We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Kimberley, warm friendly and so much history”
Review of Kimberley Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimberley Club
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kimberley
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had the fortunate experience of being booked in to the Kimberley Club for a couple of nights due to a mix up by my customer. This will be my first choice every time from now on. The building is not too dissimilar to an English stately home in its interior design and decor. The history of the building, the club and Kimberley are well documented throughout the hotel. Hit the bar (observe the dress code) on a Friday evening and you will encounter the club members having their weekly wind down. They are a very hospitable and friendly group who made me feel almost a temporary member of the club. I was fortunate enough to have room one which is a two room suite, it is huge with a roll top bath at one end of the bedroom, plus an additional shower room. The lounge area is also large and has a three peice suite along with a could of tables with chairs. The food in the restaurant (dress code applies) is very good and amazing value, drinks are also very cheap. The service is very good with the staff all remembering my name and addressing me persnally. The breakfast offering is varied and plentiful with the hot options cooked to order. The bed was comfortable and the whole room fitted out with high quality materials. All in all this was an excellent experience and would highly recommend this hotel and associated club to all. Be aware there is a dress code for the bar and restaurant, long trousers and collared shirts are required. Denim is OK and polo shirts as well.

Room Tip: Try and get room one if available, although it is at the front so can suffer a little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyfatnbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 146 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you like history, you should stay at the Kimberley Club. The rroms are really good, although quite historical. As the Club is still well alive, you feel that this is not a hotel but a Club. Which is nice if you allow yourself not being too demanding. The breakfast is OK. On the terrace with the original entrance door, you feel the old mining days. But be aware of the the restaurant. There are much better options in Kimberley.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmun1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family stayed at the Kimberley Club for 3 nights. Options in Kimberley are limited so we were pleased to find something different. The hotel has a long history and it was a pleasant experience. The food was very good with large portions and many options. The building is very old, also some of the furniture, but this is all part of the experience. If you are into modern hotels then this is not the place for you. It does have all the typical things you would expect in a 4 star hotel. Our room was not very clean with lots of dust under the bed and the chairs on the balcony had not been dusted off in weeks. This was very disappointing as it is something that can be rectified so easily. Beds were comfortable. Sound from the street not good. Lots of noise on the Sat evening from cars racing down Du Toitspan road. Staff very helpful but not very friendly. This could just be part of the local culture. Overall not a bad experience and we will probably stay there again, but only because options are limited.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KalahariTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Glad we only stayed here for one night. The reception staff were disinterested. As the room was facing the road we could hear traffic and cars racing by all night. Room was ok although did not appreciate the cupboard like shower room with the basin in the bedroom! Overpriced. As the hotel was not busy when we were there, the waiting staff were bored and breakfast was uninteresting.The great thing about Kimberley was leaving it and driving down to Graaf Reinet. A wonderful road with beautiful views.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard and not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesG333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had the privilege of spending a night in the Kimberley Club.
General atmosphere and decor amazing. At every turn there is some interesting feature to observe.
Beautifully decorated room - excellent meals.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Makes one want to return again for another night!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HambaEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel is looking tired. Towels need replacing - very hard. A general overall of decor is required. One small bar of soap in room. Grouting in shower needs replacing. Good coffee machine! Friendly front desk staff. Airconditioning and ceiling fan available.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony - a porter will be required to carry big bags upstairs, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Apparently when De Beers moved their office out of Kimberley some years ago, they renovated the Kimberley Club Boutique Hotel back to its former glory on their way out, allowing it to reclaim some of its former status. So this grand old building now has a new lease on life. Fortunately our two day stay included being there for Sunday lunch, which is when the newly appointed chef makes a particular effort with a buffet, and locals flock in to enjoy food. The hotel has a miriad woodpaneled rooms, a lovely verranda, a floral sittingroom, and more. I love staying in venues with a strong historical significance, and this building, which housed amongst the richest men in the world in the 1880s, is definitely one of them.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maynardophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
1.7 mi away
Kimberley Anne Hotel
Kimberley Anne Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kimberley
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Kimberley
Road Lodge Kimberley
#7 of 10 in Kimberley
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oleander Guest House
Oleander Guest House
#2 of 72 in Kimberley
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jungnickel Guesthouse
Jungnickel Guesthouse
#3 of 72 in Kimberley
73 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Palma
Villa Palma
#5 of 72 in Kimberley
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Club

Address: 35 Currey Street | 72 Du Toitspan Road, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kimberley
Price Range: $103 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Club 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Club offers 21 en-suite bedrooms tastefully decorated with the ambiance of a bygone era. Facilities include all the "modcons" one would expect of a four star boutique hotel. The Club boasts a member's bar, lounge and dominoes room, an a-la-carte restaurant,ladies bar,Bistro Cafe, 3 conferencing venues, a reading room and a billiard room. The ideal venue for functions, weddings and conferences. "Modern comfort with old world charm". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kimberley Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing