We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Namur
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super lodge”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Nice lodge and ideal for a family. We were with a 4 years old and everything went smoothly. Rooms are gorgeous and Terrasse and service are nice.

Food is not like a 5 stars hotel but simple and good, this is what you can expect in the middle of the bush :)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    113
    13
    14
    3
See reviews for
112
146
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in March, and I had the most fantastic time. The lodge was picturesque, the surroundings brilliant, and the watering hole behind the restaurant topped it off. The staff were friendly, and always keen to help us (we had a young baby). The game drives were inspiring, and we were lucky to have a pride of lions pass right next to us. Christine, our ranger rally made the difference for us, and is what set the difference beaten being a good, and a memorable experience. Next time we would go self catering, as there are some nice boma and braai areas and as some people have said the buffet is not everyone's cup of tea (the food was not poor though).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_England78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Very nice for a quick weekend getaway - lovely, spacious rooms - loved the outdoor shower. Beautiful lodge, great service. Didn't see a lot on the game drives, but guides made every effort to keep it interesting. Wouldn't mind going back

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is one of my favourite holiday spots and I recommend it.

I have stayed at Black Rhino four times and have booked my fifth stay. I work in Johannesburg and whenever I have family or friends visit from abroad I take them out to Black Rhino for an amazing safari and bush break.

The staff are fantastic. They are warm, happy, friendly and kind. They remember your names and do everything they can to ensure you have a marvelous time.

The lodge is beautiful. It's very comfortable and there are plenty of places to sit and read or watch the animals whether it be on the deck, by the bonfire, in the bar or in the lounge. The rooms are huge and stunning. Looking out into the bush you feel very isolated and relaxed. The rooms are very private and luxurious with a deck and a bath and outdoor shower.

The safari drives depart at 6am and 4.30pm. It is definitely worth waking up early. Coffee and snacks are served before the drive and there are blankets in the truck in winter and ponchos if it rains. As the sun comes up, you stop for coffee and biscuits and on your return you will be treated to a fabulous breakfast, probably the best scrambled eggs and bacon I have ever had.

Lunch is either a buffet or a la carte (I think this depends on how many people are in the lodge) and there's a wonderful selection of fish, meat, salad. The afternoon drive feature a sundowner drink stop.

There are plenty of animals and birds to see on the drives and even near the lodge. The guides are very knowledgeable and it is a wonderful opportunity to learn about nature and your surroundings.

I really cannot speak more highly about this lodge. I have been to other safari lodges and this is still my favourite. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent a couple of days at the the self catering Buffalo Thorn Lodge within the Black Rhino reserve.
The facilities were great, with all areas covered from a jacuzzi,swimming pool,gas bbq (braai), satelite TV and AV unit, pool table, ice machine etc etc. All the facilities were definitely 5 star and what we expected. My only reservation with young children were that the loft accomodation was not child friendly and would fail the health and safety police in the UK and the jacuzzi also did not work properly for the whole stay but this really did not detract from the overall place.

The Lodge is run by a husband/ wife team. Whilst being friendly this most probably for me is where the lodge falls down a bit. With all the gadgets, whistles and bells you'd have expected a tour of the complex with a tuition on each aspect of the facilities but unless you asked you were pretty much left to your own devices. This meant working some of the things like the television, jacuzzi etc yourself. The other part that irked a few of the party we were with was that during the stay staff (cleaning and gardening) were always omnipresent during the day which took away from the total privacy aspect. At other lodges all the work was done whilst you were out on your drive.

The game drives in the reserve were another area where you are better served staying in the main Pilanesberg area or going to another reserve. A lot of our drives skirted the perimeter fence of the conservation area which took a lot away from the drives for me. Secondly like the accomodation unless you asked you were not always given clear updates on what the ranger was after or instruction as to sightings etc. The ranger was very well versed on all park matters and when asked was very insightful and knowledgable but you did have to draw the information out which really should not be the case. General game viewing was sparse. We stayed in the main park too and game there was far more abundant. Drives can be a bit hit and miss but if you are after a pleasant drive with numerous sightings of different game them black rhino is not for you. That said we did see 4 of the big five.

Maybe it was just our timing but the overall feel for me of Buffalo Thorn was a well drilled machine with little character or charm. Drives were 21/2 hours almost exactly, though we enquired about walks or night drives these were not offered; the initial introduction to the facilities was poor and one felt like the couple were going through the motions or maybe in need of a break. Maybe we caught the lodge on a poor week, but given the price and other options available I will not be chancing it again.

In short nice facilities, sparse game and sightings with lots of perimeters game drives and in need of some personality and extra vitality.

PS getting to the reserve is also a bit of a nightmare and the gate attendant in serious need of a public relations training but these are already well documented by others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The drive to the lodge is a rather treacherous road with potholes everywhere - but makes for an adventurous start to a superb weekend in the bush.

Staff were great and service was just superb.

All meals were buffet, but what a great selection there was.

Game drive was insightful with some great animal sightings.

Accommodation was wonderful with a nice outside patio - from where I saw some Kudu in the veld. The outside shower makes for an awesome shower there is an indoor one too if it does get too chilly in winter.

Overall a fantastic stay - most definitely recommended for a relaxing stay in the bush.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the Black Rhino lodge last weekend (February 2014). The rooms were lovely, very spacious and well decorated. Absolutely LOVED the outdoor shower and walking into the airconditioned room after a game drive with temperatures well in the 30's was fantastic.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and the herd of elephants that came to the watering hall a few hundred metres from the verandah on our last day was an added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstelleR736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
13.3 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
786 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
645 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
306 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
#3 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rhino Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rhino Game Lodge

Property: Black Rhino Game Lodge
Address: Road R565, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rhino Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rhino Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rhino Game Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing