We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ASHDEN LODGE IS SUPERB”
Review of Ashden Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mafikeng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashden Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Mafikeng B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Ashden Lodge is brilliant all round. The host, Jenny, her mom and all staff are very welcoming and attentive.
The air conditioned room (great for winter chill) was super clean and well equipped; the 'Dove' soap in the shower and Ferrero Rocher chocolates on the pillow, special touches.
Daily fresh towels, and soft linen that are changed regularly. I visited in winter and the duvet and extra blankets were most welcome and cosy.
The warm and cold breakfast is scrumptious with superb ingredients and well prepared by friendly staff.
The property is very secure and guests have their personal access remote control.
The venue and surrounds are aesthetically pleasing.
Ashen Lodge is the superlative BnB and I recommend it very strongly!
Dr Kay B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DrKayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 40 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Home away from home, Jenny and Dizzy make staying here like visiting an aunt and a gran - their hospitality is genuine, considerate and warm. It's situated on the outskirts of town adjacent the Mafikeng Game Reserve which makes you feel like you're on a farm, and is nice and quiet to go for a run. The rooms are spacious, neat and have everything you need, often including some of Dizzy's home baked crunchies to snack on. There's a decent selection on TV, a bar fridge with complimentary water (and actual milk mini-cartons!), aircon, a work desk and ample cupboard space. Perhaps my favorite part about staying here is the breakfast - it's HUGE, delicious and served upon your timing request. Dizzy also makes the most amazing fresh muffins, last time she sent me off with a few freshly baked in a brown paper bag, just like my gran used to!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Timbo_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This very pleasant place to stay over for business is on the edge of town next to the game reserve, so no noise or traffic. The bedrooms and bathrooms are very spacious as well as spotlessly clean. Breakfast is out of this world. Don't miss the cheese muffins! After this breakfast you will not need lunch. The cost is very reasonable too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a great small lodge located on the outskirts of the town. Very warm welcome by hosts who show one around, enquire after your needs and settle you in. Great large rooms with very comfortable beds, excellent air-conditioning, large TV, small sitting area and a huge separate bathroom with bathtub and separate shower stall. Great breakfast with fresh baked muffins, fresh fruit with eggs and bacon on order. Secure parking. A great place to overnight for a journey between destinations.

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelProCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This year my husband and I took our seventh trip to South Africa. Some years ago, because of his interest in the Boer War, we visited Mafikeng and stayed for the first time at Ashden Lodge. It had only just opened but we were immediately struck by the warm reception given to us by the whole team at the Lodge and the first rate accommodation it provided.
We so enjoyed our stay that we have since returned to stay there a number of times as it makes a wonderful stopping off point for us on the way to the Madikwe Game Reserve,
This year we stayed in the new modern wing which had been built since we were last there.
The rooms were of exceptional quality, spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable with all the facilities required for a pleasant stay.
The breakfasts were up to their usual amazing standard, providing all you could need for the day ahead and a special mention for the home made muffins!
The return visit reinforced my belief that this is one of the best guest houses we have stayed at during our travels in South Africa, you could not get more thoughtful and helpful hosts and staff than those found at Ashden Lodge - It really is a gem of a guest house!.
We have no hesitation in recommending it as a place to stay and we hope, once again, to return there in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank justdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at Ashden Lodge on our first visit to South Africa and have no hesitatation in recommending it to any one travelling in the Mafikeng area. The setting is peaceful, accommodation first rate and breakfasts amazing! Every one at the lodge is cheerful and welcoming and it has the added benefit of being next door to Mafikeng Game Reserve which is well worth a visit.

David, Judie and Mike
New Zealand

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Lachenalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Ashden Lodge is a wonderfully run Bed and Breakfast on the border of the Mafikeng Game Reserve. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, luxurious and always kept pristine. The rooms have air conditioners, TV's and are very very comfortable. The hosts have an amazing eye for detail, are extremely thoughtful and welcoming. Jenny and Desia know how to make you feel totally at home and at ease and nothing is too much of an inconvenience for them. I have stayed at Ashden on numerous occasions and have never had a bad experience. The gardens are lush and well kept, the property is peaceful and tranquil. The staff are friendly and polite. I would not want to stay anywhere else when next I am in Mafeking - in fact I am looking forward to going back soon! Totally, 100% recommend this B&B both for business travelers or tourists.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mafikeng hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mahikeng
1.3 mi away
Peermont Walmont at Mmabatho Palms
0.8 mi away
Ferns Country House
Ferns Country House
#5 of 22 in Mafikeng
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boga Legaba Guest House & Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Ratanang Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 22 in Mafikeng
2 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fanna Inn
Fanna Inn
#4 of 22 in Mafikeng
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashden Lodge

Address: 1088 Jakaranda Street, Aslaagte, Mafikeng 2745, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Mafikeng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mafikeng
Price Range: $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have queen size beds, bar fridges, air conditioning, Sony flat screens with DSTV - 10 channels including Sky and Discovery. If you have a family, single beds can be placed in the double rooms. All refreshments are provided including bottled water. Ashden Lodge is run as a Bed and Breakfast. Guests can utilize the kitchen which has fridges, ice machines, stoves, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing