We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile visit”

The Big Hole Kimberley
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Kimberley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: During a visit to the Big Hole in Kimberley, South Africa you will not only see the largest man made hole in the world but also the largest diamond display in the world. Various displays will introduce you to the world of diamond mining and all aspects of diamonds as well as the history of diamonds in South Africa. On show is also the Old Town witch will give you an idea of what Kimberley looked like more than 100 years ago. We have various shops on the site where you could buy curios as well as diamonds and jewellery. Also available is a coffee shop and bar to quench your thirst and hunger. We are fully wheelchair friendly. Open every day of the year from 08:00 to 17:00 Guided tours on offer.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Having never been before, on our way back home we decided to detour via Kimberley to visit the big hole. The format is a DVD, visit to the underground area and a museum with timelines of world events and how this affected diamond mining. These were the days of Cecil John Rhodes and Barney Barnato and exploration and seeking of fame and fortune. This is well illustrated in the movie and visiting this attraction also ends with a visit to the safe where diamonds are kept and one can see the different grades and colors.
The tram ride was not very interesting but as this is the only tram left in SA, for a measly R10 the trip is worth it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravel090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    253
    68
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited the Big Hole with our two children, who enjoyed it very much. The personnel were friendly and efficient and everything was clean and looked after. Bathrooms clean and modern. The size of the hole is amazing and worth the visit on its own. The Old Town was neat with interesting stores and lots to see. We did not have time to visit the museum, but what we saw was well worth a visit!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank elmarie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Just to experience the size of the Big Hole and to appreciate that it was handmade, make the visit worthwhile. It is best to go with one of the tours and get the history behind the Big Hole as well. With the tour you also get sort of an underground experience.

Helpful?
Thank Dawie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great day trip”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The museum at Kimberly is fantastic, we were there for hours as it gave you so much information about the mining that took place there. To be honest I did not think it would be as interesting as it was! All the restored mining buildings and shops really add the experience, well worth a visit

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great to see but the 'mine' is too fake”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Big Hole is great, it's a hole but the size and that it's man made makes it so special.
The mine visit is not really worth it, it's really made up and it shows so don't get your hopes up too much on that.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank spamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Hole Kimberley also viewed

Kimberley, Northern Cape
Kimberley, Northern Cape
 
Kimberley, Northern Cape
Kimberley, Northern Cape
 

Been to The Big Hole Kimberley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing