We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor shower is scary amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Recently stayed October 3 days with a group of 18. It is truly a luxurious place to stay. The rooms great with views of the wilderness. KG is the best guide around so try to get him if possible. He really took us on an adventure. The staff is very attentive, friendly and polite. The spa services and prices were a real treat. My only let down is lack of seafood/fish for those of us that don’t eat meat for meals, otherwise wonderful experience. As we were leaving the staff came out and sang us goodbye which made me want to cry it was so joyful. I hope to visit here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your great review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the views and vistas, your adventure with KG and the spa! Thank you for pointing out that we need to look at expanding our choices for those folk who do not eat meat - one of our philosophies is afterall - do not eat without choice! Thanks again and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 568 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

A great place. We chose this lodge because we had only two nights to do the safari and it had to be near Johanesburg. We saw one lion, lots of elephants, giraffes and buffalos there.
Besides, the rooms are great, the shower is outside (and it is amazing to take a shower watching the elephants pass by - which has happened in our very last day) and all the staff is really nice. We even became Pirates fan because of them.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room close to the main lodge. It may be really tiring to stay far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClauDiasPerezMachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you very much for the fantastic review! We definitely appreciate you taking the time to share your Shepherd's Tree experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to host you again in the future - maybe the next Pirates game?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Shepherd's Tree Lodge is definitely a great place to stay. After driving close to 2 hours from Johannesburg, I wasn't sure what to expect when we made the turn into the lodge. Boy was I surprised! The staff is first rate - always with a smile and ready to guide and help. I stayed for 3 nights and it was definitely worth it. First thing I did when I arrived was to have lunch. They feed you and feed you and feed you. 3 meals plus 2 tea times per day. Room had a big comfy bed with a view of the reserve. The bathroom was huge and included an outdoor shower, which was very refreshing to be one with nature. Two game drives per day - one in the early morning (6:30) and one late in the afternoon (16:00). Definitely bring something warm to wear like a hat and gloves while in the safari truck especially this time of year (August). The truck had plenty of blankets for each person but the wind can be biting. We were only able to find 4 out of the 5 Big 5 animals (didn't see the water buffalo) so that was the only disappointing thing on this adventure but we saw many other animals (e.g. the elephant with the missing tail). My ranger (Andrew) was very friendly and informative during the drives. He definitely knows his stuff. One of the things I noticed in my standard room was that it did not have a television and if I wanted wi-fi, the best reception (for a fee) was supposedly in the lounge area. All in all, I would recommend this lodge and hopefully, if I'm in Pilanesberg, I will get a chance to see the water buffalo.

Room Tip: If you want some exercise, try to get a room way up the hill. You can still call the front desk and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BayAreaTraveler6338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

What a great review - thank you so much! I am pleased you enjoyed the drives, meals, rooms, outdoor shower! You will have to come back for the ever elusive buffalo - they are a real treat to see.
Whilst we are still charging for our WIFI - the logistics of getting and maintaining the connection here is unfortunately at this stage an extremely costly affair - I am excited to say that coverage now extends to the rooms too!
It is fantastic that you found the team so friendly and accommodating - we really hope to host you again some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Firstly I would like to thank all the staff members for an absolutely amazing weekend at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge.

Myself & my wife spent the weekend at Shepherd's Tree from the 27 - 29 September 2013 for our Wedding Anniversary. On our return from our first night game drive we were surpurised to find our room was decorated with roses, candles & a complimentary bottle of champange. This was a very thoughtful & wonderful gesture. THANK YOU.

Our experience was truely amazing. The staff at the lodge were professional & all very friendly.
We have stayed at other Pilanesberg Lodges but we must say this was one of our best experiences.

The food was good & the staff were very accommotating to personal needs. We really enjoyed the bush braai.

The rooms are great & with beautiful views of the park. The King size beds are very comfortable and the free-standing baths are awesome. The outside shower is a great idea but not very practical as it is a bit cold in the early mornings & at night.

The 2 negatives about the lodge in our opinion:
1. There are no T.V's in standard rooms, this is a massive negative - I think as a 5 star Lodge all rooms should have T.V as a minimum.
2. There is no / very very limited cellphone signal. The lodge does offer Wi-Fi but at an EXTRA cost. Most 5 Star resorts offer free Wi-Fi. This really should be looked at.

The Game Drives were awesome. Our Game Ranger - Andrew was one of the nicest, most genuine people we have ever met. He is a great asset to Shepherd's Tree staff.

All in all, what an amazing weekend with very fond memories of our wonderful stay. We would definitely recommend this lodge to anyone & will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms are spaced out so try choose a room closest to the Main Lodge however they do have golf cart f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review for Shepherd's Tree! It was a pleasure hosting you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us.
Whilst most of our guests simply love the peace and quiet that no TV grants them, I can understand that some people enjoy winding down to some TV. Our executive and family suites all have TV's for this reason. Thank you for your comment regarding our signal and WIFI - it always assist us to know what our guests feel and we value your feedback.
We definitely look forward to welcoming you back - hopefully soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We only had an overnight stay here. The lodge itself is in a unique setting within the park, beautiful rooms and great views. The staff were welcoming and very helpful, arranging for us to have a packed breakfast as we had to leave early in the morning but did not want to miss the game drive. Food was excellent. With only had 2 game drives and did not manage to find all of the big 5 but we did see smaller animals we'd not seen before like brown hyena.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HilCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We definitely hope to welcome you back for a longer stay - hopefully soon. Brown hyena are a speciality of the Pilanesberg and great to see, especially for the first time! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I think coming back from such an amazing experience you can't really sum it up and articulate the words to describe Shepherd's tree. Arriving at the main gate you've reached a pivot point in your journey leaving the rat race behind and entering an adventure. Arriving at reception hospitality staff starts carrying you on they're hands and everybody seems to know your name. You are then introduced to this amazing property and some logistical arrangements for your stay. The rooms where beautiful and very spacious... it just missed a "stoep". Food was scrumptious and very well presented and I especially enjoyed the desserts (that Panna cotta was a winner). By far the highlight of this break was the game drives that was included in the package, our game ranger was very knowledgeable and a great host. We even had the illusive- BIG 5 drive, with 6 lions, 2 leopards, a herd of buffalo and an amazing elephant encounter (Shepherd 4 having fun). Overall = I can't wait for my next visit. The Prinsloo Family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danprins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

What truly remarkable words - thank you so much! I have already shared this with the Shepherd's Tree Team and Chef Gloria is enormously pleased you loved her team's food so much. It definitely has been a great few days for game viewing and it is wonderful that you and your family felt the Pilanesberg magic! We look forward to hosting you again - hopefully soon! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a visitor from Canada who wanted to go to a game reserve but had limited time available so the Kruger was out of the question... Two nights at Shepherd's tree game lodge were a very pleasant surprise and a wonderful experience all round - good game viewing with a very knowledgeable and experienced guide, luxurious accommodation, good food and very well trained and friendly staff. Have already recommended it to friends and will visit again...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77Leah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We are pleased that you loved your stay with us and that we were able to assist in showing your visitor some of the beauty that our country has to offer! We look forward to hosting you again and thank you for recommending Shepherd's Tree to your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.5 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
837 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
691 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
#4 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
814 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
350 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge

Address: Pilanesberg Game Reserve | Sun City, Pilanesberg National Park 316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: $496 - $1,578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skirting the northern slopes of an amphitheatre within the Pilanesberg Game Reserve lies Shepherd’s Tree Game Lodge, the lodge enjoys unrestricted vistas of the wilderness area of this big 5 wildlife sanctuary. Sweeping patios and sun decks adjoin the generous guest entertainment areas and rim-flow swimming pool. A gourmet restaurant, open entertainment decks, cigar lounge and gift gallery are amongst some of the facilities that discerning guests will find during their African safari. The lodge also includes a conference facility and Amani Spa. Attention to detail extends beyond the pleasure of your hosts, and is perhaps only rivaled by the contemporary cuisine, freshly prepared by dedicated chefs. Shepherd’s Tree features 13 double and 4 executive suites accommodating a maximum of 60 guests. Absolute privacy is ensures through the linear positioning of the suites along an elevated contour line, and providing panoramic vistas of the reserve. Each chalet features full en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar and safe. Whilst some of our guests will find proximity to the Sun City complex appealing, most of our guests are at Shepherd’s Tree for the thrill and excitement of big game viewing from the comfort of our custom built game viewers. Qualified and experienced guides are tasked with the pleasure of interpreting the sights and sounds of this vast wildlife sanctuary. The reserve is home to the big 5 and cheetah, wild dogs and hippo. Guests are encouraged to join their guide and host on 2 daily safaris, designed around optimal game activity periods, these occur in the early morning and in the late afternoon and evening, the afternoon safari is punctuated by a sundowner stop before continuing into the night with the use of a powerful spotlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shepherd`s Tree Game Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing