We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and spectacular”
Review of Urikaruus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Urikaruus
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Can't rate this camp highly enough. I was lucky enough to get two nights here and the second day we stayed in camp and watched the watering hole which was very busy with game coming to and fro. Bird life is abundant too. This is Sanparks accommodation so all the basics are there, no luxury but well equipped kitchen and comfy beds and a shower, all you really need in the bush. The units are not serviced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sable37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Urikaruus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 36 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

No wonder it is difficult to get into this camp.
We stayed in No. 1 - the end unit looking up the Auob River bed.
The waterhole was right there, and the Kalahari lions drinking with bloody mouths was an amazing sight. We also saw our first ever Cape Fox.
Wow it was cold in the morning, & our water pipes froze - it was August, & our ranger told us
that it's a cold camp in winter & hot in summer. The warm blankets saved us.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bozzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this wonderful camp next to the dry river bed.The camp is in a very good position with lots of game that came drinking at the waterhole next to camp.We had a leopard,hyenas,12 girafes,cape fox,brown hyeana etc at the camp.The huts are very comfortable and the kitchen well equiped

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This must be the number-1 wilderness camp in the Kgalagadi. It's just you, 3 neighbours and your own private waterhole with amazing animal sightings, day and night.

The waterhole is just 50 meters from the cabins so photography is great from this camp.

We rated sleep quality as 'poor' as we don't get much sleep at this camp due to the constant flow of animals all night! Lions, leopards (a rare sighting), caracal, cheetahs, brown hyenas, spotted hyenas and so on. We spend most of the night jumping up to photograph these subjects when we hear them, but we love it!!

Room Tip: Cabins number 1 and 3 have better views of the waterhole
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is off the Auob valley in a prime game viewing area. A local hyena den nearby and excellent chances of cheetah and lion.
Its built on stilts, utterly charming although the wood construction does retain the heat and let it out at night. Seperate kitchen/ balcony and bedroom/bathroom on different levels, all great fun. Nice eating out area with braai overlooking a busy waterhole. Close to watehole and well lit. Kitchen even has a gas toaster. All gas of course here. The fridges struggle at 41C.
Interconnecting walkways mean until you want to drive out your feet never touch the ground.
Yes its really good but book early. V popular

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Unit 2 hat den besten Blick auf das Wasserloch.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stefano_and_debora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upington
0.0 mi away
!Xaus Lodge
!Xaus Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oranjerus Resort
Oranjerus Resort
#1 of 20 in Upington
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Place Manor
River Place Manor
#1 of 72 in Upington
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sun River Kalahari Lodge
Sun River Kalahari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Upington
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Just B Guesthouse
Just B Guesthouse
#4 of 72 in Upington
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Esperance Guesthouse
#19 of 72 in Upington
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urikaruus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urikaruus

Address: | Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Upington, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Upington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Upington
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing