We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Julian K
Rhinebeck, New York

Ants in her pants

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 21, 2017
We had a bad stay a few days ago. We arrived to find the ac out of order (it was at least 80 F outside). The hotel first denied it until I dared the night manager to tell me the ac was working in our room while he sweated in the hot outflow.

Our next room was adequate, but lacking cold water (which is a first for us).

One of our travel companions found ants her bed and awoke with several insect bites at her ankles.

Breakfast was good, but dining service was just average.

Perhaps it's unfair to be hard on a chain hotel in such a remote location, but I can give it only a two. On the plus side, the desk service was attentive and good, and the beds were very comfortable. Without the aforementioned problems, I would have given the hotel a 3.
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elmarie D, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley, responded to this review
Responded Feb 24, 2017
Dear Julian K,
Thank you for posting your recent experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley on TripAdvisor. We are extremely saddened that you did not enjoy your stay.

Kimberley gets extremely hot and not having an air-conditioner that works properly is a major problem, and we apologise that you experienced this. We are currently replacing all our air-conditioners to avoid this problem in the future. The feedback regarding the cold water, ants in the bed and dining service has been addressed with the appropriate managers and STAFF to avoid this in the future.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Kimberley
Thank you and regards,
Michelle Kruger
Rooms Division Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$64
$58
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $64
  • Vio.com
1.3 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free Wifi
Free parking
SUN1 KIMBERLEY BREAKFAST AREA
$29
$26
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $29
  • Vio.com
1.3 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free parking
$92
$78
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $92
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $92
1.4 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
$43
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $44
1.2 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free parking
Pool
$109
$98
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $109
  • Vio.com
1.7 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free Wifi
Free parking
$32
$29
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    $32
1.5 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $77
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
1.4 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    $45
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
1.5 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kimberley
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
85
113
75
34
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
85
113
75
34
23
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 330 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2017

We didn't like this hotel, but the staff were wonderful. Don't waste your money booking an executive room. They are tiny and face a carpark or another block of rooms. The standard rooms face the Big Hole and are apparently much better. They don't have fridges though and we wanted one. The pool was a dirty shade of green...not sure why. On the morning we left we had no hot water and again no explanation given!
We enjoyed a lazy Sunday afternoon sitting in the garden and it would have been lovely if we could have used the pool.
We had lunch and dinner at the hotel and really enjoyed both. We were well taken care of by Brigitte and Emanuel. The service in the restaurant was excellent and the food very acceptable. I must also mention the gentleman who carried our bags to our room. He was really friendly and helpful and was a great ambassador for the hotel.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank holidaygirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elmarie D, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2017

Dear Holidaygirl7,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott® Kimberley. We are extremely saddened that you did not enjoy your stay.

Our Executive rooms are newly built and have a more of a modern feel than our old rooms. Our executive rooms have all got bar fridges in them and fridges are available on request for our other rooms. We had a problem with our pool as the pump was broken and being in Kimberley we had to wait for a part form Johannesburg. I can assure you the pool is now nice and blue.

Thank you for the kind words about the restaurant and service received from Brigitte and Emanuel as well as the porter. They will be delighted to hear this.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Kimberley.

Kind regards,
Michelle Kruger
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

Enjoyed two nights in Kimberly. The hotel is great and the location makes it easy to walk to The Hole. The room was clean and comfortable and the view interesting. The staff were most helpful. The Hole Museum next door was worth the trip and the ride on the vintage tram was fun.

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking The Hole.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kipsask
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 8, 2017

Kimberley is filled with history. I was surprised to learn that it was the first town in South Africa to install electric street lighting. The hotel is adjacent to the Big Hole museum so it;s very convenient. The mine tour, tram rides and the walk through the "old city" were all most interesting and educational.

Drive around town and visit the Mcgregor Museum, Mosques and there's a nice park as well which is nice for the kids.

It's a long drive to get there, but it's well worth it. If you appreciate history then this must be on your shortlist.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MuhammadA11031
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 8, 2017

Stayed here for two nights. The reception staff was courteous and helpful with questions about the local area. The room was comfortable and quiet.

The breakfast buffet was average, but there were flies all over the cereals, breads and cold cuts. Both mornings it took a long time for the waitress to bring a cup of coffee. And she made it feel like she was doing me a favor getting me one! There were minimal selections to choose from and they were average at best. Due to the poor service I chose not to eat an evening meal in the restaurant.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertRAH-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elmarie D, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2017

Dear Mr Robert R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate you bringing these shortcomings to our attention on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience in the dining area with the flies. We are extremely saddened by your feedback about the waitress’s service in the restaurant. I wish to assure you that the necessary steps have been taken to prevent this from happening again.

With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with our management TEAM and your commendations of the reception TEAM in particular are highly valued.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Protea Hotel by Marriott® Kimberley to show you the improvements that have been made.

Kind regards,

Elmarie de Villiers
Protea Hotel by Marriott ® Kimberley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017

A great place to stay and reasonably priced. Excellent, clean, historic setting and efficient staff. The location by the big hole makes the hotel a must visit. This is the only hole next to the world largest man made hole on earth. The staff is pleasant the rooms modern, clean and spacious. The hotel has captured the history of the place and the ambience is historic. I will always use this hotel when I am passing by Kimberley.

Room tip: Rooms on the outside block have a lovely view.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizabethmD1407FN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews