We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Savoy Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Lodge(Kimberley)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Kimberley Club(Kimberley)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
SUN1 Kimberley(Kimberley)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
0
3
3
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
3
3
2
5
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I have heard that this is one of the ''old ladies" and wanted to visit this hotel. The hotel itself is in excellent state. Clean and friendly staff. However, there is a jazz club next to the hotel and the music was deafening for the whole night and we couldn't sleep at all. We left before breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite. Lots of space with lounge, sitting area and ensuite room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Era0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Positives:
1. The staff are friendly
2. rooms were neat, clean and I thought cozy.
Negatives:
1. Old TV with just SABC 1,2,3 and e-tv (Gasps)
2. Wooden floor next to hallway (Room 110), if someone walked past the room it felt like someone walking inside the room (yes its that bad).
3. Parking arrangements, it is behind the hotel but you do not have a remote and the gate must be opened manually by the porter. Sooooo every time you come back to the hotel, first stop infront of the hotel, run in and ask someone to open then drive around the building and park.
4. Breakfast consisted of toast, mince, fried eggs (pre cooked, no choice) and corn and some canned fruit and yogurt. I ate breakfast at 7:30 am, alone and 3 staff members watching me.
5. almost centre of town but it alost feels like its bordering the industrial area, no restaurants in immediate area.
crux, will I stay there again? I doubt it.

Room Tip: Room 110 is a no-no. its on the corner and you can hear every footstep as it passes the room, terrible!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We tried to stay at the Savoy on Saturday th 15th of December 2012. On arrival we asked the two ladies at the front desk if the hotel was quite as we just had a bad experience the previous night with a noisy hotel. They informed us that it was and so we booked in for our stay. The room was not bad, although everything is a little run down, everything was clean. We went out for the night and upon our arrival at our room (22h30) we heard shouting, screaming, swearing and very loud music coming from the outside. We went to the person on duty and asked if we could be moved to another room as we would not be able to sleep with the noise. They were only willing to give us a room further down the hall on the same side, which did nothing for the noise. We eventually booked out of the hotel at 23h30 after phoning around for another place to stay. Upon our return to the hotel the next morning to enquire about getting some of our money back (our stay was B&B), they heard our complaint about the noisiness and just then informed us that there is two night clubs on either side of the hotel. They were not willing to refund us. ( From the person who opened and closed the gate for us the previous night, we heard that the noise only stopped at 3h30 the Sunday morning!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sobbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed in your hotel on Tuesday the 10th of July and found it -COLD as there was no heating,The dining room was empty and freezing.The food was VERY limited and COLD.
We tried to order a beer with dinner but was informed that as the bar was under reconstruction you had no beer.Strange as your brochure claims to have two bars one with large screen tv!
The area around the hotel is seedy and run down just like the hotel.The parking arrangements are primitive and not user friendly.
Your staff are plesant but untrained and the so called managerment could not even produce a tourist map of kimberly.
The whole experience will ensure we never visit Kimberly again.

Room Tip: under no circumstances stay at this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank montagumichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at the Savoy over 20 years ago and went back for a nostalgic look with the plan to have coffee and cake. The hotel was run down. The carpet in the entrance gall was threadbare, the windows from the outside were rusty and the whole area was run down.

We asked at reception if we could have a coffee and were told to go through to the dining room. Numerous staff passed us but no one asked if they could help us. Thus included someone who looked like the duty manager. After 15 minutes waiting, we left and had coffee elsewhere.

I am pleased that we didn't book to stay here. We would have been very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dinkum_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanaWilliams, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Thanks for letting us know that you had fond memories of the Savoy Hotel.
The area around Savoy Hotel has changed a lot, and unfortunately the Hotel has changed with it.
Some changes are already in progress: the carpet in the upper floors has been replaced recently and just the ground floor has not been done yet. The curtains, staff uniform and some furniture will change soon.
We would have loved to deliver the service that Savoy in known for and ask you to please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews