We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I think coming back from such an amazing experience you can't really sum it up and articulate the words to describe Shepherd's tree. Arriving at the main gate you've reached a pivot point in your journey leaving the rat race behind and entering an adventure. Arriving at reception hospitality staff starts carrying you on they're hands and everybody seems to know your name. You are then introduced to this amazing property and some logistical arrangements for your stay. The rooms where beautiful and very spacious... it just missed a "stoep". Food was scrumptious and very well presented and I especially enjoyed the desserts (that Panna cotta was a winner). By far the highlight of this break was the game drives that was included in the package, our game ranger was very knowledgeable and a great host. We even had the illusive- BIG 5 drive, with 6 lions, 2 leopards, a herd of buffalo and an amazing elephant encounter (Shepherd 4 having fun). Overall = I can't wait for my next visit. The Prinsloo Family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danprins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

What truly remarkable words - thank you so much! I have already shared this with the Shepherd's Tree Team and Chef Gloria is enormously pleased you loved her team's food so much. It definitely has been a great few days for game viewing and it is wonderful that you and your family felt the Pilanesberg magic! We look forward to hosting you again - hopefully soon! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 534 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a visitor from Canada who wanted to go to a game reserve but had limited time available so the Kruger was out of the question... Two nights at Shepherd's tree game lodge were a very pleasant surprise and a wonderful experience all round - good game viewing with a very knowledgeable and experienced guide, luxurious accommodation, good food and very well trained and friendly staff. Have already recommended it to friends and will visit again...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77Leah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We are pleased that you loved your stay with us and that we were able to assist in showing your visitor some of the beauty that our country has to offer! We look forward to hosting you again and thank you for recommending Shepherd's Tree to your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the Shepherds tree game lodge for our anniversary and received excellent service and great hospitality. Shepherds tree is a game reserve situated in the bushveld amongst the unspoiled nature. The rooms are very romantic and big glass sliding windows allow a spectacular view of the bush from both the bed and the bathroom. We received a warm welcome on our arrival and all the staff were so helpful throughout our stay. The food was good, especially the buffet breakfasts with a wide variety to choose from. The chef even made me pancakes one morning even though it was not part of the menue. We were treated to a wonderful spa treatment as well as a romantic bubble bath, champagne and candles in the room when we arrived back to our room after spending time in the lounge the evening. Mr Moses Zulu (the manager) was so helpful and really made the weekend special as well as all the other staff members. If you want a romantic weekend away with wonderful friendly hospitality and a break from the city, Shepherds tree game reserve is the perfect place.
Johan & Margarethe

Room Tip: The rooms are quite far apart and some rooms are further from the main lodge. there is transport to...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margarethe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Truly wonderful words - thank you for this excellent review! We are so pleased you loved your stay and that Moses and our Shepherd's Tree Team were able to make you feel special for your anniversary - pancakes and all. We hope to see you back for another celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Oh my, what an experience!

Arrived here on Monday afternoon and left mid-day Wednesday. Participated in 4 game drives. Our rooms were part of a package, so not sure of the individual cost. We had a double and were in #13. Up the hill quite a ways from check-in. However, the golf carts used to get us back and forth were timely and often available. There were VERY few guests during our stay, so we had the lodge all to ourselves...at least that is what it felt like. The meals were divine. Compliments to the chefs! One of them was named Johanna and she came out to meet us as my friend loved her gazpacho. All meals are included in the price.

You receive a wake-up call each morning at 5:30 to meet for coffee and start the 6:00 game drive. Because you are on an open truck, it is windy and cold. Face needs to be covered as well as all extremities. Even if there is no sun, wear sunglasses or goggles.

JP was the ranger that led our drives. He was more excited than we were. Great to see someone that enjoys their job so much. We saw a host of animals including 4 of the big five.

Some of the hotel employees that I want to highlight are Portia at the from desk, JP our guide, and all of the servers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sk84fungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a great and detailed review for us! It really made the Shepherd's Tree Team's day - especially for JP, Chef Johanna and Portia - we all look forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just got back from 3 plus days at Shepherd's Tree. Accommodation was great, food very good and the game drives outstanding.

Well worth a stay and great value for the money.

We saw a good mix of game and the guide was outstanding. His knowledge of the fauna, the flora, the ecology and more was impeccable and he was service oriented at all times.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABKBOBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review - we are so pleased that you loved your stay at Shepherd's Tree so much - and we hope to host you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My daughter and I visited this lodge to get our "bush fix". The accomodation was beautiful. Not the typical colonial style game lodge accomodation. The decor has more of an art decor and modern feel. The rooms are spacious, but lack a private deck or patio. The bathroom is large with an outside shower.
The staff were outstanding. Exceptionally friendly and welcoming. The waiters are trained well and are polite. The food was 5 star. Every meal was delicious, including the snacks on the game drives. Game was plentiful, but no cats sad to say.

All in all a very pleasant experience

Room Tip: All rooms are the same high standard and clean
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy2bJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for the great review and for choosing Shepherd's Tree for your bush fix! We are pleased that you enjoyed it. Your comment about not having balconies on our standard rooms is one that we are in the process of addressing. It is something that has come up before, and we believe is vital for our guest experience - we are very excited about the fact hat we are adding balconies. So far a quarter have been built and we are pushing through the remaining as fast as possible. So thank you for that and we totally agree with you!

We hope that you will return to visit us again and even if the cats do not show themselves - you can relax on your private patio under the moonlight, star splashed bush skies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Everything about our stay was excellent. From the time we arrived to the time we left we were treated like royalty Sandra and her staff. They went out of their way to make us welcome. The rooms are beautifully decorated with very comfortable beds, lovely crisp white linen and had a well stocked coffee station. A nice surprise were the slightly scented wardrobes. The bathrooms are large with a bath and outdoor shower and quality amenities.
We loved the food at all the meals and the selection was excellent. We saw 4 of the big five on our game drives and just missed the leopard.
All in all we highly recommend this lodge. We could not fault anything and would definitely return.
Being only an easy 2 hour drive from Johannesburg it is a wonderful alternative to the Kruger area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are situated in such a way that they are completely private
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majortom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for this amazing review! Even noticing the scent in the wardrobes detail - housekeeping will be proud when they read this - thank you! We hope to host you again soon and hope that the Shepherd's Tree rangers can find you that elusive leopard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.5 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
805 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
671 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
#3 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
778 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
322 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge

Address: Pilanesberg Game Reserve | Sun City, Pilanesberg National Park 316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: $418 - $1,563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skirting the northern slopes of an amphitheatre within the Pilanesberg Game Reserve lies Shepherd’s Tree Game Lodge, the lodge enjoys unrestricted vistas of the wilderness area of this big 5 wildlife sanctuary. Sweeping patios and sun decks adjoin the generous guest entertainment areas and rim-flow swimming pool. A gourmet restaurant, open entertainment decks, cigar lounge and gift gallery are amongst some of the facilities that discerning guests will find during their African safari. The lodge also includes a conference facility and Amani Spa. Attention to detail extends beyond the pleasure of your hosts, and is perhaps only rivaled by the contemporary cuisine, freshly prepared by dedicated chefs. Shepherd’s Tree features 13 double and 4 executive suites accommodating a maximum of 60 guests. Absolute privacy is ensures through the linear positioning of the suites along an elevated contour line, and providing panoramic vistas of the reserve. Each chalet features full en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar and safe. Whilst some of our guests will find proximity to the Sun City complex appealing, most of our guests are at Shepherd’s Tree for the thrill and excitement of big game viewing from the comfort of our custom built game viewers. Qualified and experienced guides are tasked with the pleasure of interpreting the sights and sounds of this vast wildlife sanctuary. The reserve is home to the big 5 and cheetah, wild dogs and hippo. Guests are encouraged to join their guide and host on 2 daily safaris, designed around optimal game activity periods, these occur in the early morning and in the late afternoon and evening, the afternoon safari is punctuated by a sundowner stop before continuing into the night with the use of a powerful spotlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shepherd`s Tree Game Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing