We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean, with good breakfasts”

Five Acres Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Acres Guesthouse
Ranked #22 of 72 Kimberley B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 12, 2012

For a two-night business stay, the Five Acres Guest House was completely adequate. Since the establishment doesn't offer dinners, just breakfast, the owner directed us to a restaurant in the town which did not disappoint. The room was clean and the electric blanket was welcome with the frosty outside air temperature! The good breakfast was a nice start to the day. There was some road noise due to the guest house's location, but otherwise I had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one as far away from the road as possible.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Five Acres Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2011

We booked a room via e-mail with the establishment for one night, arriving 5 January 2011, departing 6 January 2011 for two adults and one baby. We booked a double room and were under the impression that the room would be fitted with a double bed.

Upon our arrival at the guest house on 5 January 2011 at 13:00, the owner was not there. We were allowed access to the room by the housekeeping staff. Upon our arrival at the room , we noticed that the room was fitted with two single beds. We enquired from the housekeeping staff if we could move to a room with a double bed – they were, however, unable to assist us as the owner was not there. The housekeeping staff informed us that we could wait in the room and then take the matter up with the owner when she returns from town.

The owner (Pat Lankester) came to our room at approximately 14:00 with a very hostile attitude and asked what the problem was. I asked the owner if a room with a double bed was available and whether we could move rooms. Her response to this was:

• “I noted that you already sat on the linen, moving rooms would be a problem”
• “When you booked a room you did not ask for a room with a double bed”

We were amazed at this response, and I, to keep the peace, said that we would stay on in the current room. The owner promptly left the room and did not engage in any further discussion with us.

The housekeeping staff then returned with a camping cot for our baby. They started assembling the camping cot and placed it right in front of our television set as no other space was left in the room. We noted, after the “camping cot” had been assembled, that the cot was of poor quality and not fit for a baby to sleep in. We asked the housekeeping staff to remove the cot from our room.

We were also disappointed at the lack of amenities in the room. No DSTV, very poor reception of SABC channels, no tea, coffee, biscuits etc. The room was very basic and not what we expected of a four star establishment.

My wife and I had a discussion after this whilst in the room, and decided to vacate the room and look for alternative accommodation at other establishments in Kimberley.

My wife returned the key to the owner and explained to her that we are leaving the guest house and would take up the poor service with the TGCSA. Her response was that she did not see anything wrong with the service she delivered, and that we can take up the complaint with anyone and do as we wish. The owner took the keys and left without any further discussion.

We left the guest house at approximately 15:00.

The level of service and quality of accommodation at this guest house was not what we expected from a four star establishment. We, furthermore, later confirmed that the guesthouse did not renew their membership at the TGCSA and was, therefore, not supposed to market themselves as a four star establishment.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacques17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I stayed in Five Acres Guesthouse for over 3 weeks and quite enjoyed the view, tranquillity of the garden and the rooms. The rooms open up to the garden and I found very relaxing to sit outside while working after hours.

Rooms are well equipped and nicely decorated. Service is good and staff friendly. I would advice to have breakfast rather some where in town. At least while staying longer, it is boring and not very good to begin with.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WejaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

This was a pleasant B&B. The rooms are well equipped with all necessary conveniences in good condition, a comfortable sofa and chair, kingsize bed, bath and shower and plenty of space. A small kitchenette providing microwave, fridge, crockery and cutlery allows guests to prepare dinners and snacks. The garden is lovely with big trees attracting birdlife. Breakfasts are adequate and the staff are helpful and friendly. However, their website is a bit misleading as one expects to be situated in a quiet and almost rural setting (from the satellite image on the site), but the area has since been developed and the establishment is no longer on five acres due to a large housing estate being built directly next door on four of the original five acres. Construction was in progress during our stay which was very noisy from early in the morning till well into the evening. It was also disappointing not being able to stroll through the expected five acres. However, we only stayed one night so it was not a major problem - but could become extremely annoying over a longer stay. I would not recommend it at this time because of this reason.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Av v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Wolfgang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
2.0 mi away
Oleander Guest House
Oleander Guest House
#2 of 72 in Kimberley
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Kimberley
Road Lodge Kimberley
#7 of 10 in Kimberley
31 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Anne Hotel
Kimberley Anne Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kimberley
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diggies Lodge
Diggies Lodge
#16 of 72 in Kimberley
42 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bread & Barrel Eureka
Bread & Barrel Eureka
#6 of 72 in Kimberley
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Acres Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Acres Guesthouse

Address: 45 MacDougal Str | El Toro Park, Kimberley 8300, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kimberley
Price Range: $57 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Acres Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Five Acres Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing