We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Bain's House

Bain's House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bain's House
Ranked #22 of 72 Upington B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Beautiful surroundings and garden, lovely home and comfortable room. Very helpful staff. Delicious breakfast on patio. Eleanor du Plessis an excellent hostess and was very helpful with travelling routes

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen_Naude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at Bain's House after a week in the Kalahari Desert and it was the perfect place to wash off the salt and sand. It's really nicely decorated inside and there's a fantastic water feature in the entrance hall. Our room was really big and the bed was so comfortable - especially after the camp-beds! The bathroom was huge with a nice bath and a great, separate shower. It was very clean and the only place I stayed on our trip where a hairdryer was provided. They do dinner but you need to book ahead. I wish we had as Upington isn't the best place to eat out and the cakes on show at Bain's House looked to die for. We want to come back to the Kalahari and we'll be staying here again when we do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoneyScamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a stop-over en route, booked at the last minute as our first choice was not available. Our room was a spacious one, with a large bathroom. Clearly a lot of care and attention to detail had been given to furnishing the bedroom. The hostess had showed us around before taking us to our room. As we were a late booking, dinner couldn't be taken at Bain's House; however, there were plenty of places within 1km for eating.

Breakfast is the area that let the guest house down. It seemed that no attention was being paid to the buffet and a couple of items had run out. There also wasn't that much choice. Perhaps because our previous night's b/b had been somewhat better and at a lesser price, we felt that Bain's fell short - not quite achieving Very Good status mainly because of its breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at Bains House in July 2012 and what a great experience it was, despite the cold the room were heated up , extra blankets whch are fluffly and warm and when we returned from the Restaurant there was n warm water bottel in the bed and sherry to enjoy before we got into bed.
Breakfast was excellent and nothing was to much trouble for the lovley hostess and her very informative husband.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

As we arrived at the airport, I noticed I had forgot to keep their address and fone number. After a kind help of the people in charge of the information booth (at the airport), I finally could call the hostess and she came to pick us up within 10 minutes. As she took us to the guesthouse, she showed us some interesting spots of the city. She was very kind and helpful. We stayed at a very large and well equiped chalet. All in all, considering we were only staying one day before and another after our trip to Kgalagadi, our time here was pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uprightM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2005

Small, but very comfortable guesthouse in Upington; with 3 rooms, garden with pool overlooking Orange River; refurbished in 2005. Abel Jacobs, the host and chef, made my 3-night stay absolutely enjoyable!

Will come again!

Upington, 80 Schroeder Str.

For more info and pics visit my homepage: http://www.pangolin.li/travel_sites/RSA_Namibia_Sep05/UTN_Nama_main.html

Helpful?
2 Thank meerkat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Upington hotels
2.6 mi away
a La Fugue Guesthouse
a La Fugue Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Upington
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Place Manor
River Place Manor
#1 of 72 in Upington
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun River Kalahari Lodge
Sun River Kalahari Lodge
#4 of 20 in Upington
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aqua Viva
Aqua Viva
#6 of 72 in Upington
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moonriver Guest House
Moonriver Guest House
#42 of 72 in Upington
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Must River Residence
Le Must River Residence
#9 of 72 in Upington
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bain's House

Property: Bain's House
Address: 80 Schroder Street | Kalahari, Upington 8801, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Upington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Upington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bain's House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At AG Bain’s House tranquility meets timeless elegance. The moment you enter the guest house through the big double doors you are greeted by an unexpected sight of an indoor waterfall and fishpond. As the guests book in, fish inquisitively pop up for greetings. Immediately you feel at home. Even more so, if your hostess shows you all the treasures to make you stay comfortable – the cozy lounge with the big fire place where you can sample our local wines, the verandah and the magical garden. The lounge leads onto an exquisite long verandah with a reed ceiling. Sipping you first cup of coffee on the verandah, you have a view over the lush garden with a black swimming pool and the Orange River valley where the fish eagles circle the skies. Only 1km from CBD AG Bain’s House offer you peace of mind with a secure parking area. Our location makes your visit to Upington one of comfort, peace and quiet. Airport transfers, tourist maps, traveler information are available from you hostess. Upington is strategically situated for visits to the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Augrabies Falls National Park and Witsand Nature Reserve. Other interests in Upington is the grave of Scotty Smith, our own Robin Hood, the steam train at the Railway station, the avenue of Palm trees on the Island, Kanon Island, an agriculture centre, sunset cruises on the river, and a wine tasting and buying experience at the Orange River Wine Cellars – the second largest in the world. This is also a land of contrasts with various scenic attractions and 4x4 trails for four-wheel drive enthusiast. Come and enjoy the clear starlit night skies which create a magical atmosphere not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bain's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing