We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”

Choctaw Spur Steak Ranch
Ranked #11 of 46 Restaurants in Kimberley
Price range: $4 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Spoil your family & eat out at Choctaw Spur, we are the best steakhouse & burger restaurant in Kimberley. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

I stay in Cape Town and i have visited Kimberley for the weekend. On 28th April 2019 i visited Choctaw Spur for the late lunch, and i have experienced a bad treatment. At the reception i met 3 waitresses who literally failed to welcome as a customer, instead i had to watch as they refused to serve me. Eventually one of them decided to assist me and serve me, and i must comment her she ended up giving a good service. However as i was leaving i had chat with the same waitress about what happened as i was walking in, and she confirmed the fact that some waitresses do not want to serve black people due to fact that they don't tip. That really disappointed me and i hope the management can give more training to assist them to deal with such cases better next time. We unfortunately can be treated differently based on our colour of our skin. It's a pity i did not manage to get the name of the waitress, but she knows i thanked her for choosing to be a proper human being. I think she deserve a raise on her salary.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank motheoconsortium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Choctaw Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear motheoconsortium,

Thank You, for taking the time to review Choctaw Spur family restaurant. We are terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience at our restaurant.

We are committed to providing our customers with outstanding food, excellent service and we set very high standards for ourselves, and as such we are disappointed to hear that we did not live up to these standards. We at Spur do not tolerate any form of prejudice or discrimination and we pride ourselves on our diverse workforce and a culture of tolerance and respect in our restaurant.

We would appreciate the opportunity to get in touch with you to find out more about your visit. You are welcome to contact our customer care team on 0860 007 787 or email us a copy of your review to customer-care@spur.co.za

Kind regards,
Spur Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 47 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2019

We went to the Spur for their special on burgers and received great service and good food. I was pleasantly surprised when the electricity went off with load shedding, and seconds later the generators kicked in. They are clearly geared for continuous service under difficult circumstances.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank denisecoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Choctaw Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Hi Denisecoetzee,

Thanks so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. Nothing pleases us more than satisfying our customers.

We hope to see you again soon for another Spurrrific experience.

Warm regards,
Spur Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

We used to frequent the place often. Big place, lots of tables.. Big screen for sports and 2 play areas for the kids.
We hadn't been for a while as we had bad service a while back. We decided to pop in again.
Same issues..
They get so busy on Saturday afternoons that the forget to cleanup properly.
Our kids got hurt within 5 minutes.
We left, for the last time.
Sorry.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dazman626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Choctaw Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2019

Dear Dazman626,

Thank you for taking the time to review Choctaw Spur family restaurant. We appreciate your feedback as, without it, we would not be able to identify areas which we need to improve.

We would appreciate the opportunity to get in touch with you directly to discuss your recent visit. Kindly email us your contact details as well as a copy of this review to customer-care@spur.co.za so that we can ensure that any necessary changes are made.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Spur Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019 via mobile

We had a great evening at Choctaw Spur. Enjoyed the food which was enough and tasty. The kids play area was clean and supervised by adult staff which is a big plus. The only comment worth mentioning is that we waited two hours for an easy order. Other than that we had a great evening.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank whbsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Choctaw Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2019

Hi Whbsmit,

Thank you so much for your review of Choctaw Spur restaurant. Although we are thrilled to know you enjoyed your meal experience with us, We are sorry the wait took longer than expected.

We hope to have you and the kids dine with us again, soon!

Warm regards,
Spur Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Sunday 12 August 2018, Stayed overnight in Kimberley and the receptionist recommended the Spur. Waiter friendly and helpfull. Food was delivered in good timing. Excellent quality and portion was good. Husband had a T-Bone and he was very happy with the way it was prepared. Definitely a good stop.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Choctaw Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Hello Mari,

Thank you for taking the time to review our family restaurant. We're thrilled to know that your hotel recommended the Choctaw Spur, and that you enjoyed not only our great customer service but also our delicious steak.

We look forward to seeing you again when stay over night in Kimberly on your next trip.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choctaw Spur Steak Ranch also viewed

 
Kimberley, Northern Cape
Kimberley, Northern Cape
 
Kimberley, Northern Cape
Kimberley, Northern Cape
 

Been to Choctaw Spur Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing