We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don' stay there” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Savoy Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Kimberley
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don' stay there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We tried to stay at the Savoy on Saturday th 15th of December 2012. On arrival we asked the two ladies at the front desk if the hotel was quite as we just had a bad experience the previous night with a noisy hotel. They informed us that it was and so we booked in for our stay. The room was not bad, although everything is a little run down, everything was clean. We went out for the night and upon our arrival at our room (22h30) we heard shouting, screaming, swearing and very loud music coming from the outside. We went to the person on duty and asked if we could be moved to another room as we would not be able to sleep with the noise. They were only willing to give us a room further down the hall on the same side, which did nothing for the noise. We eventually booked out of the hotel at 23h30 after phoning around for another place to stay. Upon our return to the hotel the next morning to enquire about getting some of our money back (our stay was B&B), they heard our complaint about the noisiness and just then informed us that there is two night clubs on either side of the hotel. They were not willing to refund us. ( From the person who opened and closed the gate for us the previous night, we heard that the noise only stopped at 3h30 the Sunday morning!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sobbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montagu, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed in your hotel on Tuesday the 10th of July and found it -COLD as there was no heating,The dining room was empty and freezing.The food was VERY limited and COLD.
We tried to order a beer with dinner but was informed that as the bar was under reconstruction you had no beer.Strange as your brochure claims to have two bars one with large screen tv!
The area around the hotel is seedy and run down just like the hotel.The parking arrangements are primitive and not user friendly.
Your staff are plesant but untrained and the so called managerment could not even produce a tourist map of kimberly.
The whole experience will ensure we never visit Kimberly again.

Room Tip: under no circumstances stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank montagumichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kimberley hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at the Savoy over 20 years ago and went back for a nostalgic look with the plan to have coffee and cake. The hotel was run down. The carpet in the entrance gall was threadbare, the windows from the outside were rusty and the whole area was run down.

We asked at reception if we could have a coffee and were told to go through to the dining room. Numerous staff passed us but no one asked if they could help us. Thus included someone who looked like the duty manager. After 15 minutes waiting, we left and had coffee elsewhere.

I am pleased that we didn't book to stay here. We would have been very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dinkum_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanaWilliams, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Thanks for letting us know that you had fond memories of the Savoy Hotel.
The area around Savoy Hotel has changed a lot, and unfortunately the Hotel has changed with it.
Some changes are already in progress: the carpet in the upper floors has been replaced recently and just the ground floor has not been done yet. The curtains, staff uniform and some furniture will change soon.
We would have loved to deliver the service that Savoy in known for and ask you to please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We took our family to the Savoy Hotel Kimberley and had a great time. The hotel has an historic ambiance, as it is more than 100 years old. The staff was friendly, helpful and gave advise on the sights of the city. They could explore town on their own, as everything is in walking distance. The town hall is just down the road.
The room was spacious and the bath and shower. Good value for money.
Will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Kimberley
Road Lodge Kimberley
#6 of 11 in Kimberley
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Kimberley
Protea Hotel Kimberley
#4 of 11 in Kimberley
3.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kimberley Anne Hotel
Kimberley Anne Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kimberley
5.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Club
Kimberley Club
#3 of 11 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamond Lodge
Diamond Lodge
#7 of 11 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Solomon
The Solomon
#10 of 61 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Savoy Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 19 Old de Beers Road, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1892, the Savoy Hotel and Conference Centre is centrally situated in the heart of Kimberley, approximately 50 m from the Town Hall. The Savoy is one of Kimberley’s oldest and most enchanting hotels and has lived through the diamond heydays.RoomsThe hotel has 45 spacious bedrooms and suites that can accommodate up to 119 guests. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioners, TV, Radio, tea & coffee facilities and en suite bathroom with either bath and/ or shower.Room types • Single Rooms (6)• Double Rooms (14)• Twin Rooms (14)• Triple Rooms (3)• Family Rooms (6)• Suites (2) DiningThe upmarket Tiffany’s Restaurant and the old style Tiffany’s Bar cater for all your dining and entertainment requirements. For meetings, conferences or events enjoy the service of Savoy Conference Centre.Savoy HotelsThe Savoy Hotel Kimberley is part of Savoy Hotels, a South African hotel group focusing on the African continent with properties in South Africa, Sierra Leone & Tanzania/ Zanzibar. Facilities and Services• Wireless Internet• 24 hour Reception• Major credit cards accepted• Disabled friendly facilities• Laundry Service• Restaurant• Room service until 22h00• Jazz Bar• Conference Centre & Event planningPlaces of Interest in & around Kimberley• The Big Hole (approx. 1km from Hotel)• William Humphrey Art Gallery• Ghost Tour• Duncan Cronin Gallery• Wildebest Kuil Rock Art Centre• Mokala National Park (75 km)Location19 De Beers Road, Kimberley CBD(approx. 50m from Town Hall).Within walking distance to most historical landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Savoy Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing