We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star in the Bush” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Rhino Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“5 star in the Bush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had friends visiting from Scotland and wanted to give them a real good game experience in the South African bush. We were not disappointed!
From the moment that we arrived at Black Rhino Game reserve, we felt special. The rooms are more than could be expected and the staff were so friendly.
We have never had rooms like this ever. It is beautiful and luxurious, more like a suite than a room! The bathroom is the best, even with additional outside shower.
Our ranger, Arno , was friendly and went out of his way to find game such as Rhino, Elephant and even saw wild dogs twice!
One late afternoon just before we went on the next game drive, the elephants came to the waterhole right on our doorstep! It was the most wonderful experience, especially for our friends.
For their first South African experience we could not ask for anything better. They want to come back to SA and to Black Rhino.
Forgot to say that the food was great, especially the wonderful breakfast!
Thank you Arno, hope to see you next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liketotravelmvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    108
    12
    12
    3
See reviews for
104
135
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a very enjoyable Easter weekend at this lodge. Considering the proximity to our home, we were really impressed with the accommodation, the food (good home cooking) and the general service. We were made to feel very welcome. Game viewing was good. The only down side was the first 2 days, our guide was more a "driver" than a guide, however after we mentioned this to the manager, he showed some more interest in our game activities. Despite this minor hiccup, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely re-visit this lodge.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet - ask for the room furthermost from the lodge area. It is quite a walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We are very familiar with the Pilnesberg and it's various camps but it was our fist stay at Black Rhino Game Loge.
It is the best option in the Pilanesberg if you are looking for "private game reserve experience" : great service, intimacy and confort.
The safaris were also very good and in a part of the Pilanesberg without public roads.
Great to see Buffalo which you usually don't see in the other parts of the park.
The room are big and very confortable (huge bathroom with indoor and outdoor shower, bath). The bedding is also of good quality. Food was also very good, light at lunch which is perfect after a big breakfast and before high tea ! We really enjoy the dinner setting next to the fireplace and at candle lights. The staff is most friendly and pay great attention to guests.
A plus for families travelling with young kids, they accept them !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingwe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Honestly, I was expecting a lot more for the price. At $400/night everything should have been first rate - it was not.

First the good - great staff, friendly, personable, and our game ranger Sibo (sorry if I spelled your name wrong), was the best. He knew his business; when there were no big animals to be found he talked about the birds and the flora. His dawn and dusk drives were the best part of the stay. Thank you!

The so-so - the food. Breakfast was the best. Lunch was adequate. Dinner was... I'll just say, less adequate. Basically the food was overcooked and very bland. And "high tea" was a joke; it was nothing more than a box of cheap biscuits and a kettle.

The not so good - the room. Sure it was huge, but it was a little run down. The shades were worn, the door to the veranda did not open properly, and the faucet almost fell off in my hand. The bed was too short (I'm only 6'2" but had to sleep diagonally) and seriously, would it kill someone to install a bathroom door?

The bad - I hate being nickel and dimed. We were told that the tap water was not potable so they actually sold us water - at a premium! At $400/night? And the bar prices were 2-3 times higher than I paid at some high end spots in both Cape Town and Jo'burg.

So yes, they squeezed a few extra bucks out of me. But sorry, I cannot recommend the Black Rhino and I will not go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fcfrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stay here in Jan2013, what can I say except it was excellent, the best lodge I have stayed in Pilanesberg ever. I come to South Africa ever couple of years and this year brought 7 family member with us and I can't recommend Buffalo Thorn lodge more highly. Elouise and Ian are just the best hosts and the Lodge is run so well and the experience Game drives with Ian were just the best. Do yourself a favor and stay with these guys you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All room are brilliant but I had the one near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mashhad
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

we stayed at black rhino(lodge 4)in march for 2 nights part of a 2 week tour of south africa on our way back from sun city.i can honestly say that it was the favorite part of a fantastic holiday.it has more wow factors than any other hotel i have ever experienced before.no doubt this is by far the best hotel i have ever stayed in south africa.it is surprisingly relaxed and natural.my special thanks goes to MR KEITH the general manager i hope i have named him right!,who went out of his way to please us.this gentleman to take our cases,nothing was too much trouble for him.we recieved warm and friendly greeting on our arrival from him,he spend time to repair my cellphone and confirmed our return transfer.he went out of his way to look after our.i could mention all of their staff.they are all wonderful,the staff are young,good looking and very professional.the rooms are mind blowing.we had a incredibly tasteful room with chimney,inside and out side shower,the bathroom is spacious.we got to see four of the big five,only the buffalo was nowhere to be seen during our stay.our game ranger MR ROSS tried his best to find animals.each drive was a new experience with amazing sightings of elephant,white rhino,giraffe,lions...the restaurant has great food and a view on the nearby pond ,so while you,re eating you may be surprised with a spectacular scene as elephants,zebra,come to drink.my memorable for me were the herds of elephant that came to drink and play at the watering hole behind the lodge.the food was fantastic!and we had one of the best lunches and dinners ever ,drinks it,s not included for lunch and dinner,you have to pay extra,complimentary coffee bar 24 hours and tea,coffee and juice are served before the game drive.only negative point we stayed 2 nights there,they never replaced the soap/shampoo/body lotion that we got on the first day.my mom and my 14 years old niece fell so in love with black rhino,each one of us intends to return south africa,and we are all planning to spend more time at black rhino game lodge.again and again and again compliment to all staff for the job and to MR KEITH for the management.i would absolutely recommend black rhino for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamidrezamonshizadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was an excellent choice for our first safari. I'm not the outdoorsy type so the amenities at this lodge were perfect for me. My husband enjoys camping and the rooms are like log cabins with a thatch roof so he loved it. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. The bathroom is gorgeous & there is a private outdoor shower. The pool was shared with two other cabins but there were no guest assigned to them when we were there. The meals were included in the price which made it an excellent value. The drinks are not included in the price. You'll have to pay for all drinks including sodas at the end of your stay. There is also a conservation fee that you'll be required to pay but you may be able to pay it up front when you book your stay. We book this through a travel agent & they included it in the price. My husband loved the turn-down service at the end of the day. There was only one drawback, we requested a king size bed & it was two twins pushed together. That's not much of a drawback & it didn't bother us. Besides that, our stay was excellent. Also, Pilanesberg is about a 3 hour drive from Jo'burg so make sure you're in a comfortable vehicle. The road is not very well paved so be careful.
The game drives were awesome! We saw some amazing animals and our ranger was very knowledgable about the wildlife and the plantlife. Remember, these animals are wild & tend to be very elusive especially the lions so be patient. You may drive around for a while before you see any animals. I found that you tend to see more on the morning drives but ours started at about 5:30am so you'll have to be willing to get up but it was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
13.3 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
#4 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rhino Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rhino Game Lodge

Property: Black Rhino Game Lodge
Address: Road R565, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rhino Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Rhino Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rhino Game Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing