We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kimberley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mattanu Private Game Reserve
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We kind of decided to stay at Mattanu as a last minute decision. From the time we rang up and booked, nothing was too much effort for anybody.
We got there and we're welcomed by our guide and shown to our luxury tent where chocolate and champagne was waiting. After, we explored our gorgeous tent, we sat on the balcony and sipped on champagne whilst staring out onto the beautiful bushveld. We then lazed around the swimming pool and had a lovely time for an hour or so. Then our guide, Elmar, took us on a excellent safari where we saw sooooo many animals and Elmar shared his wealth of knowledge of the local flora and fauna. We stopped on top of a hill to watch the sun set, whilst Elmar kept us watered and fed from the picnic basket that he brought along. We got back and had a few hours to freshen up before our evening meal which was delicious!! We got chatting to Elmar for hours after our meal until midnight whilst he kept us entertained with stories from the bush. We retired to our room after a day to remember., full tummy's, many a laugh and many a brandy.
We had a great nights rest and we were again greeted by Elmar to take us on another game drive. After a lovely breakfast we strolled around just taking in the beautiful bush surroundings. And before we knew it, it was time to head off again after an amazing 24 hours.
Thank you to Jacqueline, Elmar and everybody else involved for a truly brilliant and unique experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BJSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife, daughters and I visited family in Kimberley over the Dec break. We wanted to see more than just the Big Hole, so decided to stay for a week at Mattanu (enjoyed it so much that we stayed a few days extra). What we received as guests was amazing: fantastic food; interactive game drives with some of the most knowledgeable people we have met during all our game farm holidays; lovely setting; first helicopter ride for my wife and daughters; even had our daughters giving injections to young Buffalo! The Mattanu experience is something you WILL remember.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kobus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques K, General Manager at Mattanu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your visit and appreciate the kind comments. This is what motivates us as a family to continue going the extra mile to make the experience unforgettable and unique. Those Buffalo are growing very big and strong and you should visit again in future to come and see the friends you made. Have a great festive season and thanks for the support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night and were impressed with this family run concern. We loved the luxury tent which had everything we needed. We went on two fabulous game drives seeing the animals close up. Jacqueline and his father gave so much fascinating information which made it really special. They really had time for us in what nuts be a very busy day for both.
Fabulous and we recommend it.
Thank you to everyone at Mattanu and best wishes for the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonScot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

In February I made contact with Jacques from Mattanu and was pleasantly surprised by the level of service and professionalism in which they responded. I planned a surprise for my loved one and they even offered me a helicopter charter from the Kimberley Airport to their private reserve which included a helicopter game viewing experience I'll never forget. They dropped us in the bush and we enjoyed a 5 star meal in peaceful surroundings. That night we enjoyed their luxurious tenting facilities and was once again left amazed.

For anyone interested in a romantic getaway, or just a relaxing experience, Mattanu would be my number one recommendation for many years to come! Superb experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband decided that we wanted a bush break on Good Friday. We were already in Kimberley and when we Googled game lodges, Mattanu was the only one that popped up in the area. It was meant to be! They had a luxury tent available and we could truly not have wished for a better short stay.

Jacques the Lodge Manager was a gracious host and saw to our every need. Our room was perfect - all we needed and so comfortable, and the main lodge felt like we were in our own home. The home made meals were tasty and plentiful.

It is not a big 5 lodge, but actually you don't need to be on one. We saw so much game and Dr. Johan (Snr), Jacques and Johan (Jnr) were knowledgeable and shared so much of their bush experience with us.

We didn't have the opportunity to take up the other offers at the lodge due to time, but we will be back! They offer game viewing from a helicopter (hangar on site), fly fishing (yellow fish) and the most exciting, the opportunity to be a part of a game capture!

We recommend Mattanu Private Game Lodge - whether as a local SA visitor or an overseas visitor.

Room Tip: There are 5 luxury tents, each with a king-size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KP2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My fiance and I got engaged while in Mattanu last november. I did not really know what to expect when I booked it and to say it exceeded any hopes i had were an understatement.
Part of the appeal of going to a reserve was to have peace and quiet in the outdoors and to experience the bush life of south africa. Mattanu was perfect for this.
The lodging is luxurious and novel. The food is fantastic and the hosts are extremely warm and accomodating. It really was like visiting old friends.
The Kriek's passion for the animals they breed really shines through.
Mattanu was our first stop in South Africa during a two week break. It was tremendous value and a really unique experience.
We managed to visit many beautiful places in South Africa but I am so glad that I chose to propose to my fiance in Mattanu.
We arrived in the afternoon, went on an evening safari followed by a sunset helicopter ride over the reserve and were dropped off to enjoy a private meal al fresco in the bush.
I cannot say enough good things about our experience there and I whole heartedly encourage couples, families and adventurers to head to Mattanu

Room Tip: all accomodation is in the form of luxury tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
29.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
30.4 mi away
Kimberley Anne Hotel
Kimberley Anne Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kimberley
51 reviews
30.4 mi away
Oleander Guest House
Oleander Guest House
#2 of 70 in Kimberley
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 mi away
The Solomon
The Solomon
#16 of 70 in Kimberley
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Kimberley
Road Lodge Kimberley
#7 of 10 in Kimberley
31 reviews
30.2 mi away
Bread & Barrel Eureka
Bread & Barrel Eureka
#5 of 70 in Kimberley
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mattanu Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mattanu Private Game Reserve

Property: Mattanu Private Game Reserve
Address: Kalahari Bushveld Savanna Farm | Royldene, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kimberley
Hotel Class:4 star — Mattanu Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mattanu Private Game Reserve is located in the Northern Cape Province, the biggest, safest and Malaria free province in South-Africa, approximately 58Km north west of the diamond digging city of Kimberley. Nestled in the shade of indigenous Camelthorn trees, this family run business offer unparalleled intimacy and seclusion in their luxury tents and is characterised by exuding warmth and effortless hospitality.This contributed to the AA accommodation award for best small game reserve in South Africa which Mattanu received in 2011.Five luxury tents, each with a private viewing deck overlooking a waterhole, are decorated in African design, complete with luxury sleeper wood furnishings, full bathroom en-suite, indoor showers and air-conditioning with under floor heating. Here you will savour uncompromising high standards of service, efficiency and personalised attention.Here you can come and relax in the African Kalahari Bushveld Savannah amidst the Camel-thorn trees. Enjoy your evenings in our air-conditioned luxury restaurant and bar and experience true South-African cuisine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing