). The resort is in pristine condition as attentive staff ensure that both living and recreational areas are spotlessly manitained at all times. Cabanas boast modern convieniences, including dishwashing machines, microwave ovens and flat screen TVs in the lounge and bedroom. All patios are mountain-facing and shaded with gas and coal braai stands. The restaurant's menus are extensive and affordable. A complimentary shuttle service to Sun City (5mins away) is available. Daily provisions and other food and personal items may be bought from Sun Village (7 mins drive) which has a host of shops, fruit and veg merchandiser, a petrol station, pharmacy and liquor store. All-in-all Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge is a nature lover's paradise and in close proximity to many other places of interest (hot air ballooning). From Pretoria East it's a 90 min (easy) drive and 2 hours from Johannesburg. A great place to escape to if you want to replenish the soul and relax the body and mind!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms located close to the main pool as guests passing by can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlemmermeer
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

after passing the chaotic and ugly city of rustenburg and sun city (a huge hotel complex and not a city; one has to pay an entry fee just to get onto the terretory!?!!! ) we turned into pilanesberg national park and the kwa maritane lodge. check in was smooth and we were assigned to a room at the very end of the complex i.e. a 5min walk to the restaurant and 10min to the hide, which can be reached thru a tunnel which starts next to the restaurant and gym. the hide is worth spending time, watching birds and all kind of animals, waiting for the special ones. bring lots of time and patience! yes, you can watch the action at the waterhole on the tv in your room, but even when you run to the hide to see it live, you'll be too late. if your room is next to the restaurant you may get lucky... if you run. our room was huge and very nice with all 5star ammenities like safe, fridge (no mini bar) and tv (no flat screen) with some nice sports channels. however one little thing my daughter noticed was that pen and notepad were missing, when receiving a phone call. a pitty. the resort is huge with tennis courts,mini golf, children's play area, spa and 2 nice pools (one with a waterslide). one evening we were offered a la carte food which was of rather poor quality, the other night was a buffet, which was much better. beer costs 25rand and breakfast was always buffet of very good quality. had an early morning game drive, which was wonderful. special thanks to our host Philip, a great guy.
overall a memorable stay with a memorable price tag. sun city hotels and the bush lodges start at about 3000rand p/night, while the bush lodges include b/f and dinner. other staff at the lodge were quite diverse. a few were friendly, most were nonchalant and a few in the restaurant even unacceptable rude. latest possible check out at kwa maritane was 11am. overall it was worth the price, more 4 than 5 stars due to service issues, but I would stay here again.

Room Tip: if you want quiet rooms, walks can be rather long
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griswolds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge for five nights in September 2011. Overall, we had a wonderful time. The resort is fantastic, luxurious and relaxing. It was lovely and quiet as we were there during the week and at low season, this also meant that the game drives were not busy. I must say that the safari guides were excellent, very passionate about their jobs and really go the extra mile to ensure that the guests get value for money. So far I would rate the resort 10/10….

However I must say that we couldn’t have been more disappointed with the food in the restaurant. Breakfast each morning was a buffet, which was very nice with a good selection each day. Dinner was another story altogether. We had booked a package which included a meal in the restaurant each evening and in hindsight I wish we hadn’t included this option. Four out of our five evening meals were terrible and without trying to sound sensational were some of the worst we have ever had. I can’t say for sure, but it seemed as though the food was just heated in the microwave each day and not cooked fresh. I say this for three reasons i) food came far too quickly to have been cooked from fresh, ii) the food was far too hot to have been cooked fresh, iii) on one evening I ordered tuna steak which when arrived was grey, dry and overcooked throughout, it was also very hot, again almost too hot to have been cooked fresh. On one evening there was a buffet in the restaurant, which was wonderful, however I believe that the only reason for the buffet was due to a conference being held at the resort. If we could have had a buffet dinner each night we would have been delighted. I can understand that holding a buffet each night in the low season, when the resort is not busy may not be economically viable. However we had spent a lot of money on this package and felt we did not get value for money when it came to the food. During periods like this the resort should at least ensure there is a chef on site to cook fresh food for the guests.

As I have said excluding the food, we would rate the resort and our experience 10/10. We will return, however next time we will either to go in the high season when I believe a buffet I held every night. If we return in the low season we won’t be including the evening meal option in our package. The resort was beautiful, pity about the food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank simonmcgIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We recently had a company conference at Kwa Maritane. Never before have I met such a gem of a Conference Coordinator as I found in Joyce! She was amazing! And she wasnt the only one! The rooms were terrific, the food was fabulous and the setting great!

Whether its business or pleasure you won't go wrong!

Go, have fun and relax!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
776 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
3.1 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
292 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cabanas
Cabanas
#5 of 6 in Sun City
695 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Property: Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Address: Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath “the Rock”, from whence Kwa Maritane gets its name, this luxurious four star hotel offers excellent service, mouth-watering cuisine and spacious en-suite accommodation that exude elegance in true African style.Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge is located in malaria free Pilanesberg National Park, an easy 2 hour’s drive from Johannesburg and a mere 10 minutes from Sun City. This is the perfect setting for a relaxing family weekend away or for a corporate conference.Kwa Maritane Spa Rejuvenate your mind, body and soul in our magnificent Spa. Indulge yourself with treatments such as Thabayadiotso, our signature treatment, or be pampered with a pedicure while watching the game feeding on the plains in front of the Spa. Whether it is a full body massages, in which the masseur uses Mountain Aloe oil, or a soothing, deep cleansing facial using warm volcanic milk, the professional therapists will simply spoil you.There are four treatment rooms, including one suite suitable for couples looking to share the experience. There is also a manicure and pedicure lounge, a rasul chamber, relaxation area and hydro pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwa Maritane Bush Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing