We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in Upington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Must River Residence
Ranked #9 of 72 Upington B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2013

What a great surprise. We were not aware that Upington was such a lovely place. Le Must was a lovely place. The manager was absolutely fantastic. She was not only welcoming but very helpful in guiding us about what to do in our half-day in town. I was able to enjoy a quick dip in the river which was very refreshing. We stayed at "the best room" and fully enjoyed it. It was not only beautifully decorated but extremely comfortable. The location is amazing right next to the river and a few blocks from the main street where all the shops and restaurants are. Breakfast was very good. We wish we could have stayed at least one more day! What a wonderful place!

Room Tip: The back rooms in the main building have river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OffTheBeatenPath2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkje b, General Manager at Le Must River Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you so very much for your very kind review. It was wonderful to have you with us and sincerely hope to have you visit us again soon.
Warmest wishes
Dirkje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 80 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great location on the river, pool and garden stunning, the rooms are perfect, we love staying there after roughing it in the Kalahari. I highly recommend this guest house, I have used it with clients and privately for many years and it remains one of my favourites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mikeraymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkje b, General Manager at Le Must River Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you very, very much for your wonderful comments. It is always such a pleasure to welcome our old friends back. We certainly look forward to seeing you again this year, either privately or with a group.

Warmest regards
Dirkje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Thank you to Dirkje and Abel for an unforgetable stay. We had nothing but first class service and great breakfasts. What a clean and beautiful enviroment to spend a couple of days lazying at the pool and gazing across the Orange River. We will be back Von & Reinette Krause Johannesburg

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Reinette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel J, Public Relations Manager at Le Must River Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Von & Reinette,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review for us. This is such an important "benchmarking tool" for us.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your time with us. It was great having you in our house and to have had the opportunity to meet you.

Looking forward to having you with us again real soon.

Dirkje, Abel & Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

What an awesome experience in a beautiful venue. Dirkje, Abel and the rest of the staff made our stay thoroughly enjoyable – they were attentive, friendly and highly knowledgeable about Upington & surrounds. This is a true home away from home – wish we could’ve extended our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Riaan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel J, Guest Relations Manager at Le Must River Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Good day Riaan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. This really helps us to improve on our service and to make your future stay even more enjoyable.

We really look forward to welcoming you again at Le Must very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This establishment has a great location and a great looking building. However for R1000 per night bed and breakfast, I felt that it is about 40% overpriced. This is not a hotel, it is an "upmarket" guest house.
Disappointing aspects, only SABC TV channels available. No Tea or Coffee stations in the rooms, however coffee is available at a communal station in main house.
The toilet has a cheap plastic seat and the shower is old and grubby.
Host was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel J, Manager at Le Must River Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your most valued comments.

We are in the process of attending to all our rooms, especially the bathrooms with three rooms having been completed prior to your arrival and room 7 currently "under construction".

The toilet seat in room 5 (your room) has been replaced with a porcelain seat.

We contacted our tv specialist regarding the DStv channels only showing the SABC channels and it turned out that the decoder had somehow been changed to the Portugese selection which has limited channels. That has been corrected.

We would love to receive you back in our home and do hope that next time all will be to your liking.


Warmest regards
Dirkje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Kgalagdi National Park. Our room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was tasty and ample. I found the location to be very useful for us, because we needed to acquire some items before heading off to the park. Le Must is on a quiet side street, but only a very short walk from the shopping areas in Upington, as well as a couple of restaurants. Overall I was very pleased and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jnhdrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel J, Front Office Manager at Le Must River Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review, we really appreciate it. It was a pleasure to have you with us and hope you'll be back for a visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

It's a very beautiful place to come back to after a difficult day at the office. Very central situated to CBD. Staff are very helpful & friendly & I loved the cats. The breakfast was excellent! Will definitely promote & re-visit Le Must Residence!

Room Tip: Room number 4 was excellent - very spacious and very nice bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Shereen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkje b, Manager at Le Must River Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

dear Shereen

thank you so much for your review - we do hope to receive you, soon

Dirkje and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Upington hotels
2.8 mi away
a La Fugue Guesthouse
a La Fugue Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Upington
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Place Manor
River Place Manor
#1 of 72 in Upington
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be My Guest Accommodation Upington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
African Vineyard Hotel/Guesthouse, Wedding, Conference & Wellness SPA
0.4 mi away
Aqua Viva
Aqua Viva
#7 of 72 in Upington
36 reviews
15.0 mi away
Oranjerus Resort
Oranjerus Resort
#1 of 20 in Upington
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Must River Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Must River Residence

Address: 14 Budler Street, Upington 8801, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Upington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Upington
Price Range: $71 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Must River Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Must Residence is a superior boutique guest house on the banks of the verdant Orange River, in the business centre of Upington. The residence is reminiscent of the great Italian villas of the lake district of Italy and is lush with antiquities, heirlooms and other treasures collected from all over the world. Le Must Residence with 11 bedrooms and suites, is a haven of peace and tranquility and will host you with comfort. You will love our friendly, local staff and our unpretentious Northern Cape hospitality.We are proud to be a non-hotel property. We do look forward to receiving you as our guests. Dirkje and Le Must staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Le Must River Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing