We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

First timers in South Africa, stuck for work in Johannesburg, looking for a week-end escape, The Shepherd's Tree was the perfect choice; I loved the luxurious lodges with the amazing large bed and large bathrooms and the outside showers and of course the drives through the wild! we had a great ranger and we saw amazing landscapes and captured so many pics with the usual suspects: elephants, giraffes, zebras, hippos and rhinos! after each ride we would be waited by staff at the lodge with cherry and hot cocoa and a great fire in the fireplace; the staff is very accommodating, very responsive, very helpful; the internet is rather a problem but then again, please don't even consider connecting when in such an amazing place; the view from the lodge is absolutely unbelievable; all in all, whenever in Joburg not to be missed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandriciul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    59
    30
    9
    8
See reviews for
133
209
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, ACT
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have recently returned from staying three nights at the lodge and we are still so happy from the wonderful experience we had on every level. From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for a fantastic experience. The rooms were absolutely lovely and the views over the Pilanesburg Park were out of this world. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. We loved everything about our stay, from the lovely food and surrounds, to the peaceful atmosphere and amazing views. And I haven't even gotten to the amazing experience of the game drives! Declan our driver/ranger was very knowledgeable and we really enjoyed is commentary of the animals that we passed on the way. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The food/meals were of top quality and we had the pleasure of being served by friendly and professional staff, including Jabu (who also calls himself Happy). With such high spirits from all the staff, this really did contribute to us having the best time. We hope to return with our extended family sometime soon in the not too distance future. Thank you Sheperd's Tree Lodge for giving us the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetjip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The lodge is still small enough to offer personal service and the staff is very helpful and friendly. It is only 2 hours drive from Johannesburg so very convenient for a short break on a business trip. The game drives are conducted in a private area and in the public area of Pilanesberg but you stay out late so you "miss" most of the public vehicles. The rangers are knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions. With an award winning Spa, a great room the only thing i missed was my wife.

Room Tip: If an executive suite is in your budget it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoSafariSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Shepherds tree lodge is the perfect weekend getaway or try and stay even longer... Service is outstanding, staff extremely friendly and the food delicious. We loved the outside braai dinner - dining under the stars just perfect. The lodge is beautifull and the rooms pure luxury. Our game ranger was very pleasant and knowledgable and we had a wonderful time at Shepherd's tree game lodge, looking forward to go back there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently had a visit at Shepherds Tree and what a fantastic place, The staff are the greatest they make you feel so at home the rooms immaculate and the Manager "Moses" well there are no words to describe my short stay there. Thank you to all from the maintenance guys to the manager you are all very professional

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptrisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was recently treated to two lovely nights and three days joining family at the luxurious Shepherd's Tree Lodge. The rooms were stunning, with the outdoor showers a particular highlight. Service was excellent throughout, and the afternoon teas fab. Some of the food was superb, although variable, to be fair, and not worthy of 5* accreditation throughout. The highlight had to be the stunning game drives; what fabulous scenery, and with Greg as our ranger, we left really well informed and educated. Another highlight would be the drummers providing authentic and vibrant entertainment at the afternoon tea. Special memories in a STUNNING environment :-)

Room Tip: The adjoining family rooms are superb, with an ample lounge and great porch between the two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janinesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

needed a family break with two small kids, not more than 2 hours from johannesburg in a malaria free area. found shepherd's tree, had lots of reservations about what we would find there, and we were pleasantly surprised. game rangers were fantastic and very knowledgeable, we had edmar who was great. he also organised a bush bramble for the little ones and took care to point out the little insects and creatures that we normally dont get to really understand. food was ok, not the quality of a 5 star lodge. staff really try, but something, perhaps proffessionlism, though their eagerness and friendlyness is heartfelt. we were a little confused with the decor though- romantic italian in the veld?

Room Tip: we had an executive room that was really large and had everything we needed and more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyguy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.5 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
783 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
645 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
#3 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
747 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
173 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge

Property: Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Address: Pilanesberg Game Reserve | Sun City, Pilanesberg National Park 316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skirting the northern slopes of an amphitheatre within the Pilanesberg Game Reserve lies Shepherd’s Tree Game Lodge, the lodge enjoys unrestricted vistas of the wilderness area of this big 5 wildlife sanctuary. Sweeping patios and sun decks adjoin the generous guest entertainment areas and rim-flow swimming pool. A gourmet restaurant, open entertainment decks, cigar lounge and gift gallery are amongst some of the facilities that discerning guests will find during their African safari. The lodge also includes a conference facility and Amani Spa. Attention to detail extends beyond the pleasure of your hosts, and is perhaps only rivaled by the contemporary cuisine, freshly prepared by dedicated chefs. Shepherd’s Tree features 13 double and 4 executive suites accommodating a maximum of 60 guests. Absolute privacy is ensures through the linear positioning of the suites along an elevated contour line, and providing panoramic vistas of the reserve. Each chalet features full en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar and safe. Whilst some of our guests will find proximity to the Sun City complex appealing, most of our guests are at Shepherd’s Tree for the thrill and excitement of big game viewing from the comfort of our custom built game viewers. Qualified and experienced guides are tasked with the pleasure of interpreting the sights and sounds of this vast wildlife sanctuary. The reserve is home to the big 5 and cheetah, wild dogs and hippo. Guests are encouraged to join their guide and host on 2 daily safaris, designed around optimal game activity periods, these occur in the early morning and in the late afternoon and evening, the afternoon safari is punctuated by a sundowner stop before continuing into the night with the use of a powerful spotlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shepherd`s Tree Game Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing